We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nutcracker Suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arts Centre Melbourne

Arts Centre Melbourne
100 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
03 9281 8000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 207 Attractions in Melbourne
Type: Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Experience Victoria's center for the performing arts and enjoy a play, a concert or a visit to the galleries.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nutcracker Suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Enjoyed seeing the Nutcracker Suite ballet. I love this ballet, and have seen many different performances over the years. Like to get into the city occasionally to see shows, and this time we made a weekend of it and stayed alongside the Arts Centre at the Quay West Apartments. The Arts Centre is ageing (just as I am), but we still enjoy dressing up and having a night out, and the Arts Centre always feels warm and welcoming to me.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    72
    17
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Needs a trip to the 21st Century”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Outdated inside. Stuck in the 80's. The cafe / restaurant is VERY outdated, tired furniture, tired staff, pack with elderly people and NOT somewhere I want to be on a Friday/Saturday night. Please refurbish... PLEASE!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Improvements”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been a frequent visitor to the Arts Centre for many years. Ballet, plays and opera. There used to be only drinks and plastic sandwiches available at intermission. There are now numerous bars,cafes and restaurants. The parking however is expensive and there are no attendants so you need a credit card.
The quality of the productions is first class but get your tickets through an agency beforehand. They generally don't except people trying to buy on the night. Beautiful theatres

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Not well known tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went on a walking tour of the new Hamer Hall, for about $30 each it included a guide and access to some behind the scenes areas as well as interesting facts about the construction and history. This was followed by a glass of sparkling wine and canapés.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Arts Centre Parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The venue itself is fine however don't get caught with parking going past 7pm as you will be charged for both day & night rates up to $45.
What a rip off and no obvious signs to advise that "day rate" does not go past 7pm.
My advice on "War Horse" is don't sit close to the front. Much of the "effect" seems to be lost.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arts Centre Melbourne also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Arts Centre Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arts Centre Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.