We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy place in a great position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royce Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royce Hotel to your Saves list
Royce Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Happy place in a great position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I enjoyed my quick stay at the Royce and will definitely be staying here again. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was great and there was a nice vibe in the bar! Close to trams and only a short tram ride to the city or to St Kilda.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    136
    41
    31
    24
See reviews for
16
175
31
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay up to the 2nd night when either Nancy or Morgan from the front desk did not record the request that my boyfriend made to have a 2nd room key made out for me on a night he was away. Disappointing and no apologies from staff.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Only had one night here but couldn't fault anything they got me in early front desk very professional rooms are excellent lots of offers for dining in and the dinner was very good , possibly the best cheese platter I have had in a long time. Service was excellent Will definitely make this my base when I come back from Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa in Bali
Great job guys keep it up

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We really enjoyed the atmosphere: very easy & stylish. The service was nice; the room service menu and the quality were pretty good . Our son loved watching TV while taking a bath. Nice view, nice people and good service and quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed for one night in superior balcony. Arrived an hour or two before checkin but were shown directly to our room. Offered a voucher for complimentary welcome drink in hotel bar, and discounted meal voucher.
The room was on the third floor, with large windows and balcony overlooking school sportsground, with views of the shrine in the distance from memory. The room was adequately spacious and the bathroom generous. All modern and clean. Shower was nice (pressure/temperature). Curtains were two layered including blackout for morning sleep-in. We found it very quiet overnight. We couldn't find any in-room information brochure on the hotel facilities (gym, breakfast times and location etc), but staff were helpful when questioned over the phone.
Buffet breakfast was very generous and tasty, including a range of breads to toast, pastries, fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurt as well as english hot breakfast, range of juices etc.... More than enough food, our dirty plates were promptly cleared from our table etc.
We booked online directly with the hotel as the rate was the same as all other websites we checked. It was really good value at just over $200 for a Saturday night, which included breakfast. The other big hotels in the central city were charging over $300 without breakfast, certainly no balcony and probably a view of a brick wall.
The location slightly south of city was not a problem at all - just a quick tram ride.
When we called to ask about on-site parking (which attracts extra cost) the staff member told us that parking on the street is free on the weekend (after midday Saturday I think). There were plenty of carparks on St Kilda Rd right out front within 100-200m.
Great value, nice room, happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice hotel that sitting by the corner of the royal botanic garden. The hotel exterior may not be so visible but the interiors are beautiful and clean and neat. All staffs are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed walking to the Spencer Street/CBD areas as the walk is very pleasant and beautiful scenery around. This is a very good location if you like to stay closed to the CBD but not in CBD. We stayed for 3 nights in a premium suite. The room is very nice, spaces and most importantly very cosy and comfortable. Two kids are running around with no hassle of dangerous sharp corners etc. We will come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have travelled extensively in my life and The Royce Hotel is one of the best properties i have ever stayed at, the service and quality is faultless!!

From the very moment you walk through the doors of this designer boutique hotel you feel like you are in absolute luxury - the staff were so attentive ( something you will not find in a larger scale hotel ). The breakfast served offers a large range and suits all requirements and is very fresh. I didn’t want to leave .

I will definitely be back again to stay at the exquisite property.!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Address: 379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royce Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.