We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #22 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Melbourne getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The booking advised that we would receive a bottle of bubbly in our room on arrival. What they didn't ask for was our eta. We arrived at approx. 10pm thanks to flight and work schedules, and not surprisingly, the ice in the bucket was completely melted, and the wine warming! The room, while comfortable, and having a separate wardrobe/dressing room which was very convenient, the bathroom left some to be desired. It was obvious that it was a conversion and attempt at fitting the mod cons into an old space, but it was cramped. To be frank, to sit on the loo was a mission, having to wedge oneself under the wash basin! We didn't dine there, but did have a drink in the Cricketers Bar, which was very pleasant. The hotel is in a great location, with a tram stop just metres from the front door, and walking in this beautiful city is a pleasure. Also close to China Town. A beautiful hotel, but wasn't overawed by it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Madam,

So sorry for the lack of attention with the replacement of ice when we could see that you had not arrived.

Should we have the pleasure of your company again please let us know of your bathroom concerns on this visit.

With thanks and kindest regards,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,692
    987
    365
    115
    54
See reviews for
398
1,748
216
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

No in room safe, seriously in 2013. Lock goods up at the desk which is a pain. The hotel is OLD school, which is a different experience. It needs something vibrant onsite to gather more people. No fee wifi anywhere which is disappointing as well for the price u pay. Clean, comfy beds, great housekeeping. Old work experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Aspects of the hotel are a little dated even though the gorgeous heritage beauty of the building remains. An extensive rejuvenation programme is scheduled to commence in November 2014. Meanwhile service standards are not restrained by the decor and the team strives to give the best. Free wifi is available using the booking link at the top of this page.

With thanks and kindest regards,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is like a dream, you are taken back in time to old world charm and get a feel of what life would have been like many moon ago. We took a trip at Easter and I chose this hotel as it was a historic hotel and I love the character of these buildings - this did not fail to disappoint! We had a beautiful suite,which was huge, comfortable bed, and 2nd bedroom and a huge couch in the lounge and dining table. As a treat we went downstairs for the afternoon tea which was out of this world, my only regret was that I had lunch that day so could not sample everything.
The free tram stops right out side, and everything is clean and simply devine!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your glowing review. For readers benefit you obviously stayed in one of our seven Victorian Suites which all overlook Spring Street.

Afternoon tea remains as popular as ever with Saturday 7 September seeing the start of our renaissance for the éclair.

Hoping that you both may return soon to try.

Until then I remain,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we were upgraded to a Deluxe Twin Room decorated in beautiful antique furniture with the room being very spacious.The bathroom was spacious & the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was cooked to perfection- even the egg! the staff were very professional & friendly willing to help in any way. Would definately return.

Room Tip: if you want a view choose spring street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ms B….Angela,

Thank you for your kind words and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to The Windsor soon.

With kindest regards,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice, loved the idea of old world hospitality, first visit staff were attentive, second time no attention at all. Would not stay here again.great location but lots of beautiful places close by that have great service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Madam,

So sorry to hear of your experience in December 2012.

Hoping to have the opportunity of demonstrating that the standards of service experienced on your first stay are the norm here at the Windsor.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should such an opportunity for the hotel arise. My email is dperry@thw.com.au

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this old grand hotel during our final few days in Australia. Walking into the grand old dame of Australian hotels, left me with an immediate feeling of disappointment.

The hotel definitely showed its wear and tear and vestiges of a bygone era when the Duchess of Windsor and Hollywood stars stayed there.

Our room itself was well-appointed and huge with a walk-in closet/mini-bar area. One could have had ballroom dancing lessons in this room, and the high ceilings were impressive. The heating/cooling system was in need of update.

The breakfast buffet display and quality left much to be desired even though waiters bowed and scraped in the manner of a 5-star restaurant. I would've liked to have tried the much-touted (by the hotel) high tea service but didn't have a chance. But considering the lack of quality in the breakfast service, I'm not sure it would have worth the price.

The service was spotty at best. One concierge was utterly useless at assisting us with the selection of a restaurant for us. (Thank God for the internet!) And another on the next night was fabulously helpful.

Room Tip: Be careful in the bathroom. I almost hurt myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

So sorry to hear that your visit half way around the world was not blessed with a fantastic stay at The Windsor.

Your feedback is comprehensive and appreciated and we shall take steps to address all issues.

There is no excuse for service standards that are not exemplary.

I can only hope that you may visit Melbourne again soon when the team here would be delighted to work towards leaving you with memories more befitting Australia’s grand hotel of the Victorian era.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Don't expect the bling and flashy glitz of a five star American hotel. This is a place filled with history and quiet, subdued elegance. We spent two nights in the Robert Menzies Suite on the third floor. That's not where we began. We were originally put in the Victorian Suite on the first floor. After settling into the room I was sitting quietly, reading, and wondered how I could turn off the piped music. It was 'elevator' music, and annoying. A turn a round the apartment and I began to realize that the music was coming from outside the suite and so I headed for reception. A very friendly young lady suggested it might be coming from the dining room which I worked out, after turning around two or three times and retracing my steps in my head - I have an appalling sense of direction - was directly below our suite. The receptionist suggested she could ask them to turn down the music. I suggested that, given the price of the suite, it might be more appropriate to move us to a quieter place. Fortunately the Menzies Suite two floors up was available and we were moved speedily and with no fuss. I do wonder what might have happened had the hotel been fully booked.
The suite was spacious, with three bedrooms which surprised us as it was advertised as having only two. One was a king room, the second a cosy room with two twin beds and the third a very small room with one single bed. There was one surprisingly small, but adequate bathroom. The shower was one of those directly overhead jobs that drops a delicious waterfall over you. The only problem was that it is over the small spa bath which means you have to step into the bath and this could prove difficult for elderly guests.
The dining room was equipped with ample glass ware as well as table linens for in room dining. What both amazed and disappointed me, however, was that although there was a small French press coffee maker, only instant coffee was provided. Good heavens! Instant coffee!
My school friend and I hope to repeat this experience next year but look forward to being able to make a proper cup of coffee next time. Perhaps even a teapot might be evident on the side table. Who knows?

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Ms Buon…..,

Thank you for your kind review.

Apologies for the music intrusion. It appears a new set of music in the restaurant sourced from our musical consultants had a number of pieces where output levels were markedly higher than others. The problem has been fixed and I am only relieved that this disturbance did not spoil your stay.

We have 7 Victorian Suites with a number of bedroom configurations and we shall be looking at the possibility of adding Coffee Machines as a result of your comment – and one a month or so ago. A tea pot meanwhile shall be in your suite next time you stay as we shall note this preference.

Until then our warmest regards,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.