We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royce Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royce Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royce Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Royce is a quaint boutique hotel in Melbourne - spacious, comfortable rooms and the location is not too bad either. They have a little bar downstairs where we redeemed a couple of drink vouchers that the hotel gave us upon check-in. The room had all the amenities you'd expect, which is good. Taxis don't take too long to come when you ask the concierge to book one for you.
Apparently it used to be the old Rolls Royce showroom, which explains why it had such high ceilings in the lobby. My partner and I had a pleasant stay - great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    126
    37
    31
    24
See reviews for
14
169
29
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Really outstanding hotel in my opinion. Great location - a little out of CBD but a nice walk.
Beautifully appointed room and comfortable bed. Fresh modern bathroom.
Friendly staff and a warm, welcoming bar downstairs with good value food.
Breakfast was included in my tariff and it was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathfieldsaye VIC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Royce is ideally situated on St Kilda Rd close to trams and the city. Our room 112
was well appointed and spotless. We were pleasantly surprised how quite it was ensuring a good nights sleep. Reception staff went out of their way to answer guest tourist questions and meet our needs both checking in and out. I can't comment on the pool/spa as didn't go near it. On the weekends their is a full buffet breakfast with obvious fresh food being served. The kitchen staff were happy to poach eggs etc on demand. I was very impressed with the whole package on offer and highly recommend it to anyone looking for quality at a reasonable price. We will be back for sure

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have stayed at this boutique hotel on several ocassions but only one night this visit. Check in was efficient and friendly, however our room had two single beds not the king size I had booked! A minor hitch that was quickly rectified by reception staff.
It was a raining and cold Friday night so we decided to eat in house at Dish Restaurant, we were not disappointed by our choice as the meal was excellent along with a good selection of wines.
The breakfast offered by Dish Restaurant the next morning is both plentiful and delicious.
Will definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willunga
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Disappointed with this hotel as airconditioner in our first room on 1st floor didn't work properly. Didn't like the shower and toilet in the one area and floor was very slippery. We were moved to another room on the 5th floor and the aircon was very noisy and you couldn't turn it off or work out how it worked. The hotel needs to put instructions underneath the controls. Finally rang reception and could turn it off in a wardrobe, the system is ancient! Would not recommend this hotel to anyone or stay there again. Buffet breakfast was not enjoyable as scrambled eggs were rubbery. On the menu it says you can have a choice of how your eggs are cooked but perhaps this was room service only.
When checking out you were not asked if you enjoyed your room, customer service could be better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended this hotel by a friend. I travel extensively and enjoy my comforts.
Checked in and advised of my early flight and required a wake up call at 3am which was confirmed to me. Placed my bags in the room and went to southbank to do some shopping. Had dinner with friends and came back to my room to feel the book on the table soaking wet. Above was a hole in the roof where water was coming from after the rain earlier. As it wasn't near the bed I went to sleep because of my early wake up call at 3. I woke at 3.15am with no call being made to my room. The shower pressure was useless. The gentlemen at reception really didn't care about my concerns in room 220.

Stay again or recommend - I think not. What a shame

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Arrived at 2pm (checkin time) for a wedding at 3.30. The entire wedding party was staying here with the reception held here that evening. Rooms wernt ready on time and some people were unable to check in until after the wedding and had to share rooms to get ready. Should be no excuses for late rooms when booked so far in advance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Address: 379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royce Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.