We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #22 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is the fanciest hotel I've ever stayed in - would usually be above my budget, but I grabbed a very good last-minute online offer, and stayed here for two nights with my fiancee. It is charming and luxurious, however I expected more from a famous five-star hotel in terms of customer service. In particular, we were annoyed when we were told that the restaurant was open for dinner until 10pm, only to arrive at 9:45pm with the waiter telling us that the kitchen closed at 9:30pm, and with the restaurant unwilling to serve us anything (surely a five-star hotel restaurant could accommodate guests wanting to eat 15 minutes late?). Although the next night we did get to the restaurant on time, and I must say that the food / service / setting is all superb. I was also surprised that the hotel doesn't have its own parking, only offers valet parking (in conjunction with a commercial carpark nearby) for an extra $40/day. In our room (which I think was in the oldest part of the hotel), the air-conditioning was centrally set to 'cool' for summer, so we could only either turn it off or have it on 'cool' (setting it to 'heat' had no effect - and we wanted to heat it when we arrived, as it had been cooled far too much). Also disappointed that despite being a five-star hotel, it doesn't have a pool or jacuzzi (although this is understandable due to the hotel's age and heritage status). All up: enjoyed our stay here, but not convinced that it's worth coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Jaza613,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

In particular I must thank you for your comments relating to our restaurant service times which do seem incorrect as I am sure we would have been able to accommodate you. I will be speaking with our Director of Food & Beverage so he may address this with his team.

Unfortunately at present we do not have spa facilities rather only a small gym with free weights and cardio equipment. However in future we are would be more than happy to recommend pool and spa facilities close by to the hotel.

Once again thank you for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    869
    510
    199
    84
    33
See reviews for
205
910
127
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Nice experience in old fashioned hotel. Got a great 24 hour wotif deal including breakfast. As you arrive feel old world character with doormen and lovely flower boxes. Staff very obliging and let us check in 10 am which was fantastic. Kind of by gone era decor. Some parts looked like could do with makeover as bit dull. Room small but clean. Were going to put rollaway in for my daughter but ended up getting another room. Would have been cramped with rollaway as rooms quite small. Loved the grand piano being played in reception in the evening. Had breakfast in dining room. Lovely to have white linen cloths on tables. Waiting staff excellent. Food good. Dining room had been refurbished. Enjoyed our short stay at the Hotel Windsor.

Room Tip: We were on second floor, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear GTG2,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to appreciate our historic building and discreet service.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future and until then we do, as always remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I were looking for an overnight hotel on our way to Tasmania, as luck would have it it was also our wedding anniversary. We had heard of the hotels history and so booked for the night.
As soon as we pulled up in the taxi we knew that this was going to be either a great stay or not. It has an understated frontage that either denotes an aging beauty or hidden grandeur. It was the later. As soon as we entered the door a concierge whisked our bags away and then we were greeted by smiling helpful staff who said that they had upigraded us. The usual reception desk chatter saw us telling them that it was our 27th wedding anniversary and they then guded us to our room.
The room was huge, 3m ceilings , a full lounge suit and all the usual expectations of a 5 star hotel. What was different was a separate luggage room that I could see the butler in, if I had one. We wandered throught the hotel admiring the tile work and arches and listening to the piano player on the baby grand in the foyer before heading off to a nice little bar off the main foyer, public bar prices too a welcome change from the gouging that usually happens in 5 star hotels. We then had an excellent meal in the restaurant, silver service and white starched table clothes and well trained waiting staff that were there when you needed them and then vanished when you didn't.

Arriving back at our room we found an large envelope addressed to us that when opened was a congratulations on our weding anniversary signed with messages from the receptionist, concierge staff and the porter. A lovely personal touch from a hotel that we will definitely stay in again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We decided to splash out and have breakfast at the Windsor. It was a unique experience. Once you enter the Windsor, you are transported back to the last century. The large dining room is large and elegant, with enormous old chandeliers, and antique furniture, it is a beautiful setting. Adorning the walls, there is a display of some outstanding Australian Art. It certainly is a quiet, reposeful setting where time stands still.
As far as I was concerned, the breakfast was secondary. It was good, with selections of English tea, toast, bacon and eggs, and a variety of yoghurts. The breakfast was satisfactory, without being brilliant. Not to worry, people go there for the experience not for the food. If you are in any way nostalgic, go there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear 255100Max,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne but more importantly for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our historic hotel which is now in it's 130th year. We do have a large selection of Australian artwork throughout the hotel which does help set the scene for a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Hotel Windsor when next in Melbourne and until then we do, as always remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Windsor to be close to the Princess Theatre for my night out to see 'Jersey Boys'. The staff were helpful, polite and efficient. Great location for the theatre. The room I had was cosy and I loved the antique feel about it. I also had the pleasure of having Afternoon Tea which included the dessert buffet. The food was excellent and the service was top notch. I'll be heading back to the Hotel Windsor in a few weeks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Chrissy M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed 'Jersey Boys' at the Princess Theatre.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the coming weeks. Until then we do, as always remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upwey, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as we have once before, to celebrate our anniversary. From the welcome we received by the doorman as he kindly took our case (which we didn't see again until we entered our room) to all the staff we came across during our stay, we couldn't fault anything. We were made to feel like VIP's at every turn. We enjoyed a leisurely drink at the new Wallis & Ed in Bourke Street which we thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfast was just delicious with all you could wish for at this elegant establishment. We loved our teacups being refilled with delicous tea throughout our meal. We were lucky to find a great price at wotif.com.au, which included a free breakfast and upgrade to a superior room. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Jacqueline K,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we made your anniversary stay ever so special. Please be assured that I will pass on your kind words to our Director of Food & Beverage so they may share them with their team.

I do hope that we may welcome you back in the near future and perhaps on your next anniversary.

In the meanwhile we do as always, remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after getting a really good deal on wotif.com.au ($149 with free breakfast and upgrade to superior room). So we were not really expecting too much in view of what we paid.
However as a good hotel should do, we were not treated in anyway as if we were second rate customers. In fact the opposite. From our welcome by the doorman outside the hotel, to the reception staff, the restaurant staff, and in fact everyone at the hotel treated us as special guests.
We were asked at reception if there was a special occasion we were celebrating and we mentioned that it was our wedding anniversary.
We were really pleasantly surprised after returning to our room after a meal to find a bottle of champagne and a personalised greeting card from the hotel. It had even been signed by some of the hotel staff. A very nice gesture and very much appreciated. We had previously stayed at another 5 star hotel on our anniversary and were quite disappointed in the lack of acknowledgement of the special event (and we paid full rate there!)
We took the opportunity to use the pillow menu in the room and were very happy with the pillows provided.
The breakfast buffet was really very good and again the staff made us feel special.
We would certainly consider staying there again and have recommended the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear camtonvie,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne, but more importantly for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team went our of their way to arrange for you a surprise bottle of Sparkling to help celebrate your wedding anniversary. Since 1883 we have prided ourselves on providing the highest levels of service and to hear that we are still achieving this in 2013 is simply wonderful.

Once again thank you for your kind words and I do hope that in the future we may have the pleasure of your company once again.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.