We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary WiFi
Ranked #22 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A gorgeous charming atmosphere for this hotel. We booked through an online special offer but then upgraded directly with the hotel to a larger room . The room was spacious and comfortable. There was a little annoyance with the check in but it was rectified, which left us wanting to come back, and which we appreciated.

We have stayed at the Windsor a few times as we love the old world approach. The staff on the whole were very pleasant and professional. There is just something about the Windsor that leaves you wanting to return. If you stay at the Windsor you much eat at European which is a stones throw.

Room Tip: I think it is worth upgrading to a superior room, the rooms offer more space and third floor room ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear carmen p,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne, but more importantly for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be spacious and comfortable and that we were able to arrange the ideal room type when you contacted us.

I will be sharing your kind words with my team and I am sure they will be most appreciative. The European just a minutes walk from the hotel is fantastic and I do agree with you it is worth a visit.

Once again thank you and I do look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,891
    1,090
    410
    125
    57
See reviews for
454
1,953
234
521
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wingham, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

After walking The Great Ocean Track from Apollo Bay to the 12 Apostles my adult daughter and chose an extremely hot late November afternoon to dress up and celebrate. The Afternoon Tea was a perfect choice. The large dining room was a perfect temperature and we were attentatively served throughout the sitting.The sandwiches were magic and we enjoyed several teas. The history and ambience of the hotel was wonderful, and all the staff very friendly and helpful.
This was one of the highlights of our holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear barrelfish,

Thank you for reviewing your recent afternoon with us.

It sounds like you have had a wonderful time visiting Victoria's great outdoors and what a fantastic way to finish your trek with our famous Afternoon Tea.

Please rest assured that I have forwarded your kind words onto our Director of Food & Beverage so that he can share them with his team which I am sure they will appreciate.

Once again thank you and we do look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It is a (for Australia anyway :)) rather old place but it has it's charm. High ceilings, dark carpets, huge comfortable beds and big bathrooms. When you walk down the corridor to your room it really feels like going back in time.

The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff friendly.

If you book make sure to ask for a room that has been recently updated. Those are certainly the nicer ones. ;)

The location is perfect if you don't mind a little walk along the river to get to the, for example, exhibition centre. I would'n mind staying there again.

Room Tip: If you book make sure to ask for a room that has been recently updated. Those are certainly the nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs V,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our historic hotel. As you mentioned we are almost at the end of a small update to all of our rooms and suites with all being recently painted, new mattress, bedside lamps, iPhone dock radios and state of the art wireless internet which we hope will improve the guest experience.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Hotel Windsor when next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel in good location.Dining room lovely with a very good breakfast.(lots of fresh fruit)
The bed room is too small though,(room 32) We met a Australian couple who paid a lot less on Wot If (They even got a larger room).I think if people stay more than 2 night they should get more space to get comfortable.I blame Grace the reservation manager.

Room Tip: Book on wot if
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Irish_CalinDublin,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our central location.

Our 32 rooms are classed as Superior King rooms and all have a large king size bed and 33m2 in size. I am sorry to hear that your room size was not what you expected. Please do not hesitate to contact me in future if you would like any clarification or advice or room types if you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed at the Windsor for a couple of nights on a work trip. Normally would not stay at a 5 star on a work trip, but a deal came up that coincided with my visit to Melbourne.
A very comfortable and classy hotel with real olde world charm, wide hallways and tastefully set out. Very helpful and welcoming staff, and a quiet hotel once you get inside the doors. Straight across the road from parliament, and only a short walk to shops and all the rest that the Melbourne CBD offers.
Of course, parking and breakfast are expensive options, but I have come to expect that in Australian cities.
The cricketers bar on the ground floor is a good spot for a quiet drink, and the Windsor will see me again on my next trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear BFD,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and and found our hotel to be comfortable and our service helpful and welcoming which is of course our aim.

We do look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne and please remember we as always remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My daughter and I have just spent four nights at The Hotel Windsor. It was a very very pleasant experience. When you step into this hotel it is like stepping back in time. Our Superior room was spacious with a walk in robe, and a huge bathroom. It was clean, and well appointed with old world soft furnishings and furniture. The staff that we encountered were friendly, helpful and extremely professional. We enjoyed high tea on our last day, and it was a great finale to our visit to Melbourne. I hope it never ever loses it's old world charm. It is a unique hotel, and we loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Vee309,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your Superior King room to be spacious, clean and well appointed. Perfect for a four night stay.

I will be sharing your comments with both my team and the restaurant and I can assure you that they will be most appreciative. Thank you also for the lovely photos.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne and as always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Windsor in Melbourne surprised us in a pleasant way. This is the oldest hotel in Melbourne and in the way as it is now, it is worth a stay; if you are into this.
The hotel has changed management a couple of times last 10 years (if I understand correctly); and as it is now; I would certainly return.
So, the hotel is a bit old fashioned, but for in the good way. It gave us a smile on our face. The concierge people are fun and nicely dressed up.
Our room was on the small side for a 5 star hotel, but hey, you can't change the size of the rooms.
The beds were fine and the TV up to date. The bathroom wasn't really my taste and there was some very unhandy construction on the tub to keep the water from the shower out. I don't know if all the rooms have it; but ok.
The location is great and there is the free tourist-tram right in front of the door.
The WIFI is not for free, something they really have to change as it is 2013 now!
I booked the hotel via a blind booking (5 star and CBD filtered); in that way I got a price which was beating most 4 star hotels.
So, if you want something different and something in the old fashion style, this might be your pick.

Room Tip: The sizes vary, just ask away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear ski-fanatic-73,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be comfortable. More importantly to hear that our Concierge and other front of house staff looked after you so well during your time with us.

I would like to thank you also for your comments relating to our WiFi pricing. We are constantly looking at out cost structure and feedback is always a vital part of making any decisions.

Once again thank you and I do look forward to welcoming you back when next visiting Melbourne.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.