We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royce Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royce Hotel to your Saves list
Royce Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Boutique hotel in a good location for business along St Kilda road. Great tram access almost at front door to CBD. Walking distance to parks and even city. Rooms comfortable and staff are there to please. Bathroom a good size with large shower. Lighting at mirror not as good for older eyes. Rooms a good size but TV positioned so had to sit on bed to watch as angle made not visible from lounge. Overal though it is good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    196
    55
    39
    28
See reviews for
27
251
37
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I loved this hotel. I have stayed there once since my first stay, and am intending to stay here once again in July. The décor is exquisite, the staff were friendly, the view of the city is magnificent, and its location is about a 5-10 minute tram ride away from Federation Square. The concierge were knowledgeable, and I was even given some free fruit when I arrived in my room (as it wasn't ready when I arrived, which was early - totally my fault, not theirs). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the city for magnificent views at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Royce is a boutique hotel on St Kilda Road, just a 10 minute tram ride to the city. It is famous for it's sweeping staircase and as a wedding venue. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. The room we were given was at the end of the hallway and was very spacious, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom included a bath and a shower and we really felt pampered and comfortable. As it is a business hotel during the week, there are great deals to be had on weekends, that include breakfast. Plus you can get great offroad free parking. Even if you don't get breakfast included, it is great value and you can wonder down to Cafe Vue (one of Shannon Bennet's small restaurants) and have a great leasurly breakfase. Do yourself a favour... give it a go.

Room Tip: All rooms are good... but for extra quiet and privacy, go for one at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Great room, extremely good value, definitely recommend to all!!

A few small issues ie. Shower going from hot to cold when it felt like and the bathroom door needing a hard push to actually open, but again, the value makes up for it.

If it had a pool or spa it would definitely be a solid 5 star.

Recommend paying the slight extra for the mezzanine room, it was great!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a beautiful, centrally located hotel, it is an easy walk up St Kilda Road to the center of town. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A boutique hotel opposite the Shrine in St Kilda Rd.
Everything was perfect including a contained breakfast and staff were first rate, organizing taxi's for the morning.
We live 100 kms from the city and stayed overnight at Royce prior to an early morning flight from Tullamarine. Royce gives easy access to city restaurants - we dined in China Town - and is on the tram line for easy city 2 stop access in 5 minutes or alternatively a lovely 15 minute walk past the theaters and gardens.
Peter and Robin Melbourne Aust. 30 April 2013

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have stayed here a few times over the years, often with long breaks in between, but was reminded again why I like this place so much. Great location with easy access to trams, great restaurant and bar. Very friendly service. For a 5 star hotel, this place makes you feel very welcome and comforted and works hard I think to try and remove that "hotel" feel from its 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Make sure you avoid the rooms near the conference part of the hotel. Can be a bit noisy occasionally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Address: 379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royce Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.