We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception - right outside our room!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royce Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royce Hotel to your Saves list
Royce Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Wedding reception - right outside our room!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our first two nights at the Royce were excellent. The room was a decent size, the bed comfortable and my partner and I managed to get a good nights sleep. Our third night however, was the complete opposite - we returned to the hotel after some drinks in the city to find there was a wedding on in the ballroom located on the same level as our room (less than 20 meters away). The music was pumping, not to mention there were people standing right outside our door because they had a photo booth set up there. I rang reception who were apologetic but said that the music wouldn't be turned off at midnight!! It got to 10:30, the music and people within the wedding got louder so my partner and I packed our bags and caught a taxi to another hotel. I think it was totally unprofessional that it was never mentioned to us that a wedding would be on the night we were staying there when we booked the accommodation, nor was it mentioned when we checked in. Anyone who has stayed at the Royce Hotel before and knows the layout of the hotel, will also be able to tell you that no matter which room you stay in, you'll find it very hard to escape any noise coming from the ballroom if there is a function on (apparently we were the 4th conplaint that night). This experience totally ruined our stay and I'd be very hesitant in considering staying at the Royce ever again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    195
    55
    39
    28
See reviews for
26
251
37
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Royce for my thrid time. The staff always find a way to make my wife and I feel special within an intimate boutique environment. While just out of the CBD, the 5 minute tram ride along St kilda Rd into town has a quintessential Melbourne feel about it.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony add an extra dimension into the room. The higher floors bring in a South ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night. Service was great, got upgraded to a loft room from the deluxe suite due to some renovation work next door the next morning. Great room! Got free drink voucher for the hotel bar. They do charge $25 extra per night to park in their carpark, valet style super handy.


I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Royce for 3 nights as a business/pleasure stay in Melbourne.
We found it clean, tidy and spacious. We had room 603 which was very quiet apart from the bang every time the lift outside our door stopped. It seemed to reverberate through the wall into our room. It wasn't extremely loud but certainly noticeable and we probably wouldn't get that room again.
The bed was also too firm for our liking but other than that we found the room great.
The location is a little far from town but I walked in and back one day and it only took 25 mins each way at a casual pace.
The bar downstairs gets very busy and very loud so don't go there if you want a quiet drink before dinner. Very nice though.
We ate at the restaurant for breakfast each day and dinner once. The breakfast was your standard fare and only served a cooked breakfast on the weekends for some reason, otherwise it was just cereal, fruit and toast. The dinner was ok if you don't want to go out but we wouldn't make it a destination restaurant.
The service from the front desk was very friendly and always helpful. It would help however if the staff had a little local geographic knowledge. They had to look up on the computer where certain suburbs and markets were that we wanted to go to.
We would certainly stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 fabulous nights after our original hotel let us down with our booking. It was grand final weekend, yet they didn't increase their roomrate but 500 percent like so many other hotels.

They greeted us warmly and professionally. They upgraded our room. And such a lovely huge room too, with beautiful quality finishes and a massive king size bed. The bathroom was huge and perfect.

Their restaurant, Dish, was excellent, as was their bar Amberoom, though the cocktails were over priced, they were made with love. Amberoom gets the afterwork crowd, but weekends settle down. They have a good reasonably priced bar menu too .

We wish we had stayed here for the remainder of our holiday.

Next visit we will return to the Royce, our home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Located on St Kilda Rd in the old Rolls Royce showrooms the Royce is a very quaint and comfortable place to stay. I haas room 225, located at the top of the winding staircase and looking down over reception. Huge room with high ceilings, a massive bathroom and large deep bath. Very comfy bed and friendly service made this a very pleasant stay. I've already booked another 4 days when I return to Melbourne in a week or so. Although situated on a busy road, noise was not a problem. Great access to the trams and only a short ride to St Kilda. Only suggestion would be if tram tickets could be made available at reception rather than having to find the closest 7-11 to buy one. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed one night and booked on recommendation of a web site. The service was great. The front of house staff couldn't do enough for us. They allowed an early check in, welcome drink, guidance of car parking near by and generally just nice people. We asked about hiring bikes near by and they said "no problem...we have bikes you can borrow" so they went and got two bikes and we spent the next 2 hours riding around Southbank, the Yarra, MCG, tennis centre and Albert Park.

Room was clean and well presented. A bottle of wine on arrival, great buffet Breakfast, up to date bathrooms and a great bed. We requested a twin as it was me and my son. That was not a problem.

Great fun thank you and we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Address: 379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royce Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.