We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to spoil yourself with excellent service ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #22 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great way to spoil yourself with excellent service ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

As soon as you handover your car in the front for valet parking, a great experience starts. The friendly staff welcomes you and is most efficient. This standard of service is very rare to find. We had booked a Superior room but got upgraded to a Junior suite. Very spoilt. When we walked into the suite, it feels like stepping back in time, so luxurious and stylish, old grandeur! The rooms are splendid, clean and give you that very luxurious feeling. It almost feels like a waste to leave the room and explore the city.
Returning from a night out, we ordered in room service at 2AM and within 15 minutes we got a delicious spaghetti bolognese and a Windsor burger served that we can highly recommend!
Absolutely fantastic experience with such friendly staff, we'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear GertDL,

Thank you for such a wonderful review about your stay with us at The Hotel Windsor.

From valet parking, to ordering room service at 2am, we take pride in providing our guests with the highest level of service. We ensure everyone has the best possible experience and this is regularly reflected in reviews such as yourselves.

Our hotel is celebrating its 130 year anniversary next year and it is great to hear that our unique charm and character are valued and appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Kind Regards
Katy Wilson
Guest Services

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,173
    688
    259
    98
    41
See reviews for
271
1235
155
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I booked in for the 4 pm sitting for the famous Windsor Afternoon Tea on 24th Nov 2012. We had to stay in a queue for 15 minutes to enter the restaurant and be seated. After sitting there for another 15 minites without any service we decided to cancel and leave but when we spoke to the staff at the front desk they talked us into staying saying they will be serving soon and the delay was because they do not have enough staff. We agreed and went back to our table and we were then served champagne. After another 15 minutes (4.45) the tray of food and tea was brought. Staff did not mention anything about the dessert buffet or anything else. There was no menu at our table either and the couple at the next table kindly lent us their menu. Very bad service particularly for the tables at our end. We noticed that tables in other areas had been served soon after they were seated. Staff seemed like they did not care and could not be bothered. No order and very disorganised. Extremely shocking service for a 5 star venue. I will not go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Harry1234_12,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Afternoon Tea experience this past weekend.

I would like to investigate your less than satisfactory experience further as this falls far below the high standards we wet ourselves and have been delivering.

My sincerest apologies for this and I will contact you shortly via this site's messenger service so I can investigate fully what has occurred with our Food & Beverage Director.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here last week for 4 nights and had a very relaxing time. We had stayed before on our Honeymoon and knew the location was perfect to walk to the Rod Laver for a concert, Brunswick St and Bourke St for shopping. Also just a quick tram ride to lovely St Kilda. Great breakfast choices - you dont have to have the buffet and there are some lovely cafes & restaurants just a stroll away too. Yes the rooms are looking a bit tired but its a grand old hotel and you can overlook a few superficial flaws. One thing that bothered us was while it was quite cool in Melbourne the rooms were a bit stuffy & warm - they need a fan as the air-con was a bit too overpowering.
Bathrooms (we had the standard room) was a bit dated - i dont like having to have the light on to see and the automatic fan was a bit of a pain but all in all a good weekend.
Service is really good and the afternoon hight tea is still very popular - you need to book on a weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear totti,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our central location. We do pride ourselves on our personal and professional service so positive feedback such as yours is very much welcomed and appreciated. Please rest assured that I will be sharing your kind words with our team.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for a night while visiting with my wife. The room was small, and it was rather loud, as we could hear noise from the street outside.
The staff were also unpleasant, probably due to the fact that their hotels guests are not the rich that used to be its forte.
I recommend you choose a newer hotel that this because this one is well over due for an update.

Visited January 2011

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Yosi84,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Hotel Windsor.

Since your stay in January 2011 we have made a number of improvements to our hotel including painting all of out 180 guest rooms and suites, new bedding and bedside lighting in all rooms and updated radios with iPad connectivity and an new state of the art wireless internet system.

With these improvements in place I can assure you that if returning your stay will be a memorable one for all the right reasons.

Once again thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Hotel is old and very appealing. However the rooms are extremely noisy. I stayed in the hotel for two nights and on each of the nights i was awoken by noise eminating from outside the premises. The rooms whislt generally comfortable were NOTentirely clean, including stains on walls. Television choice - average.
I travel to Melbourne every six weeks and would NOT stay in this establishment again. The venue is close to the CBD and all amenties, however a bad experience will sway me to NOT stay there again.
Breakfast was extremely expensive
Bar Closed at 11.00pm
Straff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear regittiger818,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

I must apologise on behalf of the hotel for your less than perfect stay if we had know you were not entirely happy after our arrival we would have done all that we could to ensure a pleasant stay.

We hope that in the future we may welcome you back to stay with us and if so please do not hesitate to speak with me so that you may leave with memories more befitting The Hotel Windsor.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night at this hotel. Heritage hotel. Room 429. Had an uncomfortable night sleep. Bed keeps moving away from bed head. Beds uncomfortable. TV angle is not straight on. Says 5 Star. But the amenities are not up to the level. Not my style.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear vik871,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne but more importantly for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I must thank you for the information you have provided us. Both our Housekeeping and Maintenance Managers will be looking at your room, 429 this coming week to ensure we rectify the points listed in regards to the television angle and bedding.

It is only with feedback such as yours that we can improve and I thank you for bringing this to my attention.

The Hotel Windsor may not be for everyone however we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future albeit to stay or to experience our famous Afternoon Tea.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

With so many hotels to choose from in Melbourne for the business traveller the Hotel Windsor needs a major refit or is doomed. The plumbing is archaic - waiting 5 minutes for the shower to produce hot water is a joke, and the aircon/heating system is appalling - leaving me with morning headaches and a respiratory virus.
The building is lovely enough but that alone doesn't cut i anymore - the claim to have a fitness room/gym is misleading - I have more equipment in my garage.
Service is fine but as the title says it's a losing battle

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Nick E,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The Hotel Windsor is an iconic, historic hotel however with this to come many challenges when working with a hotel close to 130 years old. Our management team are constantly looking at ways to improve our facilities and continue to provide high levels of guest service. We have almost completed painting all of our 180 rooms and suites and have in the past months replaced every mattress to ensure a comfortable rest. This is also complimented with a state of the art wireless internet system which we are quite proud of.

However I must thank you for your comments in relation to our gym facility. We do only have limited space but we will be looking into updating our equipment in the future.

Once again thank you for your fair review and for your patronage.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.