We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest on Bourke

Save Saved
You added Quest on Bourke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here overnight mid week as I went to see a band in the CBD. I was surprised at how BIG the room was, it was huge! I was even more surprised to see that the bathroom had an awesome corner spa bath!

Great clean hotel, centrally located - nice and close to shops, restaurants and venues.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    54
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
25
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle,WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I saw some negativity and thought I would provide another perspective. I believe that all the units have new furniture now (not that the old furniture was bad). It is an urban environment with accompanying noises, but it didn't prevent me from sleeping. My husband wore earplugs to sleep because he is more sensitive to sounds. The most convenient aspect of Quest Bourke Street is accessibility of transit. You have four choices: 1) Exit the 4th floor and take the sky bridge to the Southern Cross train station. 2) Exit the 1st floor and walk around the corner to the regular newer looking trams. 3) Exit the 1st floor and walk around the corner to the FREE historic circle trams. 4) Exit the 1st floor and walk around the corner to the FREE red bus that goes all around Melbourne. That's what I call accessibility! You can also walk around the corner and cross the street to rent a bike for an hour or a day. It is about 3 blocks to the post office, a Safeway store (owned by Woolworths), pharmacy, bakery, Asian food mart and restaurants. Also, strolling on the water's edge is very pleasant. The neighborhood seemed safe to me. I guess that a lot of people live in the high rise apartments, and I saw them walking their dogs or heading to the markets after work. It's very convenient and saves lots of money to have a kitchenette (since restaurant brekky seemed to cost at least $10).

Room Tip: All the units have kitchenettes, but not all of them have balconies. Some balconies are large and ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Most of my family (9 in total) stayed for 7 nights, We had 2x2 bedroom Apt.and a 1 bedroom Apt. OMG what at great place to stay has everything you could ask for. The Manager and all staff were pleasent to deal with and if you had a problem or needed help they had no hesitations in helping. It is close to all shops and food outlets. You can catch a tram at the front door. The hotel is very clean and I would highly recommend it to anyone. What a great Place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights,only mistake was made by me asking for a front room with a balcony.dont do it as it is quite noisy of a weekend so sleep is almost impossible otherwise every thing was great.Nice clean roomy units with very polite and helpful staff.
We think this is the best self contained units close to the CBD. We will return again.

Room Tip: If staying weekends ask for a room at the back.Elwphant and wheelbarrow pub up the road have great m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback in regard to the property. We can certainly make a request for an apartment at the rear of Quest on Bourke for your next stay with us - I will note in your guest history. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Vanessa Warnock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Central
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

As a gift for my husbands 70th, we were going to a show at Her Majesty's Theatre, & as we aren't that familiar with Melbourne, elected to stay in the CBD, and chose Quest on Bourke St as it was close to every thing. The hotel was very clean & comfortable and spacious. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you Cheryl,
The whole team here is really pleased you and your husband enjoyed your time in Melbourne - we hope you enjoyed your birthday and we look forward to seeing you on the 71st!
Warm regards,
Vanessa Warnock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just a couple of minutes walk to David Jones and Myer, perfect for a shopping trip. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, great size, very clean and modern, large spa in the bigger bathroom and an extra bathroom with a toilet and shower. The room was perfect, the only downside was that you could hear road noise below as the window was on Burke Street and we were on the 5th floor, its only 6 floors high. But staying that, I will stay here again, it was a great price for a two bedroom apartment, and we were very happy with the apartment. You have to walk to the parking with your luggage down Burke Street but it wasn't too much of a hassle, its close.

Room Tip: Higher Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest on Bourke - I have noted in guest history that you prefer higher floor accommodation - I will also endeavour to reserve an apartment at the rear of the property for your next stay.
Thank you again.
Vanessa Warnock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We often stay at the Quest on Bourke when we travel to Melbourne, as it's close to my husbands office building. The staff are always very accommodating, as we arrive at 8am and they always allow us to check in early if the room is available. I've always found the rooms clean. It's generally a mid week stay so it's pretty quiet, we haven't had noise problems. The staff are always friendly.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback - I look forward to welcoming you to the property again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Bourke

Address: 155 Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#98 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Bourke 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on Bourke features 61 spacious one and two bedroom apartments. With great features such as a fantastic welcoming team, 24 hour reception and a health club on the lower ground floor - the best location in Melbourne for shopping, dining, theatre or just exploring this great city. Why not consider Quest on Bourke for your next business or leisure trip to Melbourne? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quest on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Bourke Melbourne
Apartment Melbourne Quest
Quest On Bourke Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.