We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
West Wyalong, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have stayed at The Hotel Windsor twice now on a short visit to Melbourne. While it is showing some signs of age in the foyer area, the friendly efficient staff and the general ambience of the hotel more than make up for that. Our room on each occasion has been large, and very well equipped. The king size bed is the most comfortable I've slept on, aside from home. A continental breakfast was included in our tariff, and it is here I have my only criticism. The choice of cereals this visit was limited to the more common Commercial cereals. I was looking for a Swiss natural muesli, or a Bircher muesli, but the only muesli was toasted, which is too high in fat and it didn't look very appetising. Nevertheless, we'd be happy to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you will be both be coming back when I think you may well find an excellent Bircher Muesli on the choice of cereals!

We are looking forward to seeing you again,

With kindest regards,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,187
    1,232
    463
    141
    64
See reviews for
506
2,215
282
618
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

what a truelylt gracious and charming property if you visit melbourne this is the one we had a suite in thw priper sense if the term twi bedrioms dining riiom rwception rooms and waing room dm massive high ceilings lively lovely staff who were all mature and down to earth fabulous pris =wow cannotit say enoughh except it is the beat hotel in mekbourne by a lonfg shot did nit want ti leave

Room Tip: room 107 is a large suite suuitable for 4 people and the room service is amazing we ate at the antiq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Madam…. Susan,

Suite 107 is the Prince Albert suite and is one of our eight largest suites named after Queen Victoria’s husband The Prince Consort. The Prince was said to be a great innovator and reformer and we try to keep that spirit of innovation alive here in Australia’s grand hotel of the Victorian age.

To hear that the hotel proved such a hit with you and your family is wonderful news for the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With thanks and kindest regards,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart tasmania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of spending two nights at this iconic hotel. We were warmly welcomed by the concierge and the reception team. We were offered a reasonably priced upgrade to a bigger room overlooking fitzroy and treasury gardens. Room was very comfortable, had everything we needed. I ordered a new pillow from the extensive menu, it arrived within 5 mins. The bathroom was tired, but we knew that before booking this hotel. I had always admired and wanted to stay here. We knew that a renovation had been planned so took the opportunity offered at a great price. We enjoyed a lovely meal in 111 Spring. We were well attended without intrusion, extensive menu, nice wines, priced for the ambiance and level of service.
This was a great experience to stay in a historic,iconic,Melbourne landmark... We will return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you so much for your kind words.

We try and ensure that everyone knows that our bathrooms are not the most modern, in fact they are a little dated, yet we endeavour to make up with that with the addition of quality shampoos, soaps etc along with the fluffiest of towels.

Until next time we have the pleasure of your company,

Yours faithfully

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is an elegant old-world hotel in a great location in the Melbourne CBD. Its 'high point' is the high tea on a Sunday afternoon.

The room I had was small and dark. the bathroom fixtures were old and there was no safe to lock valuables (though they offered this at reception - but that's a hassle). the gym is a bit of a joke

will be back for the high tea, but not to stay

Room Tip: Book in for the high tea with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Mr G…Tom,

We appreciate your feedback and regret that your room was not appealing. We have 7 room and suite types and most traditional rooms are inward facing.

The gym meanwhile is hardly a reason to stay here yet we are hoping to expand it slightly in the weeks ahead. I do hope that this did not spoil your visit too much.

Most regular guests take the option of a run in Treasury Gardens opposite but we cannot deny that our gym is hardly a highlight. Afternoon tea however usually receives universal approval and we are delighted that the same can be said from your kind words.

Hoping to welcome you back to a Spring Street facing room (Superior or Deluxe) or Windsor / Victoria suite in future.

Yours sincerely

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was booked into this hotel for four nights, by my friends for my birthday. Not only was I called on several occasions at my hotel to ask when I was checking out, the reception staff seemed to have no idea of the booking system they were using and charged me for the nights I had stayed there, even though my friends had already paid online two months before! They wouldn't accept the credit card from my friend, and were not helpful in resolving the issue in anyway. I ended up leaving and having to pay, but my friends will be following up and this is not the last they have heard from me. A couple checking out next to me were told to pay for a breakfast they hasn't even ordered to their room, also! So this is a common occurrence. The room was nice but the service is so bad I would never come back. I left feeling as though this was the worst birthday I had ever had!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Madam….Heidi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us but more importantly for bringing to my attention a number of items which appear to have been those which one would imagine could have been easily avoided and for which I am truly sorry.

In most cases our CEO, David, would write his response however I felt under these circumstances as the person responsible for service at Reception that it was best that I contact you .

So that I am able to follow up further with my team to ascertain exactly what happened to cause so much confusion and ultimately frustration on your part may I ask that you contact me directly at the hotel in the hope of finding out the exact circumstances so that I may respond personally and appropriately to you.

With that aim in mind I actually took steps yesterday in the hope that I could contact you through TripAdvisor

Once again I would like to offer my sincerest apologies and I look forward to hearing from you shortly.

With kindest regards,

Nick
Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at The Hotel Windsor 26th July 2013 for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well located to Bourke St with a historic feel about the hotel. Very comfortable king bed with suitable décor aimed at the era the hotel was built. Staff were all very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Mr R….Mark,

We really appreciate your generous endorsement.

Thank you. The pleasure was ours.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Nsw
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were terrific despite all the pressure of managing hoards of visitors for the Open Melbourne visits. Room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was also excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind words and we are all delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us at The Windsor so much.

Until next time our kindest regards and best wishes,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.