We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service - some concerns re facilities in rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #20 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good service - some concerns re facilities in rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at The Windsor and we were very impressed with the staff attention and friendliness. The doorman (and i sadly forget his name - be is the older one) was exceptional in his service and friendliness. Al the front of house staff are a credit to the Hotel and should be highly valued.

The rooms are nicely decorated but be prepared for traffic and street noise. We were on the 4th floor and could hear quite a lot of noise at times. We did have a room with an adjoining door to the next and this made it possible for us and them to hear our respective conversations...not so good.

The Bathrooms are well designed however the shower was very difficult to calibrate so as to get the right temperature.

All together it was a restful stay with delightful surroundings and good staff...just fix the facility issues and it would be close to perfect.

Room Tip: Check out the showers and maybe one away from the street fronts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear GregStory,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our Doorman, perhaps Russell? Unfortunately being in a central location street noise can at times be heard however our double glazed windows do cut the majority of noise.

I would also like to thank you for your comments relating to your shower which I have forwarded to our Maintenance department for their attention.

Once gain thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Windsor when next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,495
    862
    313
    107
    49
See reviews for
350
1,548
189
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Hotel Windsor provides an afternoon tea that is reminicent of High Tea in the days of the Rahj! Such a delightful experience of delicate eaties in a grand environment. Wonderful array of miniture cakes and sweeties via a buffet, after enjoying the savoury tiers at your table with your choice of tea. We thoroughly recommend you also make this part of your experience to remember!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Ianeta T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to experience our famous Afternoon Tea.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon with us and enjoyed the selection of cakes and desserts all of which are created in house by our dedicated pastry team.

Since 1883 we have been serving Afternoon Tea daily and to hear that we still do it so well is simply wonderful .

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Windsor when next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is well located at the top end of the city. Staff were great from porters to reception - nice and friendly.
The hotel is a grand, old character filled place with piano being played in the reception area. A pub / bar wad busy also got a quick drink.
11am check out is a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Wayne C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our fantastic central location in the CBD.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future when next visiting Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Recently stayed for two nights on a business trip, which also happened to coincide with one of the hottest days you can imagine. I hadn't stayed at The Hotel Windsor before, but when the Office Manager told me that's where I was going on this trip, I was quite excited.

However it was a let down, and it doesn't really represent value for money. The entrance is nice and there was a lady playing the piano, the staff were reasonably nice and helpful (certainly no 5 star experience though)

The rooms are VERY dated, there seems to have been a half assed upgrade done at some point but it's a mix of 1960 meets 1989, the bed wasn't that great, but not the worst I've ever had. The worst thing was the terrible air conditioning, the controls were 30 years old and it worked when it wanted to. The lift was slow and annoying also, take the stairs if in a rush!

Internet and Valet parking are ridiculously overpriced and to top it off, there is a surcharge on credit cards which I find offensive in this day and age. (not hard to absorb that into costs)

I like the location though, some nice restaurants and theatre's nearby.

However all in all, it really needs a makeover, a good designer would keep the "old charm" while modernising it into this century.

If you are going to spend the $230 to $330 a night mark for mid week work travel, there are much better business options in Melbourne CBD and even over at Southbank.

Room Tip: Unless you want a view of Parliament (which is nice), ask for a room at the back, no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear travellingredwhite,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The Hotel Windsor is continually looking at its service standards and amenities offered to its guests so it is refreshing to receive your review as it does give us a good overview of what we are doing well and what we need to improve on.

Please rest assured that I will be addressing the issues you raised with my Front Office team and our Executive Office.

Once again thank you and I hope that in the future we may have the pleasure of your company once more in the hope of leaving you with memories more befitting The Hotel Windsor.

As always, we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The welcome and the service of the staff who work here is the best I have experienced for a long time. I was attending a function in the Grand Ballroom and was lucky enough to get a complimentary upgrade to a suit which was just beautiful. The hotel is a little tired but still very elegant. The Grand Ballroom was just wonderful with stained glass windows, lovely drapes and carpet even with more than 100 people talking during dinner it was easy to still hold a conversation. The food was superb and the service excellent. My only complaint was the room(s) in my suite were very cold even after turning off all the airconditioning and I couldnt find a heating switch anywhere. The bed only had a light doona and I was cold in bed and had to sleep in the bath robe to keep warm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear ellenor,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to appreciate our wonderful historic building and all that it has to offer. I would like to also thank you for your kind words relating to our service standards which we work tirelessly on upholding to the highest standards at all times.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Windsor in the near future.

As always we are at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This historic building sits on the edge of the Melbourne CBD fitting in seamlessly into the surrounding grandeur of the surrounding buildings architecture.

The building retains most of its original features including the elevators and the staircase. Chandeliers hang elegantly in the lobby. Service from every aspect was phenomenal. Nothing was too much trouble and was completed promptly. Service extended as far as providing golf umbrellas to lend for the day available as you left the building.

Breakfast was included in our package and it was above standard for a hotel buffet breakfast. My only gripe about it was the usual scrambled egg option was runny and obviously made in bulk ( understandable )

The suite we stayed in was complete with marble bathroom, walk in wardrobe and queen size bed. Our view was non existent. We weren't too concerned though.

You have options of 9 different pillows if you wanted to order them from concierge. I had never seen this before.

Room Tip: room 415 has views of other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Katiec8805,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

Since 1883 The Hotel Windsor has been welcoming its guests and providing the best service possible. To hear that we are still achieving this is marvelous. Buffet breakfast in our restaurant is also a highlight and I do thank you for your comments relating to the scrambled eggs on offer and have forwarded these to our Director of Food & Beverage and Executive Chef.

Once again thank you for your kind words which I will be sharing with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

As always at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

On entering this grand old hotel you are taken back 100 years to when service was impeccable and nothing was too much trouble. The decor has a wonderful old world charm with Chesterfields and wing back arm chairs everywhere. We stayed in a traditional room which was very nice but could benefit from a refurbishment. As it was an important wedding anniversary, we were greeted with a personalised congratulatory card from staff and management. Which was a very unexpected touch. We did not dine at their restaurant that evening but we did have breakfast in the dining room which was excellent and reasonably priced. Cannot wait to go back and if it is service that you want then you cannot go past the Hotel Windsor.

Room Tip: Prices dictate the better rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear IAN B,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor and for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular appreciated our hotel's rich history and stunning architecture. We are continually looking at improving aspects of our hotel and services and I thank you for your feedback relating to your Traditional Room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future or perhaps next year when you celebrate once again.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.