We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent economic choice for your Melbourne stays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Southern Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Great Southern Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Enterprize)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Buderim, Queensland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“An excellent economic choice for your Melbourne stays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Great Southern Hotel is a brilliant place to be in Melbourne, opposite the Great Southern Railway station where the trains stop and the Skybus (shuttle bus) from the airport drops you off; accessible to all parts of the city on foot, helpful and friendly staff at Reception and skilful management by Goran Novakovic. Breakfast is available and can be organised the night before.
Shops are nearby and open until very late.
The Hotel is close to Southbank, the Convention Centre and world famous Crown Casino, Flinders Station, the Yarra River and the central Bourke Mall.
The staff can help with any of your queries, whether you are from interstate or overseas.
A very good address.

Room Tip: enquire at Reception,I never heard of complaints from any of my colleagues
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    146
    166
    94
    124
See reviews for
71
170
96
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Booked this hotel at late notice for business as it was close to everything and everywhere i needed to go.I pretty much got everything i expected from a budget hotel and as i only book a hotel room to sleep in and relax it served the purpose.The one thing that will put me off ever using this hotel again is the fact that apart from one gentleman on the front desk,the level of customer service and the general attitude of staff was disgracefull.To ask for certain things during the stay and be told by staff that they dont know where something is(which we were both looking at and was 2 metres away) or they may have to charge you for something like cutlery to eat takeaway food is in my opinion rude and unprofessional.A bit of training and understanding of job description for staff (particularly female staff members) is not only cheap but will be beneficial long term with return business from "satisfied customers".

Room Tip: Go down the street to the Pensione.From my experience dining at this hotel the staff are friendly,he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed here18th march for three nights, dirty blinds,carpet filthy, could not use the drawers everything felt dirty,worse hotel I have ever stayed in.spoilt my visit to Melbourne,Stayed in Australia for a month.Our friends room was even worse,their tv was on a table outside the bathroom,if they had got up in the night they would have knocked it over. The hotel was supposed to be renovated,the courtyard was full of puddles and cigarette ends, I do not think the place was ever cleaned properly.

Room Tip: Don,t bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My first visit to this hotel was very disappointing. Came with a friend who booked a budget room. Very definitely budget but would expect more. The rooms were obviously originally single rooms that have been made into one twin share room. In need of some TLC The bathroom my side had no hot tap working, the extractor fan attached to the light was so noisy I couldn't hear my friend speak even with the door open. The gap between the top of the mattress and the wall was so wide I couldnt sit in bed and read. I had a bedside lamp, my friend didn't. She had to keep overhead light on, my overhead light was without a cover. The rooms were dark as blinds had to be closed as people walked right past the room, being a courtyard. Fridge badly needed defrosting.The three days we were there there was only the small very slow lift working, I could use the stairs, my friend could not. No complaints about the staff apart from being given incorrect information on getting a tram to Smith St.

Room Tip: Dont choose the Courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We had read the reviews and were really surprised how good value this hotel is. We stayed on level 4 for 3 nights without any major issues. It can also get really busy at reception and the slow lift as its quite popular!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It certainly was just that! Two single rooms made into one twin therefore 2 ensuites. However, no hot water to basin in one, no fan in the other. Door to ensuite not attached at the bottom in one and very leaky shower in the other. Fridge needed defrosting badly. Headboard too far away from the mattress to enable you to lean on it. No light shade on one ceiling fitting and only one bedside light. No bar of soap only little container which was hard to use after you had wet your hands.

Room Tip: Don't choose budget rooms and avoid a coutyard room as it is stuffy without aircon and cold with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was given a "courtyard room" for my one night stay... which was bad bad bad!
The carpet was sticky and stained, and the walls and furniture / fittings all dirty.
I had to search and reach behind furniture to find a power point that actually worked and the accumulated dust and filth was disgusting.
Due to lack of operational power points I couldn't use fridge... in fact a power point in the bathroom was loose from the wall.
I understand it is a budget option, and the location is great especially for Southern Cross station (and Airport Skybus)... BUT if basic cleanliness is important you will give this one a BIG MISS.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept a "courtyard room". There must be better options according to other reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Address: 44 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Enterprize)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Great Southern Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne provides the perfect location for both the tourist and business client alike, at a very affordable price, placing you within extremely close proximity to all the wonderful Melbourne attractions. This amenable Melbourne City Hotel is located minutes from the Southern Cross Station and interstate Bus and Train Terminal and a short drive from Melbourne Airport. The Great Southern Hotel comprises 2 separate sections - both dedicated to the business/leisure client featuring Family rooms; while the New Standard rooms and Classic rooms overlook a spacious courtyard - a virtual oasis in Melbourne's CBD. Situated within close proximity to the Crown Casino and Entertainment complex, Melbourne Aquarium, Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, Etihad Stadium and Southbank. Trams and public transport virtually at the door providing easy access to all that Melbourne has to offer. Wifi available at an additional cost. Hot buffet breakfast is available at a cost of $20 per person (served between 6:30am to 10:00am) Porter service is not available, however Luggage storage is available at a cost of $2 per bag per day. Additional administration fee applies when making payment via credit card or EFTPOS to settle incidentals during check out. Great Southern Hotel is a smoke free property with no smoking permitted in guest rooms. This Hotel does not cater to bookings of unaccompanied minors under the age of 18 years. ***Currently a lobby refurbishment is in place to Late October 2014. The works will not affect any rooms, but may cause some delays at check-in and checkout times. The temporary reception area will be clearly marked with signage. Noise may reach high levels between 10am and 5pm.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enterprize Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Southern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.