We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice clean but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quest on Bourke

Save Saved
You added Quest on Bourke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Williams, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice clean but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

three of us stayed here in feb 12 for 4 nights. it was a good location as we were going to the read gift fare. The rooms were tidy and clean and a nice kitchen and little lounge, but really nothing wow. not that we were after wow as it was a work trip/ I would stay there again if the occasion arose but not really for a holiday.

Room Tip: we had a 2 bedroom apartment and it suited us down to a tee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the time you took to complete the information. I am happy that we provided you with accommodation that met your needs for your trip to Melbourne. We pride ourselves on our service, location and the relationships we build with our valued guests. Please feel free to contact me should you wish to book again in the future, I would be more than happy to assist you.
Kind regards,
Vanessa Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    58
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
45
25
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed there from 15 to 18 December 2012. Had parents and my son of 18 months along. To our standard, it was accessible and convenient. The hotel staff were very helpful and responsive. The location was great. Nothing to complain about. It was definitely a positive experience for my whole family, including my son.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We endeavour to have everyone enjoy their stay with us at Quest on Bourke so they consider returning to us again and again! We love welcoming back our valued guests and I also welcome the opportunity to pass onto the staff your positive comments. Thank you so much for your feedback from the whole team at Quest on Bourke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Quest on Bourke as we were visiting Melbourne for the Australian Open Tennis. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which had everything we needed to feel comfortable for our time there. . A few comments I would like to make which may have enhanced our experience but which are minor really
1) there is no natural light in one bedroom
2) the furnishings and carpet are all dark
3) the bathroom is large which is fine but the shower is over a huge jacuzzi bath
We felt that the furnishings should be light to give a better sense of space and light. The jacuzzi should go and a stand alone shower be installed instead. Accessing the present shower could be very hazardous for anyone ,especially older people,who may struggle to get into the present set up. There is a grab rail in situ which we all needed!!
We have stayed in many Quest apartments and found the staff at the bourke,really amazing. They are helpful, courteous and unflappable and no request seemed to bother them.
Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback in regard to your stay with us at Quest on Bourke. As the majority of your feedback is in regard to the physical building, some of these items are not able to be rectified such as no windows in certain bedrooms, we do take on board your feedback in regard to the showers and the furnishings however and appreciate you taking the time to comment and let us know. I am also pleased you had positive interactions with our staff, and it will give me great pleasure to pass your positive comments onto the team here. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you once again to Quest on Bourke in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at Quest on Bourke over Christmas 2012. My family had a 2 bedroom apartment which was nice, clean, a great size and just perfect. The staff had already set up the cot we requested (including bedding etc) and we felt very welcome. My parents also stayed in a standard room and that was also very nice. The location is great, the staff friendly and the cleaning staff were the friendliest I have ever met (the were really sweet to the kids). Just a few issues (one very small and trivial and the other not so)...the laundry has a washer/dryer - the dryer does not work, not a biggy - I just air dried the clothes. The other issue is a bit long but it really was what made me give Quest 4 stars and not 5. So...here it goes...we knew that the rooms would not be serviced over the public holidays and were prepared for that. However, we were under the impression that if we contacted reception, it would not be such a hassle to tidy up the room ourselves. We had a family christmas lunch and had lots of rubbish (presents wrappings, prawn shells, left over food etc) and used up all the dishwasher tablets and dishwashing liquid. Boxing Day we were out all day and came back and realised (our fault) that the room had not been serviced and the room was starting to get a bit smelly. The next day (not a public holiday) my husband got up at 6am to call reception and ask if he could come down and get some dishwashing liquid and garbage bags and asked where we could put our rubbish. We did not expect housekeeping to come so early but wanted to clean up for ourselves. By 8am, nothing. We called again and explained we had quite a lot of rubbish and wanted to know what to do. We also had nothing to wash our dishes to have breakfast. The man at reception questioned why we had so much rubbish and told us someone would be up soon. We gave up on the dishes and my husband went out and bought us all breakfast. By 10am, I called and explained the room was starting to smell, PLEASE just tell us where to take the rubbish. It was at this point I gave up and took some garbage bags off a cleaner's cart in the hallway. Finally, after calling at 11am, someone came up and gave us a few things so we could wash dishes and they took the rubbish away. What may seem trivial was actually quite bizarre for us. Here we were in a really nice hotel, we weren't asking for housekeeping - we just wanted a few things so we did not have to have rotting food and dirty dishes in our room and it was made into such a huge deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is truly appreciated. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay however, I would like to address your housekeeping/reception communication issue. I have communicated with the staff that were on duty on that day and unfortunately, there is no excuse I can offer you apart from the fact that they were busy at reception and the urgency of your requirements were not impressed upon our housekeepers to assist with taking up bags and removing your rubbish. Please accept my most sincere apologies for this inconvenience that was caused to you and your family by our lack of prompt communication - I am happy if you would like to discuss the matter further to continue communications with you via email, you can contact me at the property via questonbourke@questapartments.com.au Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here overnight mid week as I went to see a band in the CBD. I was surprised at how BIG the room was, it was huge! I was even more surprised to see that the bathroom had an awesome corner spa bath!

Great clean hotel, centrally located - nice and close to shops, restaurants and venues.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle,WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I saw some negativity and thought I would provide another perspective. I believe that all the units have new furniture now (not that the old furniture was bad). It is an urban environment with accompanying noises, but it didn't prevent me from sleeping. My husband wore earplugs to sleep because he is more sensitive to sounds. The most convenient aspect of Quest Bourke Street is accessibility of transit. You have four choices: 1) Exit the 4th floor and take the sky bridge to the Southern Cross train station. 2) Exit the 1st floor and walk around the corner to the regular newer looking trams. 3) Exit the 1st floor and walk around the corner to the FREE historic circle trams. 4) Exit the 1st floor and walk around the corner to the FREE red bus that goes all around Melbourne. That's what I call accessibility! You can also walk around the corner and cross the street to rent a bike for an hour or a day. It is about 3 blocks to the post office, a Safeway store (owned by Woolworths), pharmacy, bakery, Asian food mart and restaurants. Also, strolling on the water's edge is very pleasant. The neighborhood seemed safe to me. I guess that a lot of people live in the high rise apartments, and I saw them walking their dogs or heading to the markets after work. It's very convenient and saves lots of money to have a kitchenette (since restaurant brekky seemed to cost at least $10).

Room Tip: All the units have kitchenettes, but not all of them have balconies. Some balconies are large and ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Most of my family (9 in total) stayed for 7 nights, We had 2x2 bedroom Apt.and a 1 bedroom Apt. OMG what at great place to stay has everything you could ask for. The Manager and all staff were pleasent to deal with and if you had a problem or needed help they had no hesitations in helping. It is close to all shops and food outlets. You can catch a tram at the front door. The hotel is very clean and I would highly recommend it to anyone. What a great Place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Bourke

Address: 155 Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#80 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Bourke 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on Bourke features 61 spacious one and two bedroom apartments. With great features such as a fantastic welcoming team, 24 hour reception and a health club on the lower ground floor - the best location in Melbourne for shopping, dining, theatre or just exploring this great city. Why not consider Quest on Bourke for your next business or leisure trip to Melbourne? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quest on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Bourke Melbourne
Apartment Melbourne Quest
Quest On Bourke Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.