We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3.5, good place in great quiet location, a bit stuffy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Jolimont

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quest Jolimont to your Saves list
Quest Jolimont
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   153-155 Wellington Parade S, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A 3.5, good place in great quiet location, a bit stuffy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights over Australia Day weekend and were delighted that there was still availability, as it is very close to the city and the Australian Open (which was having its finals, so everywhere was quite full). The location is really good, a very short walk to Jolimont Station, the MCG, the beautiful Fitzroy Gardens, and also not far from Rod Laver Arena and Melbourne Park tennis centre and soccer stadium. A great plus is that as its set back from Wellington Pde, its probably one of the quietest locations this close to the city.
The apartment was about $180/night, which we thought was pretty good considering that we only booked a few days prior, and for such a great location.
The service was friendly and helpful. The apartment itself was nothing special, but was spacious, had good facilities. The bed was the firm side of comfortable, which is a plus or a minus depending on your taste, a bit on the firm side for my taste, but okay.
There was evaporative A/C to control the temperature which was needed pretty much non-stop, as the apartment was very warm and stuffy for some reason (the warmth was strange as it was a first floor apartment with no direct sun), but this meant we had to leave our bedroom door open to the lounge area. Strangely the lounge opened onto what I suppose you could call a courtyard, but was a strange blank area in the middle of the building about the size of an elevator shaft, with a grate in the middle for drainage - not a place I'd wanna hang out in, but some small beautification and maybe a seat or two would go a long way to improving this area - though not having an opening to the street probably further reduced any minimal outside noise.
I imagine there'd be more noise if there was footy on at the MCG, but it seemed well protected, as the building faces away from the MCG.
All in all a good (not great) stay, but would recommend to others.

Room Tip: I'd ask for an outward facing room, and maybe one not that there's much view - it was the fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This is our first time at the Quest Jolimont and we were pleasantly surprised at the standard of the apartment we stayed in. It was very clean and comfortable. But what we really liked was the quiet location yet being so close to Rod Laver and the MCG it is very convenient being so close to these great stadiums and with the Tram service not far away we took an easy trip into the city we highly recommend these apartments and will return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I, as well as friends have stayed at these apartments on at least 5 occasions and will continue to stay here when staying in Melbourne for short trips to the footy. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the MCG. It has always been clean and well maintained. Staff are pleasant. Carpark can be tight for larger cars and is limited spaces. Street parking is ok, depending on the day of the week and the time you have to get up to feed a meter!
Location is great for the MCG, but it is a residential area, so not much else close by except for a couple of larger chain hotels near, convenience store and a few other shops. Bridge Rd, Richmond and the City are certainly walkable - but takes about 15 - 20 mins comfortably.
Price is usually quite good for the 2 bed apartments. Quite often get good value on last minute or with Quest direct websites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked a 2br apartment for one night for the footy. Location was great, literally 2 min walk from MCG.
Room was modern, clean and beds comfy. Couldnt really complain about anything. Staff were friendly and helpful.
We paid $370 for the night for 3 adults which wasnt cheap but still reasonable we thought, considering 2br apartmemts on a saturday night arent easy to find.
Would definitely stay here again if going to the footy or tennis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Very convenient, quiet and clean one night stay proposition if you are going to the MCG for football. Under 5 minutes from hotel to your MCG seat. Internal room not recommended for long stays as you really need the blinds pulled down most of the time for privacy. Otherwise fine and good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at Quest Jolimont with my husband and 6 month old son and would recommend it. We chose the location because we had a family member at Epworth Hospital and live in rural Vic.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment (parkview).
When I made the booking direct with the apartments, I spoke with Sonny who was very professional and helpful. We even secured off street parking for free -usually $20 per night!
The room was clean and fresh and had a king size bed and private washing machine/dryer!
We were in walking distance to the hospital and took in the sights of the MCG which is only a 2 minute walk.
I wouldn't advise those that have trouble walking a distance stay and walk to hospital/bridge rd as its a bit up hill at some points but we enjoyed the walk even with a pram. There is also a tram only 50m across the road.
We did hear the trains going past but it didn't disturb our sleep.
We purchased drinks from the room service menu at a very cheap price!
Bathroom was roomy but no bath (which didn't bother us)
Rooms serviced everyday and all staff were polite.
They offer high hairs and cots as well.
The parkview room was more a view of the street and trees with the train going by so don't expect a view of treasury garden! Still nice view though..
We will stay again when visiting family or seeing a game of footy at the G :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed here in March 2012 for 2 nights (myself, my mother & 7 year old daughter).
We booked a 2 bedroom apartment which was great. Clean, roomy & had everything you need.
We could see the MCG & Rod Laver from our window.
As we had tickets to two shows at the tennis centre the location was perfect! Less than 10 minute walk. And very well lit streets nearby so I didnt mind walking home late with my daughter.
Reception staff were very helpful & very friendly.
Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Jolimont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Jolimont

Address: 153-155 Wellington Parade S, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Jolimont 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quest Jolimont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Jolimont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.