We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT!! Best boutique hotel in Oz.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royce Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royce Hotel to your Saves list
Royce Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!! Best boutique hotel in Oz.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

This hotel is GREAT. I don't know what some of the reviewers were talking about....

Stayed at the Royal Suite, which was a very spacious room with a big lounge area and a four poster bed. AMAZING. I stayed at hotels all the time, and this is the best boutique hotel I have been to in Australia.

Excellent TV, jet spa bath... everything really modern, really quirky, really clean. Not much of a view, but that doesn't matter.

Very quiet, can't hear other guests. NIce bar and restaurant downstairs, too. Really convenient.

Beautiful place. Joins my best hotel list, and certainly the best boutique hotel in Oz in my opinion.

Only a few mins out from the city, and close to Chapel st, too, so get the credit card and shopping bags ready!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    136
    41
    31
    24
See reviews for
16
175
31
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

This hotel was comfortable and in a great location to the CBD. We stayed in the Royal Suite while it was nice it wasnt much more than that. The bathroom was a highlight to the room. The tv above the spa bath is a nice addition.

While we enjoyed our stay I believe that it is misleading saying that this hotel is 5 star. It is definately not a 5 star and if you are looking for 5 star accommodation dont be fooled and stay here.

The valet parking is extremely over priced and everytime we got into the vehicle the radio volume was extremely loud and adjustments made to everything possible.

I am undecided about this hotel........ I think you can do better though.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We picked this hotel as it was close (next) to Albert Park, the home of the F1 Grandprix in Melbourne and the reason for our trip to Melbourne. It turned out to be a perfect base for this great event and also a short tram ride into the CBD. Although we had one of the 'basic' rooms, it had a great king bed, was clean and had big flat screen TV. The staff were friendly and helpful with any questions we had. Hotel has a great little bar, we even scored two free welcome drinks on arrival. Would not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

I stay here for work quite a bit. I really love the feel of this place - it's very stylish and a little quirky. If you can, try to get one of the mezzanine rooms on the ground floor. The other rooms are pretty average (3-star), but the mezzanine rooms are pretty special (5-star) ... hence my 4-star average room rating.

The location is not bad, but I actually prefer staying in the city (personal preference). However, the hotel is right on a tram line and only a short tram ride into the city. I've walked into (and out of) the city a few times - takes me about 25-30min.

Cafe Vue is only two doors down - an absolute must visit for any meal (or just a coffee). Try the pears, yoghurt and walnuts for breakfast!

Forget the gym - it's a tiny room with (I'm pretty sure) no window.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Royce for 1 night on the 2nd March. We were very happy with the hotel. The check in process was quick and seamless, and we were handed complimentary welcome drink vouchers to use.

We stayed on level 5, and our room was amazing. A good size room with king size bed, and beautiful mood lighting throughout. I was super impressed with the bathroom. A spa bath bigger enough for the 2 of us, with a tv at the end of it to relax after a long day of flying. The double vanity and a large shower was also very good.

We organised late check out as we had a late afternoon flight out of Melbourne, which was no problem. We did get a call just after 11 which was normal check out time, but the girl on reception had not checked to see that there was a note that we would be checking out late. This was the only hiccup during our stay.

The only downside is that its a 10 minute tram ride into the city.

We travel to Melbourne often and would stay at the Royce again.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Korea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

This was my second stay at the Royce. I was upgraded to a suite on my hen's night several years ago, which was apparantly their policy (for hens!) at the time.

Overall, I like the Royce, especially its location, its art decor style (it was the Melbourne Rolls Royce showroom in its heyday) and the restaurant. It's right on a major tram route and close to arterial roads in & out of the city. Check-in was pleasant enough and we liked our room, which was very clean and faced the leafy side street so was nice and quiet. We took a risk and left the car in the side street overnight, only to get a parking ticket early the next day so BE WARNED, use the valet parking and get your car safely off the street away from the gray ghosts! Our car was returned to us promptly at check-out, but we had to lug our stuff in & out ourselves. And as someone else said, I'm not so keen on the zebra rug in the foyer either!

The bar is kind of weird and very dark, but a comfortable place to enjoy a drink. We loved the breakfast, which was nicely laid out and plentiful. Service generally was OK - noone was rude to us, but it was a little perfunctory at reception. We had to fight for our second drink voucher for the second night (we had two separate, consecutive one-night bookings) as they claimed the policy was one drink voucher per stay. Noone at reception seemed to actually be from Melbourne, so that could be problematic for those seeking tourist info at times.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

I found this hotel to be comfortable and convenient. I believe its part way through an upgrade and the top 2 floors have been done (where I stayed) and at least 1 of the middle floors has yet to be completed. The rooms are to a good standard with all you would expect available.
Breakfast is in the Dish restaurant which is integral to the hotel. I have been going there for some years as its close to our office and I must say it has stepped up quite a bit and the cooking was as good as any I have experienced in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Address: 379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royce Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.