We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, basic but suited all needs in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Southern Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Great Southern Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Enterprize)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Location, basic but suited all needs in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Stayed 2 nights over a weekend, walking distance to Southern Cross Station (spencer st). Location is brilliant, walking distance to crown casino, convention centre, DFO, everywhere basically. If you don't want to walk then flinders st tram station is next block, from there you can get just about everywhere. Rooms are basic but comfortable, bed was great, tv, shower was fine. Carpet old but who cares about that...Being there over fri/sat night I expected a lot of noise but no was pleasantly surprised at no disturbance. Definately recommend it and I WILL stay there again. Staff extremely helpful at knowing what tram to catch etc. My only complaint is no wi-fi

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    130
    148
    90
    120
See reviews for
67
154
86
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

We stayed here and used the venue as a base for a boys weekend to celebrate a friend's buck's event.

If you're expecting top of the range accommodation you'll be pretty disappointed, but if you're after a low cost comfortable room within walking distance to public transport, the Casino and the CBD then you'll probably be happy enough with this place.

My room was comfortable, though the climate control in the room didn't work but since we spent more time out on the town than in the room, it wasn't really that much of a big deal.

In short, you get what you pay for. I wasn't expecting anything spectacular, for what it cost I was happy with the value. Would I stay there for a romantic weekend away with my wife? Probably not. Would I use it as a base for a boys weekend to go to the footy or cricket? Most certainly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Within easy walking distance of bus, tram, train and eating places. Went for 3 days having cold showers thinking we were wanting water at peak times and it had run out.
Finally complained and were told it was necessary to turn all hot taps on at once to pump the hot water up to the 5th floor as it is on a hydraulic system and needed costly repairs to fix.
Did work well when we knew how, but we could have been told at the beginning as i am sure it was not a one off incident. Plug for handbaisin turned up after 2 requests.
We also would have appreciated some information in the room, like city info, hotel info etc. Staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

My first trip to Melbourne. Shared a twin single room with my Mum. It was one of the courtyard rooms. The beds were the worst feature - they literally sank and sagged when you lay on them. The room was dirty, really old. We complained during the first night and were offered a room a few rooms down. The beds were a bit better so we were actually able to sleep a bit. The staff were not very helpful. The only positive thing is its location - being so close to Southern Cross Station.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We got this hotel due to a suggestion on the internet forum. Pricewise it was similar to a YHA hostel private room with no bathroom. So this hotel is not bad.

For that price we got the newer DELUXE room given past reviews on this website. The older rooms were even more cheaper - might of been cheaper than YHA, haha, so you have to compare fairly.

The deluxe room was not bad.
2x single beds. The bedding sheets and stuff could of been cleaner - they had stains on it, we didn't use the bar fridge but pretty basic but expensive.

There was a HD LCD provided, no complaints, no extra channels though. Aircon. Noise level pretty average. Inside the hotel but outside the rooms was like a court yard but this is not a luxury hotel. Some of the residents smoke there so you get that odour as ou walk out.

There weren't much facilities, the reception area is a bit dark and oldish but again for the price. You won't expect Hilton quality for the price.

Didn't try their restaurant but from the looks of it .. was a connected asian restaurant, didn't look that fancy and it's price was maybe just over average for what you can get in Melbourne. The elevator is quite slow :D Parking might of been available for a fee but could be wrong, forgot if internet was provided in room in the form of wireless.

So I gave it 2 star for cleaniness as the sheets could of been cleaner or replaced. 2 again for service b/c it is really just a motel, no service at all, get key and find your own way up. Other stuff average. Close to the station to the airport (bus) but a bit further away from the real action. At night, also the free City Circle tram ends so you need to find other way to get home all apart from the 2 or 3 nights when they have slightly later hours.

All in all, decent for the price. On this basis I recommend it for casual leisure holiday. If you are a couple it might pay to get something more expensive unless you have a tight budget. It's a hotel to sleep and go out , not to stay in and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shah alam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

The lack of cleanliness of the lobby was evident from the time one steps through the entrance door. The room floor creaks when we walked on it. The furnishings were old, scratched and poorly maintained. Electric kettle provided was rusty and dirty on the inside. One of the staff, with a Japanese name that starts with M was unnecessarily rude and unhelpful. However, one of the staff, Megan, and another Chinese staff were very, very helpful....they made our stay somewhat tolerable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010 via mobile

I think my title reveals my feelings a out this pit. My colleague booked the hotel based on web photos and learnt, to our cost, how misleading they can be. Themlocation is not bad, but the entire hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment or demolition! Bedding worn thin, carpets the same, water filled bottles filled with cigarette butts on window ledges (providing you had a real window!) were all part of the fun filled (not!) Enterprize 'experience.' if you want the fun, save money and check in to a real doss house!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Address: 44 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Enterprize)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Great Southern Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne provides the perfect location for both the tourist and business client alike, at a very affordable price, placing you within extremely close proximity to all the wonderful Melbourne attractions. This amenable Melbourne City Hotel is located minutes from the Southern Cross Station and interstate Bus and Train Terminal and a short drive from Melbourne Airport. The Great Southern Hotel comprises 2 separate sections - both dedicated to the business/leisure client featuring Family rooms; while the New Standard rooms and Classic rooms overlook a spacious courtyard - a virtual oasis in Melbourne's CBD. Situated within close proximity to the Crown Casino and Entertainment complex, Melbourne Aquarium, Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, Etihad Stadium and Southbank. Trams and public transport virtually at the door providing easy access to all that Melbourne has to offer. Wifi available at an additional cost. Hot buffet breakfast is available at a cost of $20 per person (served between 6:30am to 10:00am) Porter service is not available, however Luggage storage is available at a cost of $2 per bag per day. Additional administration fee applies when making payment via credit card to settle incidentals during check out. Great Southern Hotel is a smoke free property with no smoking permitted in guest rooms. This Hotel does not cater to bookings of unaccompanied minors under the age of 18 years. ***Currently a lobby refurbishment is in place to Early October 2014. The works will not affect any rooms, but may cause some delays at check-in and checkout times. The temporary reception area will be clearly marked with signage. Noise may reach high levels between 10am and 5pm.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enterprize Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Southern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.