We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royce Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royce Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royce Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this boutique hotel. It was very clean and modern. While it was over the bridge it wasnt very far from the city. Although you had to take a taxi. We found out that it used to be the show room for "Rolls Royce", hence the name 'The Royce". The room was a typical hotel room with a massive shower/bathroom. There was no bathtub in our room but that was fine. It was close to the park, if one likes to walk or exercise. And it was within walking distance to the National Gallery Museum. I missed out on breakfast the first morning, and the second morning you had to pay for continental breakfast. We were on our way to the airport anyway, so we just grabbed a takeaway caffe latte.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    132
    41
    31
    24
See reviews for
16
172
30
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had our wedding at the Royce in 2008 just after it's renovations in their Grand Ballroom so we wanted to return for the night of our 5th wedding anniversary this year. We got a great deal online that included the nights stay in a superior room, welcome drink in Amber Room, 2 course dinner in DIsh restaurant (which was delicious and also included a glass of wine of which the portion size was very very generous) and breakfast the next day. The hotel has a special connection for us so of course we found it amazing, were very thankful for the complimentary champagne given to us from the banquet manager who originally organised our wedding. Everything was superb, the hotel has been well maintained over the last 5 years, no signs of wear and tear, the rooms a very comfortable and quiet, the mattress is comfortable, and the room size is generous. I would reccomend Royce for a wedding or large celebration in Melbourne also as it is halfway between the city and the Chapel street shopping precinct.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go with the Suite, they are sublime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Boutique hotel in a good location for business along St Kilda road. Great tram access almost at front door to CBD. Walking distance to parks and even city. Rooms comfortable and staff are there to please. Bathroom a good size with large shower. Lighting at mirror not as good for older eyes. Rooms a good size but TV positioned so had to sit on bed to watch as angle made not visible from lounge. Overal though it is good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I loved this hotel. I have stayed there once since my first stay, and am intending to stay here once again in July. The décor is exquisite, the staff were friendly, the view of the city is magnificent, and its location is about a 5-10 minute tram ride away from Federation Square. The concierge were knowledgeable, and I was even given some free fruit when I arrived in my room (as it wasn't ready when I arrived, which was early - totally my fault, not theirs). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the city for magnificent views at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Royce is a boutique hotel on St Kilda Road, just a 10 minute tram ride to the city. It is famous for it's sweeping staircase and as a wedding venue. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. The room we were given was at the end of the hallway and was very spacious, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom included a bath and a shower and we really felt pampered and comfortable. As it is a business hotel during the week, there are great deals to be had on weekends, that include breakfast. Plus you can get great offroad free parking. Even if you don't get breakfast included, it is great value and you can wonder down to Cafe Vue (one of Shannon Bennet's small restaurants) and have a great leasurly breakfase. Do yourself a favour... give it a go.

Room Tip: All rooms are good... but for extra quiet and privacy, go for one at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Great room, extremely good value, definitely recommend to all!!

A few small issues ie. Shower going from hot to cold when it felt like and the bathroom door needing a hard push to actually open, but again, the value makes up for it.

If it had a pool or spa it would definitely be a solid 5 star.

Recommend paying the slight extra for the mezzanine room, it was great!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a beautiful, centrally located hotel, it is an easy walk up St Kilda Road to the center of town. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Address: 379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royce Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.