We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest on Bourke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quest on Bourke to your Saves list
Quest on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a standard 1 bedroom. Very close to theatre and shops - PERFECT. The bathroom was massive but had no full length mirror (had to stand on the toilet to get that view). Also bath very large and tall - dangerous to step into it for a shower and not convenient to try and lean over to turn on water and test temperature. It was HOT during our visit and the air con was in the lounge area and struggled to reach through to bedroom. Also due to gap/hole between bedroom & lounge there was no capacity to block noise. Staff however were lovely. It was the location that sold me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    76
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
55
31
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great location, easy walking distance to major sports venues, theatres & restaurants. The staff are very friendly and customer service orientated. Couldn't do enough for us when we had an issue with our room because of air con.
Just be aware that's not all apartments are the same. We booked a 2 bedroom exec apartment which wasn't up to our expectation, we were moved because of air con issue to another apartment which was 100% better than the other.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. I am pleased your enjoyed the location and the service that our staff provided to you. I think that with the recent heat in Melbourne, there are a lot of locations that did suffer and were stretched to the limit as far as the air conditioning goes. During this time, we purchased additional fans and we would easily have been able to arrange one from reception for you. Next time, please feel free to let us know of anything to make your stay more comfortable we are always happy to assist with this. I can happily inform you that each wardrobe in each bedroom at the property has a full length mirror to assist with your preparation to enjoy the great central location that we have at Quest on Bourke. Thank you again for your feedback we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in a 1-bedroom executive apartment for 7 days. The apartment was large, especially the bathroom which had a full wall mirror and a corner spa bath which my toddler and we enjoyed. It was had a washer/dryer which was great as we were able to get half the laundry done instead of lugging a week's worth back home. There was also a full kitchen (oven, stove, dishwasher, microwave, fridge). Our apartment was on the 5th floor and faced another building opposite (Citadines on Bourke) so there wasn't much of a view from the window. However, we did not hear any traffic noise from the road. Front desk service was pleasant.

The best thing about the accommodation was undoubtedly the location. It was on Bourke Street, right in Chinatown where all the food is. There is a tram stop right outside the apartment, and a short 10 minutes' walk to the nearest free city circle tram stop (Parliament house). In the other direction, it was a 15 minutes' walk to the heart of the city (Bourke St Mall).

Some things to note: The apartment was showing its age, the carpet had stains in them, the bathroom wall tiles were starting to fall out, and the TV was very old and only showed the basic channels. The rooms have no soundproofing so you can hear doors opening and closing; It wasn't much of a bother except on Saturday night as there is a nightclub in an alley nearby.

Overall, we were happy with our stay and would recommend others to stay there too.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a higher floor (there are only 6 floors in the building).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely appreciate it. You have made some really valuable observations which give us an opportunity to improve what we offer our valued guests here at Quest on Bourke. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights here and were pleased with the overall experience. It is conveniently located in the centre if Melbourne. Rooms were large and clean. The fact of no free wifi was a negative in this day and age. Reception staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Have just had 5 nights here and highly recommend. Great location close to transport especially Skybus from airport and city circle tram. The apartments were modern and clean and serviced regularly. excellent and friendly service, we arrived early after our flight from New Zealand and the receptionist on duty (Mimi) arranged for our room to be serviced and said she would ring us when it was ready, within an hour we where called. What more could could you ask for. Would stay again. (-: Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete your review. We love having people stay who really embrace Melbourne - pleased you enjoyed the City Circle Tram and we love assisting our guests which maps and information on arrival. We would love to welcome you back any time, and I will most definately pass your positive feedback on to Mia ... I know it will make her day! Thank you again for taking the time to complete the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with a friend, following are Pro's vs Con's
Pros;
Great location
Easy to access via public transport & the skybus from the airport
The units are of a large size & there are opening windows in the lounges
The bathrooms are of a large size with a full wall mirror - so 2 people can easily use it
The housekeeping are friendly & made conversation
The queen bed was comfortable & not two singles pushed together
Con's;
The general/front staff have a fairly blase attitude
The white walls need a good sugar soap cleaning - can see finger/hand prints in the old dust on all the white walls - not good for asthmatics
The bath/shower needs new grouting & a good clean
The windows need double glazed - every night there were rubbish trucks outside in the alleyway which took about 15minutes every time.
The washing machine/dryer needs to be replaced with an actual model that cleans & then dries the cloths - the wash went for over an hour - washed more than once & did not dry even though it was on the number 8 cycle
The furniture needs replacing - couches sink in the middle/getting a bit worn
It was unsettling to have the t.v chained to the wall - it was an old model & not even worth thinking about taking due to all the new cheap better models available. It wasn't even a model where usbs could be connected. Only free to view or dvd's. It made me feel as if the unit was targeted more at the backpacker crew rather than professionals

Room Tip: Try not to get a room which faces onto the side/back alleyway - as the rubbish trucks came every nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely appreciate the time you took to complete this. We are undergoing an improvement programme for the whole property from bathroom regrouting to painting, this is being rolled out and will improve our guests experiences. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope that you give us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future to replace your experiences with more positive ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Spent one week in a two-bedroom apartment. Lots of plus points. Excellent location, right in the city with a tram stop right outside. Shopping and restaurants all within short walking distance. The apartment was spacious and had two bathrooms (excellent for a family trying to get ready at the same time). The main bathroom was large and had a jacuzzi and a separate shower stall. We stayed on the fourth floor and there was a balcony running outside the whole apartment. Generous with towels, had a selection of tea and coffee that was replenished daily. Very helpful and friendly front desk staff. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Fourth floor has large balcony running around whole apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the time you took to write this and I have great pleasure in passing your positive comments onto the team here. We hope to see you again soon - thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Bourke

Address: 155 Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on Bourke features 61 spacious one and two bedroom apartments. With great features such as a fantastic welcoming team, 24 hour reception and a health club on the lower ground floor - the best location in Melbourne for shopping, dining, theatre or just exploring this great city. Why not consider Quest on Bourke for your next business or leisure trip to Melbourne? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Quest on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Bourke Melbourne
Apartment Melbourne Quest
Quest On Bourke Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.