We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Immigration Museum

Immigration Museum
Corner of Flinders and William Streets | 400 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
+61 3 9927 2754
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 211 Attractions in Melbourne
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Explore Australia's history and culture. Journey through Melbourn's history and explore stories of people who have migrated from all reaches of the world. From the reasons for making the journey, to the impact on indigenous communities, these stories are sometimes sad, sometimes funny, but always engaging. Located in the Old Customs House in the heart of the city - an easy walk from Flinders St Station or Southern Cross (or catch the free City Circle Tram).
pacific palms
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is definitely worth a visit. We attended to view a photographic exhibition entitled "Leaving Ireland" which was excellent. Lots of other interesting displays and interactive displays
Staff were great. A word of advise - try and avoid the school groups

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    182
    36
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nether Alderley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just my cup of tea. So interesting to see and hear (very interactive), the journeys people had and the reasonsmformitnover the decades. Well worth a visits for 10dollars.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“always interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great displays both visual and audio worth a visit i highly recommend it. Currently has the exodus of Irish since the global financial crisis with photos of indivduals couples and families with their stories. Also a hard hitting film, of what the human race has done to itself causing pain and suffering forcing people to seek better lives around the world.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“One of the best museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is one of my favorite museums in Melbourne. It is so fascinating, great exhibitions and displays. Very informative. Lots of immigration related stories about the start of our multicultural country. From the 1800's to present. I went with my french husband and he enjoyed it even more than I did. I recommend half a day to go through the exhibits. I enjoyed reading them and looking at the memorabilia. Ive been a few times and always find new and interesting facts and exhibits.

Activities and exhibits for all of the family. concessions, students, children and uni students are free. Adults pay $10. Great value for money.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An thought provoking educational experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The museum is easy to reach via the 75 tram and free city circle tram. We took just over 2 hours to walk through but were constrained by other commitments. You could easily spend 3 or plus hours to see everything and to linger a little more over exhibits. It was school holidays during our visit and there were free, interesting themed activities for all visitors to participate in. This could be turned Into a great full day of a family. Students are free including uni students, as are all concession pass owners. Adults are $10 so it's not an expenive experience. The identity exhibit will have you contemplating who you are and how you express it. The Journey of a Lifetime exhibit is interactive , so pleasant to ave an exhibit where the 'hands off just look' option is removed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Immigration Museum also viewed

 

Been to Immigration Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Immigration Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.