We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royce Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royce Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royce Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Great room, extremely good value, definitely recommend to all!!

A few small issues ie. Shower going from hot to cold when it felt like and the bathroom door needing a hard push to actually open, but again, the value makes up for it.

If it had a pool or spa it would definitely be a solid 5 star.

Recommend paying the slight extra for the mezzanine room, it was great!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    125
    37
    31
    24
See reviews for
14
168
29
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a beautiful, centrally located hotel, it is an easy walk up St Kilda Road to the center of town. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A boutique hotel opposite the Shrine in St Kilda Rd.
Everything was perfect including a contained breakfast and staff were first rate, organizing taxi's for the morning.
We live 100 kms from the city and stayed overnight at Royce prior to an early morning flight from Tullamarine. Royce gives easy access to city restaurants - we dined in China Town - and is on the tram line for easy city 2 stop access in 5 minutes or alternatively a lovely 15 minute walk past the theaters and gardens.
Peter and Robin Melbourne Aust. 30 April 2013

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have stayed here a few times over the years, often with long breaks in between, but was reminded again why I like this place so much. Great location with easy access to trams, great restaurant and bar. Very friendly service. For a 5 star hotel, this place makes you feel very welcome and comforted and works hard I think to try and remove that "hotel" feel from its 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Make sure you avoid the rooms near the conference part of the hotel. Can be a bit noisy occasionally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and Ihave stayed at The Royce on several occasions and found it to be evry bit of a five srar hotel.Staff and service were excellent and the breakfast was also first class. Both times we booked special deals and this made the price affordable. We had no trouble getting street parking near Melbourne Grammar. A very relaxing stay and a good base to see Chapel St,the Victoria Market and Fitzroy St St.Kilda.

Room Tip: Try to get away from the St.Kilda Rd side,although there is no great problem with noise'
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here on Thursday the 28th of March, aftertaking advantage of their Easter Special deal, which was for a Superior Deluxe room with included buffet breakfast, two free drinks in their Amberoom bar and Easter eggs on arrival (yum!).

The foyer is lovely, and the check-in was painless. As for the rest:

Pros:

- Very clean
- Large bathroom
- Queen (not king, as some have reported having in their rooms) bed was nice and comfortable
- 42 inch TV, mounted on the wall in front of the bed for easy and comfortable viewing
- Buffet breakfast was GREAT!, goes until 10:30am (check out at 11am)
- Walkable distance to Chapel Street or the CBD (about 2km in each direction), but if you feel that's too far, trams galore right at the doorstep, and short distance for cheap taxi rides

Cons:
Well, there were no "cons" during our stay! These are more just observations:

- I don't think the room was anything special to make it worth the cost it would have been, if we hadn't have come at a discounted rate. Don't get me wrong! It was lovely, clean, and spacious. However, there was nothing to make it 5-star worthy, as it felt the same as any good 3-or-4 star room I've stayed in. Perhaps the bigger rooms and suites have more to offer.
- The bathroom has a thin, frosted glass door with a peephole where a handle would usually be. It offers sufficient privacy (unless you bend down and look through the hole!), but doesn't exactly block noise or smell, if you catch my drift.
- Noisy people in the hallway will be very audible from your room. I didn't hear anything from the rooms we shared walls with, however.

All in all, it was lovely, comfortable, and well located.

For interstate or international travellers:

Please be aware that Melbourne has a rather unfriendly public transport system for tourists. There is no way to catch a tram without first purchasing a Myki card (you cannot buy them on board), which you then add funds on to. There are no short term or one way tickets available to you. As I mentioned, the hotel is a walkable distance from the CBD (without luggage or ailments), and taxi rides are cheap as you are so close - but if you plan to catch a tram to or from this destination, make sure you get a Myki before you travel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights late March. Great boutique hotel. Small hotel with great clean rooms, big beds nicely appointed and friendly staff. Easy to get to the city by tram or $10 taxi fare. Convenient store just 100 metres away. Great breakfast at the Dish Restaurant. Great value for money. I have stayed several times and it is my preferred hotel in Melbourne just out of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Address: 379 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royce Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.