We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location on St Kilda road walking distance to city and MCG.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royce Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royce Hotel to your Saves list
Royce Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Convenient location on St Kilda road walking distance to city and MCG.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The Royce is in a good location with great tram service. The room was OK although the view out to brick walls was definitely unappealing. The upside of this was that it was very quiet. The location near the shrine of remembrance and the 10 minute walk over the hill to the MCG were big pluses. The lack of family rooms makes it really only suitable for business trips or couples.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    226
    61
    42
    29
See reviews for
31
289
42
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Royce is a quaint boutique hotel in Melbourne - spacious, comfortable rooms and the location is not too bad either. They have a little bar downstairs where we redeemed a couple of drink vouchers that the hotel gave us upon check-in. The room had all the amenities you'd expect, which is good. Taxis don't take too long to come when you ask the concierge to book one for you.
Apparently it used to be the old Rolls Royce showroom, which explains why it had such high ceilings in the lobby. My partner and I had a pleasant stay - great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Really outstanding hotel in my opinion. Great location - a little out of CBD but a nice walk.
Beautifully appointed room and comfortable bed. Fresh modern bathroom.
Friendly staff and a warm, welcoming bar downstairs with good value food.
Breakfast was included in my tariff and it was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathfieldsaye VIC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Royce is ideally situated on St Kilda Rd close to trams and the city. Our room 112
was well appointed and spotless. We were pleasantly surprised how quite it was ensuring a good nights sleep. Reception staff went out of their way to answer guest tourist questions and meet our needs both checking in and out. I can't comment on the pool/spa as didn't go near it. On the weekends their is a full buffet breakfast with obvious fresh food being served. The kitchen staff were happy to poach eggs etc on demand. I was very impressed with the whole package on offer and highly recommend it to anyone looking for quality at a reasonable price. We will be back for sure

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have stayed at this boutique hotel on several ocassions but only one night this visit. Check in was efficient and friendly, however our room had two single beds not the king size I had booked! A minor hitch that was quickly rectified by reception staff.
It was a raining and cold Friday night so we decided to eat in house at Dish Restaurant, we were not disappointed by our choice as the meal was excellent along with a good selection of wines.
The breakfast offered by Dish Restaurant the next morning is both plentiful and delicious.
Will definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willunga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Disappointed with this hotel as airconditioner in our first room on 1st floor didn't work properly. Didn't like the shower and toilet in the one area and floor was very slippery. We were moved to another room on the 5th floor and the aircon was very noisy and you couldn't turn it off or work out how it worked. The hotel needs to put instructions underneath the controls. Finally rang reception and could turn it off in a wardrobe, the system is ancient! Would not recommend this hotel to anyone or stay there again. Buffet breakfast was not enjoyable as scrambled eggs were rubbery. On the menu it says you can have a choice of how your eggs are cooked but perhaps this was room service only.
When checking out you were not asked if you enjoyed your room, customer service could be better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was recommended this hotel by a friend. I travel extensively and enjoy my comforts.
Checked in and advised of my early flight and required a wake up call at 3am which was confirmed to me. Placed my bags in the room and went to southbank to do some shopping. Had dinner with friends and came back to my room to feel the book on the table soaking wet. Above was a hole in the roof where water was coming from after the rain earlier. As it wasn't near the bed I went to sleep because of my early wake up call at 3. I woke at 3.15am with no call being made to my room. The shower pressure was useless. The gentlemen at reception really didn't care about my concerns in room 220.

Stay again or recommend - I think not. What a shame

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.3 mi away
Art Series - The Blackman
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Charsfield
Hotel Charsfield
#32 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
10.3 mi away
Beau Monde International - a boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Address: 379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royce Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.