We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to end our trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royce Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royce Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royce Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   379 St. Kida Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
cheltenham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good place to end our trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our last stop of a long tour - we'd added in Melbourne as our last stop over as we hoped to meet up with friends there. We booked a superior deluxe room, and were pleased with the choice. The room was a good size, comfy bed, and enough general space to get cases organised for the journey home. The room was contemporary in design which we liked. The location suited us perfectly as we enjoyed the very pleasant walk to and from town. Lots of interesting routes to take which ever way you turn out of the hotel. The bar was a good stop off prior to our nights out, and is clearly well liked by locals. All the staff we encountered were so helpful, and could not do enough for us regarding recommendations, walking routes, transport etc. The final endorsement was the nod of approval from our friends who live there. We'd choose the Royce in a heartbeat next time we travel to Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    118
    27
    30
    24
See reviews for
14
155
26
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was my second overnight stay at this lovely hotel.
Checkin and checkout was quick, friendly and efficient.
Stayed in a superior deluxe room with a view out towards the old school opposite (room was very quiet)
The room & bathroom was very clean and well equipped with all the usual facilities (TV, bar fridge, tea & coffee, iron, hairdryer etc) and a good quality range of toiletries were provided.
I loved the small bottle of fresh milk they provided instead of those single serve size pots of long life milk - that was a nice touch.
Location was perfect for me as it was close to the business that I was visiting- overall a great place to stay though whatever your reason is for visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Perfect for a romantic break or city escape, The Royce is always clean, tastefully decorated & comfortable with fabulous service. In a quiet location not far from central Melbourne & it doesn't have the sterility of larger hotels. I've stayed here many times & never been disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a boutique hotel located away from the center of town. The lobby is beautiful! We arrived late and check in was fast. We were given a voucher for a free drink at the bar, but when we went down to get it, they were closed! That was disappointing. The room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was included with our rate, but what they didn't tell us was the included breakfast is just their continental breakfast, a few choices of cereal, some fruit and the ability to make yourself some toast. My husband ordered two eggs and toast and it cost $11. The eggs were overdone unfortunately. We didn't spend much time at the hotel as we arrived late and checked out early, but it was a comfortable bed and a great ensuite. We will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Royce for two nights as the start of our holiday in Melbourne.
On our early arrival which we only wanted to store our bags as we knew we were too early we were told "your rooms still dirty!" I would have just preferred, "your room isn't available just yet".
I hate it when your first impressions of a place are questioned by the the way you're first treated as soon as you walk in.
The room itself was nice but disappointed with the cleanliness of the bathroom that had grime in the corners of the shower recess.
We never lifted the window screen up as the view was nothing flash so we kept it closed. And thank goodness we'd hired a rental car even though there were trams running right outside it was a bit far from the city.
All in all it was an ok stay but we wouldn't go back there if we had the chance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at the royce for one night. We where very lucky to be upgrade to an Executive Suite. The room was beautiful with a large balcony and the best bit... a spa bath with a LCD TV. only thing i would suggest is being able to turn the tv up in the bathroom more as when you have the spa going you cant hear it and have to turn it off to watch tv. The evening staff on front desk where really lovely and helpful and suggested the best Italian resturant a few doors down. The only down fall was the morning staff on front desk, i checked in at 8:30am and asked to be called when my room was ready. They failed to do so and i got a call after check in time of 2pm at around 4:30pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place, all staff are awesome they go above and beyond to make your stay one to remember. Staff at the Dish restaurant are also awesome, if your after a nice wine make sure you speak to Brad about his recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Address: 379 St. Kida Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royce Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.