We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Free WiFi
Ranked #21 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
victoria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We returned recently to stay in this delightful old world charm hotel,what iot lacks in modern hotels,is made up by good old fashioned hospitality and service.
The high tea is a must do.The city circle free trams runs from opposite hotel,The rooms ooze of what the hotel was days since long gone,good position ,in city and transport ,a nice place to shop and the cricketers bar,full of history.
A nice place to escape.

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter,but rooms at front overlook parliment house and bust st
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBatters, Marketing Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Merlie,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and I was happy to read that you have returned to our hotel and enjoyed your experience once again. Glad that it is also find it a nice place to escape too- that's what we aim for!

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Kind regards,

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,246
    723
    267
    100
    41
See reviews for
297
1287
163
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The Windsor celebrates its 130th birthday in 2013 and is a grand icon in Melbourne. After decades of wanting to stay there, we finally had the opportunity. And it was a charming experience.

While delightful, lovely and charming, it was not what I would deem as a truly 5 star hotel or 5 star experience. That said, the lady who checked us into the hotel was warm, engaging and welcoming (Katie, I think). This contrasted with the older gentleman at Concierge the next morning who, while professionally polite, was aloof and obviously took no joy in engaging in conversation with me.

The room was large and furnished with items reflecting the age of the hotel. This added to the ambience of the room and the hotel. However, the hotel, and the room, seemed a bit... creaky- there were just some things that were lacking. For example, the wallpaper in the room was peeling- just a bit- at the joins. The room's entry foyer need painting badly. An iphone/ ipod charger would have been welcomed! The bathroom was nicely appointed, however some caution was needed getting out of the slippery bath/shower combination.

For transparency, I will state that we scored an exceptionally cheap "today only" room price (so I certainly did not expect the penthouse suite!) and the room was exceptional value for the price. Would I stay here again? Yes. Without question. However, if I was paying the normal room price, I would expect a hotel room in far better condition.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBatters, Marketing Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear MaxwellSmart86,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. I'm glad you found staying at our hotel, a charming experience. I've passed your comments about our staff onto our Front Office manager.

We hope to se you again soon,

Kind regards,

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We had a very relaxing 3 night visit, checking in on Christmas Eve and out on Tuesday 27th December.
Our accommodation was a nice deluxe room, with a spacious sitting area and a separate walk-in closet, which was excellent. The bar fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities were also located there. The view from our windows was of Parliament House and the Treasury Gardens.
We attended the Degustation Christmas Lunch in the Grand Ballroom, which was delicious, and was accompanied by excellent and plentiful choices of wines. The wait staff were completely professional, and also contributed to making the meal fun and light-hearted.
I used room service once, to order a plate of sandwiches. These were very tasty, and having a glass of iced water served alongside was a thoughtful gesture, and very appreciated.
The bathroom was larger than that of a usual 5 star hotel, which was really good, and the range of toiletries were very nice.
The Windsor breakfast was included in our accommodation deal and was very, very good. Although the choices were less than some other 5 star hotels, the quality and service were excellent. The cappuccino coffees matched the best we have had anywhere overseas, and gave us a great start to each day.
We will be very happy to have a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBatters, Marketing Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Kaye D,

Thrilled to read you enjoyed Christmas lunch in the Grand Ballroom. I've forwarded your comments onto the Director of Food & Beverage who will be happy to share your review with our wait staff. Also glad to read you enjoyed breakfast and your room.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Windsor soon,

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Kind regards,

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Windsor after Christmas and before New Year and what a delightful experience it was. There are hotels with better views, more modern and maybe even better value but at the Windsor the guest is the focus of their attention and service. We loved the ambience. the old world charm and the feeling that we were the only people there (although the hotel was full).

We had High Tea - expensive but worth every cent - and enjoyed an excellent hot breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

We booked a superior room for 1 night. Our room 208 was by far 5 star quality or superior. I understand it's an old style hotel, but that doesn't mean they have to literally keep the rooms that way. The toilet didn't work, which we found out late at night, the downstairs public toilet didn't work either... Our bathroom window had a tone of dust and bugs on it. We realized when we checked out that they gave us a standard room instead of a superior. The floors are so old the whole room and wardrobe kept shaking when we walked.. And we couldn't sleep at night because the people upstairs kept walking on the noisy floor! There was only 1 set of shampoo/conditioner and shower cap in the bathroom so my husband couldn't have a proper shower, usually there are 2 sets( even at the cheapest hotel). At 9 pm we were so tempted to just book a room at the hyatt across the road.... We should have!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

My partner and I occasionally like to get away without the children for an overnight stay in Melbourne and we went back to the Windsor for the 4th time recently. We have stayed in everything from the Menzies suite to the standard rooms with no view and have always had a wonderful experience.
Recently we stayed and were upgraded for Free to the Dame nellie melba suite. Amazing, enormous. Beautifully appointed. View of Parliament house. Hardly any noise eventhough it was the day before Christmas Eve.
Highly recomended. Also a great part of Melbourne to say in. Could walk to our restaurant in Crossley place and bar at the top of Collins. And had breakfast at the top of Bourke Street.
We didn't have breakfast in the room this time however, we have in the past and it was splendid. (didn't this time as the weather was beautiful and so we wanted to be out and about.)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBatters, Marketing Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear regulartraveler29,

Thanks for posting this wonderful review! Glad you enjoyed the Dame Nellie Melba suite (it's one of my favourites).

Hope to see you again at the Hotel Windsor soon,

Like us on Facebook,
Follow us on Twitter

regards,

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This was a first-time visit at the Windsor - a weekend away to celebrate milestone birthdays, while indulging in the ample shopping opportunities that Melbourne offers.
We were not disappointed.
The hotel is indeed charming - from the magnificent chandeliers in the foyer, a glorious staircase and endless, wide corridors where you half expect to chance upon the likes of Noel Coward. And our room was well appointed and very comfortable.
The Cricketers Bar at street-level, though shut on Sundays, has great pub grub too.
But what was really impressive was the staff, particularly the concierge and his tireless assistants. Full marks to them all.
And, oh yes, the bright pink courtesy umbrellas are a treat.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBatters, Marketing Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Roslyn51,

Lovely to hear you enjoyed your weekend at The Hotel Windsor. I will certainly pass your comments onto our Concierge team who will be thrilled.

Hope to welcome you back for more milestones in the future,

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Kind regards,

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.