We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #22 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Broome, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elegant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Really liked this place. Very different to places I would normally stay but it was great for a change. Very old and elegant with an English vibe. Even to the point where I think I may have put on a bit of an accent whilst checking in? Glad I checked in mid afternoon and not late at night after my stint at the casino?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

So glad that you enjoyed your stay and trust that your night out was enjoyable.

Warmest regards,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    890
    332
    110
    50
See reviews for
368
1,621
198
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

When you arrive at the fabulous Windsor you are welcomed as an honoured guest. The building has kept all the charm of a bygone era without losing any of the comfort of what is required for todays lifestyle. The rooms are opulent & spacious - more like staying in a private home of a country mansion. Apples are placed at reception to help yourself to. The dining room for breakfast was fantastic, you could look out at the city while being in a gracious room with classical music playing, original art on the walls & an extensive sumptuous breakfast menu.
We ate the cricketers bar on returning from the Monet exhibition (did I mention the hotel is in the heart of Melbourne) & had great food at very economic prices. We loved everything about our stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Ms Kennedy….Jo,

That is so good to hear. Thank you for sharing your views with the readers of TripAdvisor.

Glad that you enjoyed Melbourne’s Winter Masterpieces 2013 – Monet’s Garden, which is due to run until 8 September.

Until next time our warmest regards,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Windsor as my husband had business meetings nearby. It was easy for me to walk all round the city which I havent visited for over 30 years. Public transport and taxis are readily available but it is so interesting to find city attractions within easy reach. Several theatres and St Patricks Cathedral and Parliament are in the next block.

Continental breakfast buffet was very good with eight different juices and cereals as well as specialty breads/muffins/croissants and fresh pineapple/melons/strawberries/yogurts and granolas etc. The silver service extended past the table and the staff were attentive. The doormen were very helpful with luggage and directions. I loved this hotel and would stay again when in Melbourne

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room on the fourth floor. It did not have a good view but the room itself wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Madam,

So glad that you both enjoyed your return to Melbourne so much and that we could play some part in that.

Hoping that we do not have to wait another 30 years for the pleasure of your company once more.

With thanks and kindest regards,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Hotel Windsor is quite a unique combination – museum piece as well as fully functioning luxury hotel.. It certainly fulfills the role of 5-star hotel admirably, especially considering its age (from 1884).

Let me say at the outset that due to the hotel's age, you have to accept some compromises. The floorboards will creak. The air con might look a bit out of place in the room, but hey - this hotel was built before the coming of electricity, let alone air con.

The staff we met during our stay were universally friendly and helpful. Check-in was smooth, and meals served in the dining room were served with courtesy and aplomb. A minor maintenance issue in our room was remedied within 10 minutes of the call. The room was quite comfy and spacious, despite the creaky floorboards.

The wi fi was a bit sluggish; but again I marvel at the fact that this is in a building designed before the coming of the telephone and radio, let alone internet.

Viewing the hotel as museum artefact is rather fun. There are an assortment of historical artefacts and interpretive boards on display, and you are at liberty to stroll the loooooooonnng corridors and soak in the ambience – including the entry to the apartment where Sir Robert Menzies routinely stayed during World War II. I also visited the gym area on the top floor, which I believe is where Peter Janson used to live.

The Cricketers Bar is another artefact haven, with all manner of cricket artefacts from visiting and touring international teams.

The Hotel is directly opposite a stop on the City Circle free tram service. Melbourne was having one of its heatwaves during our stay there, so to avoid the heat on the tram stop we travelled about the city by train on the City Loop from nearby Parliament Station (although we had to track down and buy myki cards to do this). We did not have a car, so we cannot comment on parking.

We had hoped to sample the famous afternoon tea as served since the hotel’s inception. But regrettably the price (a flat $79 per person on weekends) was too steep, especially since my waistline dictated that we only sample this rather than get stuck in.

But all in all, the Windsor is a truly remarkable thing – an efficient working hotel as well as a tribute to 19th-century Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for such an extensive review.

The character of the hotel is undeniable and your comments will certainly assist many readers I am sure. Thank you.

To hear that the team were "universally friendly and helpful" is a testament to them.

Until next time our sincerest thanks and best wishes,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A thousand thanks to all the team at the Windsor for making my Mother's birthday and Mothers' Day weekend so special. She had a fabulous time and is still brimming over talking about it - the sumptuous high tea, the beautiful Spring St room including the palatial bathroom with swimming pool sized bath, the delicious room service food, the location and of course the people.

As Mum keeps telling anyone who will listen, one of the best things was the smiling friendly faces everywhere: the welcoming concierge opening the car door and taking the bags, friendly Katie at the reception desk, Nick who organised the whole wonderful weekend and came to greet us, the gentlemen who served us high tea and room service, even the lady who provided our breakfast.

You have achieved the best result I could have imagined - an older lady who has become slightly hermit-ish since becoming a widow has discovered a new home away from home, somewhere she feels comfortable and confident enough to stay away from home for the night when attending an event in Melbourne.

Thanks again and while I'm personally already booked in again very soon, I also look forward to bringing Mum back again later in the year - she's already talking about it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Ms L….Natalie,

I cannot wait to share your comments with the team here. They will be thrilled as I am.

Our warmest wishes to you and your Mother and we look forward to welcome you both back soon.

With very best wishes and sincere thanks,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
PS For the benefit of readers it sounds as if you stayed in a Victorian Suite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwaypoint Tasmanina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

stayed for two nights from11/5/13,last stayed 18/2/12,went to front desk to check in, the girl rembered us before we told her our name,what a lovely way to be greeted.her name was Kate.A lovely friendly smile that came from the heart.The room was lovely ,clean and quiet,the White hand and body lotion is the best I have found for my dry skin.Breakfast is lovely and the staff are always looking to see if you need anything .A real home away from home,you feel most welcome not just a visitor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Mr Page…..John,

Wow. Sincere thanks. That’s simply brilliant and the team here will be thrilled.

Warmest regards – until next time,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Windsor is perfect for those that love grandeur and history. It has a elegance that is hard to find elsewhere in Melbourne. We stayed in an Victorian suite which was simply divine luxury at it's best. We enjoyed the room so much it was extremely hard to leave, our suite was very spacious and luxuriously furnished. If you would like to celebrate a special occasion The Windsor is well equipped with a lavish restaurant where they offer the famous afternoon tea. The other great thing about the hotel is the free tram stop is right outside so it's very easy to get around the city. We noticed that staff have a keen eye for detail and genuinely care about the guests so if your needing information regarding your stay they are very helpful. We will certainly return to The Windsor and I "highly recommend" this hotel. In particular if you are getting married this would be a wonderful venue for a reception.

Room Tip: The suite we stayed in was room 306 this is a beautiful suite and a highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Ms E…Marianne,

Delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for such a passionate recommendation to travellers.

Until next time our warmest regards,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.