We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bringing the past to the present” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #20 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“bringing the past to the present”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at The Windsor, a hotel full of character, that has managed to retain it's old world charm and yet give as good a 21st centuary service as any other 5 star hotel in Melbourne. staff are friendly and knowledgable, the rooms are not huge but the dressing room means it is big enough it is cosy and homely, if your normal home is a stately home.
Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We really appreciate your positive recommendation to readers. Some rooms are 'huge', some are rather small and many are as you say. The good news is that we describe them all along with our suites as accurately as possible as guests choosing accommodation for an Anniversary stay may book a different room or suite type than a guest looking for a brief overnight visit travelling alone with a busy schedule.

Until next time, our thanks again,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,467
    845
    303
    105
    47
See reviews for
341
1,512
189
404
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

To celebrate an anniversary, with only a night to spare, we decided to return to the Windsor after many years. We had never expected to celebrate with an amazing upgrade to the Victoria Suite!
We felt very spoilt and experienced wonderful and personal service, even a card,noted and signed by all the staff was delivered to our door. This is truly a working hotel with you in mind. The rooms are fresh and welcoming, and not modernised like some historical hotels, which is how it should be if you love the building itself,and the service professional but warm and friendly. Breakfast was just how it should be, cooked fresh and delivered to the table, but even the Buffet was better than places I've stayed at previously. The Victoria suite is like a three bedroom house! Perfect for a group of friends or family, and a wonderful excuse to have room service! And a complimetary pillow menu with allsorts to choose from for the best possible sleep! Definitely a must for our next mother's day getaway, with the theatre so close by..A perfect night away.

Room Tip: We looked at all the rooms before booking, they are all more spacious that most modern hotels unles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your most kind words and we are so glad that The Windsor and our team played some small part in making your Anniversary so special.

Our Victorian Suites are popular and I should point out that we have in fact no less than 7 room and suite types so choosing the right one for your stay is recommended.

By the way we started taking reservations for Mothers Day Afternoon Tea in 2014 before Mothers Day this year.

Until next time I remain,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Have always wanted to stay at the Windsor and was definitely not disappointed when I finally got the chance :)
Booked two rooms for a girls weekend away and I must admit we got a SUPER deal which made the stay even sweeter. Now the decor may not be to everybody's taste but I just completely loved it- as did the rest of the party ( girls 27- 34 years of age).
The rooms were spacious compared to other 5 star establishments in Melb (we were in twin so one up from the basic rooms-the two rooms were different in size to each other ) with very high ceilings and my room had a big dressing room and really big bathroom.
For a girls trip the Windsor is great- lots of mirrors for the girls to ready themselves, the beds were comfy and able to be moved around, stacks of hanging space and a fabulous mini bar. The shower was over the bath which might be hard for some people but the shower head was fantastic and all of us commented on how lovely the shower was.
We took advantage of the pillow menu (the anti snore pillow actually worked!!!) I recommend the aromatherapy pillow....it was divine. Good movies available on pay per view.
The biggest thing for us was that the rooms just felt homely. Completely comfortable and like being at your Great Aunts estate!!
Now I must mention the breakfast.....gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous setting. The rest of the clientele didn't seem to be enjoying their time as much as us! We ended up as "breakfast vip's" which was kind of funny with every man and his dog offering their service and generally being fabulously attentive- we were a bit embarrassed! The food was amazing. I have had omelettes in many five star places this year and these BY FAR take the cake, possibly on par with the many I ate through France. For everyone's information the buffet is now continental only ($28) with eggs, bacon etc available to order separately. The buffet was FRESH and the croissants and mini muffins were freshly baked....yes that's right actually made on site. Wow.
Location is excellent- above Parliment station and our only regret was not taking part in Afternoon Tea. We seemed to be in the foyer both afternoons on our way out and the ladies were dressed beautifully the chocolate fountain looked great and the harpist was playing- very special.
All in all I wish my budget stretched to stay here every Melbourne visit.....thanks for a very special stay Hotel Windsor!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Madam,

That is pretty impressive if I may say. Thank you.

So glad that you all enjoyed the stay so much.

Great to see that our breakfasts amazed also. Honestly, it is what we try to do.

Until next time, when Afternoon Tea awaits,

Our thanks and kindest regards,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

To celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary we close The Hotel Windsor. The heritage and charm of The Windsor really is a testament to preserving the past for the future. It was a real delight to be greeted at the door by the Concierge 'wearing top hat and tails' and our luggage whisked away and delivered to our room within a minutes after registration. The Hotels position is perfect to access the city circle tram which showed off Melbourne in all its glory - even when it was drizzling!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Scottys56,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Hotel Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Russell our Doorman was able to look after you so well.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Until then we do, as always remain at your service.

Warm Regards
Nick

Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The façade and entrance are lovely - truly old world, and yet very nicely done up (not surprising, considering that the famous super-luxury hotel chain from India - the Oberoi Hotels - used to run this property till a few years back and had done it up).

The location is right next to the CBD of Melbourne - so it is a good location even for a business trip.

The reception at the front door is very warm and welcoming (a great change from what some previous reviewers has expressed - they took note of it). My taxi was parked a little distance from the main door, and yet by the time I had started paying the cab, a hotel staff had magically appeared and took care of all my luggage.

The reception and the lobby are very nice indeed. British feel. Even the elevators are old world, with simple round push buttons, as they used to be.

The rooms are all right. Décor was nice. But beware - if you are taking a basic grade room (like I did), then you would get a room facing the inner side (as against the rooms on the outer side, which have windows opening up onto one of the 3 streets circumventing the hotel). In this type of room, the window opens into a kind of open space inside, which is surrounded by other similar grade rooms. Thus, there is no privacy unless the curtains are drawn shut. This is not something I would prefer at a hotel, as I like to sleep with the curtains open, and a bit of the cityscape visible.

The heating was not up to the mark. This was Melbourne, in the winters. Outside temperatures were 4-5 degrees, and I had set the temperature setting at 23. But it would not reach that high, and I had to use the more-than-adequate quilt provided. Moving around in the room was chilly.

I did not try their restaurants. They have a nice bar on the premises - called Cricketer Bar. Seemed very popular in the evenings. The crowd seemed slightly elderly at a quick glance.

On the whole, a good experience. But not at full 5-star prices. At AU$ 200 or above, one would get hotels in Melbourne with better creature comforts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Spring Street. That would have the least noise from the trams at night. Atthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Your comments are appreciated and I am sure they will prove helpful to readers.

I would say however that for the heating to struggle with raising the temperature to 23 degrees is not what one can expect normally in winter and we would hope that if anyone had such an issue that we would be able to remedy the situation promptly.

Hoping to win you back with a value offer for a Superior or Deluxe room perhaps facing Spring Street in future.

With thanks and kindest regards,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We loved the old style hotel, heritage staircase, big hallways etc. Being greeted by concierge in a top hat, and another taking our bags up to our room while we checked in - definitely great service. All the staff were consistently friendly and helpful.
The room - it was fine for a girl's weekend in Melbourne, and was a reasonable size with high ceilings. The strangest thing was the opaque windows, so we couldn't tell if it was raining (this WAS Melbourne). However we soon found that the best way to gauge the rain was to listen to the drainpipe that seemed to empty onto a metal surface right outside our bathroom (opaque) window. Does it sound like someone is having a shower in the bathroom? yes = it's pouring. Does it sound like someone is having a shower in the next room? yes = it's lightly raining. The first night was a terrible storm, and my roomies had trouble sleeping due to the waterfall outside our window. Luckily I always wear ear plugs in hotels, so I was fine.
The decor and facilities seemed a little tired... I think they could really update this hotel in period style to be something quite impressive (but with mod-cons).
Great location.
We got a great deal online - if we'd paid true 5-star prices, it would not have been value for money.

Room Tip: Check if the glass is opaque!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Madam,

Glad to hear that the service appealed.

There are a number of traditional and a few superior rooms with opaque glass. My advice to readers and to your god self when returning should you wish to avoid these rooms in future is to book a Spring Street facing Room on line or simply to ask us at time of booking.

This is our 130th year and major rejuvenation is planned to commence at the end of next year. Our focus in the meantime is to update as much as we can within the current infrastructure in order to help our guests enjoy the experience that is unique to The Windsor.

Until the next time, our thanks and kindest regards,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G A Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was a bit worried when I walked in the lobby as the circa 1880's hotel looked a bit tired. But, the rooms we and our friends stayed in were updated, clean and very comfortable. It also turned out that the staff were particularly helpful and friendly. Our stay was only for a few days while we visited the city, but I would highly recommend the Hotel Windsor for others. Location between Bourke and Collins Streets proved to be very convenient. The hotel dining was quite good and the pub gave a local flavor that was totally different. The one recommendation I would make to this hotel and all the other Australian hotels is to include free internet with the room price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Molly60878,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and your patronage of our hotel. Please rest assured that we will be sharing your kind words with our teams.

Unfortunately WiFi in Australia is priced quite high however I am proud to say that we offer the most competitive pricing for WiFi with unlimited downloads.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and but until then we do, as always remain at your service.

Warm Regards
Nick

Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.