We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive old hotel and very kind service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary WiFi
Ranked #20 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Impressive old hotel and very kind service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after getting a really good deal on wotif.com.au ($149 with free breakfast and upgrade to superior room). So we were not really expecting too much in view of what we paid.
However as a good hotel should do, we were not treated in anyway as if we were second rate customers. In fact the opposite. From our welcome by the doorman outside the hotel, to the reception staff, the restaurant staff, and in fact everyone at the hotel treated us as special guests.
We were asked at reception if there was a special occasion we were celebrating and we mentioned that it was our wedding anniversary.
We were really pleasantly surprised after returning to our room after a meal to find a bottle of champagne and a personalised greeting card from the hotel. It had even been signed by some of the hotel staff. A very nice gesture and very much appreciated. We had previously stayed at another 5 star hotel on our anniversary and were quite disappointed in the lack of acknowledgement of the special event (and we paid full rate there!)
We took the opportunity to use the pillow menu in the room and were very happy with the pillows provided.
The breakfast buffet was really very good and again the staff made us feel special.
We would certainly consider staying there again and have recommended the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear camtonvie,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne, but more importantly for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team went our of their way to arrange for you a surprise bottle of Sparkling to help celebrate your wedding anniversary. Since 1883 we have prided ourselves on providing the highest levels of service and to hear that we are still achieving this in 2013 is simply wonderful.

Once again thank you for your kind words and I do hope that in the future we may have the pleasure of your company once again.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    1,040
    390
    118
    54
See reviews for
436
1,864
226
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kyabram
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Both my husband and myself had high tea at the Windsor hotel in Melbourne recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel being heritage listed and beautifully decorated was a very memorable experience for us both. The service by the staff was superb and the afternoon tea was a delight. The hotel is close proximity to the centre of the city and to all public transport. I would recommend this special occassion at a first class hotel to anyone for a experience to always remember.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear gayle w,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us to review your recent Afternoon Tea experience at The Hotel Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon with us and found our service to be superb and our afternoon tea selection delightful.

We do hope we may have the pleasure of your company again in the near future albeit again for afternoon tea or to stay.

Once again thank you for your kind words and as always, we remain at your service.

Kind regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived service was excellent. From the friendly helpful doorman and concierge to reception and cleaning staff. The bar star at the Cricketers Bar were wonderful and very obliging with our request for cocktails even hunting down a specific recipe. High Tea an absolete delight. Again 1st rate service. The rooms large, clean and quiet. All within a grand old historic building with decor to match. The hotel well located with Free City Circle Tram opposite, surrounded by cafes and only a short walk to theatre and CDB. For a memorable stay or a special occassion would recommend the Hotel Widsor. Martyn and Robyn.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor. Quiet and a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Martyn N,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that from the moment you arrived our team looked after you and even were able to create your cocktail in the Cricketer's Bar.

We do hope that we may have the privilege of your company once more and if so please do remember that as always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Melbourne to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, take in some of the Australian Open and explore the Melbourne CBD. The Hotel Windsor proved to be a superb choice for accommodation. The staff were highly friendly, the room was terrific, the High Tea was memorable, and the proximity to all we sought was perfect. For those like us who appreciate heritage architecture and traditional service, the Hotel Windsor a a highly recommended choice for accommodation, functions, dinner and / or high tea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Neville G,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne and for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and found our team to friendly and your room suitable for your stay.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of your company again in the near future and that we do as always, remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Nice historic hotel in Melbourne, well located and good service. Left my wifes hat there by accident and they are posting it back to us in the UK at their cost. Close to restaurants and the CDB as well. Also on the City Circle tram line which is a free tram service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Rickshaw60,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and and that we were able to arrange for your hat to be posted to you.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future and we look forward to your company once again.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Hotel Windsor in Melbourne only for one night. The hotel is a grand old lady, with a beautiful ornate decor and the staff were very attentive. We had a room with an extra sitting room and a good size bathroom, which was lovely. The furnishings in the room were a little tattered, but on the whole the room was very nice. There were little things that were not quite up to scratch; the water in the shower was difficult to regulate and the door on the bathroom was difficult to open and shut. Also there were small chips on the furniture. On the whole it was a pleasant stay, but expensive and I think we will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Catewally,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and attentive.

Thank your or your feedback relating to your shower's water pressure. May I ask that you contact me via Trip Advisor's message service with further details of your stay so I can address this with our Maintenance team.

Once again thank you for your review and we do as always, remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here using the Wotif mystery hotel - it was a very reasonable price. I knew what I was booking in advance though as it was easy to narrow down the hotels and figure out which was which.

We recieved a warm welcome from the moment we stepped inside the hotel. The concierge were efficient, taking our bags and parking our car.

On check in we were upgraded which was a lovely surprise - even though we arrived from a day down at Lorne and not looking our best in singlet tops and thongs. At check in the receptionist was welcoming and efficient.

Our room was lovely and large, with a nice marbled bathroom and king bed. I appreciated the robes that were provided in the walk in robe.

The hotel is old, so the decor does look a bit tired but is obviously well cared for.

The king bed was lovely and comfortable. Only complaint was the room was a little bit noisy - the floors can be a bit creaky and we could hear the people above us in the morning. Likewise I am sure the people below us could have heard us moving around in the morning.

I would definitely stay here again though. It is a wonderfully central location.

The valet parking is $40 per night. There are 24 hour car parks around the area and next time I would probably forego the convenience of valet and leave the car there.

I liked the express check out in the morning also - appreciated that. And we were able to leave our bags at the hotel whilst we went out and about for the day in Melbourne.

I have been there before for the high tea and I can definitely recommend that!

Room Tip: Standard room was definitely adequate - but it did have an internal window which can feel a little b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Jacqueline A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our service seamless and that you also were able to appreciate our wonderfully historic hotel which is now in it's 130th year.

We do hope to have the pleasure of your company once more and please remember that we do, as always remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick MeLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.