We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting a bit tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Jolimont

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Jolimont to your Saves list
Mantra on Jolimont
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Jolimont Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Getting a bit tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here again as i do every brownlow medal night to attend a function at the MCG. Stayed in a twin room on the eighth (top?) floor overlooking the railway line.

Room was the same layout as we've stayed in in prior years, just on a higher floor. It was clean enough, but starting to show some signs of age. Shower had some grout which had fallen out and was sitting on the shower base, toilet was coming away from the wall, carpet was pretty threadbare, shower head barely stayed up, holes from old showerhead still in the wall. Not cleanliness issues, just signs of age.

Pillows were pretty flat, and no spares in the cupboard, had already climbed into bed tired and tipsy when i became aware of the situation, so couldn't be bothered asking for more.

Trains seemed louder than prior years, maybe they're louder on the higher floors, or maybe the tracks are deteriorating. Not loud enough to be an issue for most, but if you're a light sleeper ask for a room on the other side of the building.

Breakfast was included in our room rate, we got there on opening at 6:30. Noted that it's now a buffet for hot food, rather than being cooked to order. Good for saving time as we had early appointments. Eggs were being brought out as we arrived, so knew they were fresh. Decent selection of hot food and toast, spreads etc. And some danishes, always a breakfast highlight at hotels for sweet tooths like myself.

Service was great on check in/out and at the restaurant.

As i've said in previous reviews, this is fine for business travel, good value, clean and efficient and a good location for MCG, although it's due for a freshen up. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback on your most recent stay with us. It was great to note that an overwhelming majority of your stay was well enjoyed and I appreciate your comments overall.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    122
    93
    31
    15
See reviews for
51
90
30
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Got a great deal at this hotel mid. September 2012, on a 2 bedroom unit, consisting of a one bedroom and an adjoining studio apartment (great concept) and found it very pleasant. It's a lovely walk over the pedestrian bridge to Federation Square, and a short distance to the tram stop. Rooms were well equipped, and spotlessly clean. Although the hotel is next to the railway track, we could barely hear the trains, and the outlook over the pool was very nice. The restaurant downstairs does very nice food, and the hotel (and restaurant) staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Although it is a little far from the town centre( if you don't like walking) it is ideally situated for sports fans, being a short walk to the MCG and Rod Laver Arena. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for posting your lovely comments on your recent stay with us. We are always appreciative of the feedback we recieve to assist us to improve and also to reward a Team effort.
We hope to see you baak again in 2012.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Staying a a studio apartment for two nights recently for a bargain price from wotif. We arrived at the hotel at 9am and were able to check in to our room, which was fantastic. Check in was smooth and friendly. Our room was well furnished and included a small kitchenette inlcuding tea/coffee making facilities, a medium saized fridge, microwave and toaster - very handy for a quick breakfast on the run. Great sized bathroom and lovely toiletries supplied.
While this hotel is not within the City Circle, it is only a 5-7 minute walk to Fed Square, or Spring St through the lovely Treasury Gardens.
We were able to store our luggage for a late departure to the airport without hassle. The only downside was that the hotel bar was not open on Sunday afternoon and there is no where else in the local vicinity to have a drink or get a snack.
Top points to the housekeeping staff who thoughtfully replaced our football supporters gear that we had laid out on the bed - I didn't expect the room to be serviced for such a basic price, so that was a lovely surprise.

Room Tip: Studio room is ample for a short stay but if you like a bit more leg room I would recommend a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your most recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that we ticked all the boxes for you to experience an enjoyable stay.
I hope your Team was a winner on the day!

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My friend and I had an overnight stay at the Mantra on Jolimont recently. We found the location was perfect as we could easily walk to Federation Square or the top end of the city for coffee, restaurants etc. The accommodation itself also suited us nicely. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was very comfortable. The only problem was that the hot water took a very long time to run hot. Service at the Mantra was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. It was pleasing to read that our Hotel provided comfortable accommodation for your stay as well as be well located for your requirements whilst in Melbourne.

Our thanks again for taking he time to comment and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, they were both self contained (both had separate kitchens and bathrooms) with a corridor/ doors separating the two.

The hotel was really nice,but the room service was totally non-existent, which was disappointing because the menu looked really good. We tried to order several times but the phone just rang out.

It would have been nice if the spa and pool were heated a little more, it was supposed to be heated but it was too cold to get in!

The location is really good though, close to the MCG and about a 10 minute walk to the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay with us. I was happy to read that the property suited your needs and provided a good base for your stay.
I will also follow up why the room service was not answering, their service is normally fantastic.

Thank you again for your comments.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Due to last minute changes in my work schedule, i had to extend my stay in Melbourne for couple more nights and I booked this place via booking.com for $125 AUD a night which I thought was ok considering it was in melbourne cbd and close to public transport.
Check in was smooth-ish..the receptionist was nice n friendly but she could have organised someone to take my 2 big bags up to my room. Room was spacious enough for me and it waa generally clean until i stepped into the shower and found a strand of hair on the floor and one more on the towel rail, so sadly that does affect the rating I give this place (would have given 4 stars otherwise). Otherwise, the bed was comfy and room (stayed in a studio) had all the facilities I wanted - kitchenette, work desk , broadband ($15 AUD for 2 hrs i think - similar to what i had paid when I stayed at The Langham). I would have like to have received complimentary shower gel during my stay - the body lotion and conditioner are of no use to me !
The place itself needs a bit of a spruce up and like another member has pointed out - there is a note left in the room stating that maintenace is underway, but nothing major.

Location is great, close to trams and metro and flinders st station is only a 15 min walk away.

I might be willing to come back and stay if the rates were a bit cheaper than what I had paid as i thought it wasnt great value for money. Overall, ok place, good service but they need to address a couple of little things I have mentioned above

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for offering your comments on your recent stay with us on this site. I was pleased with the positive comments you made, however concerned with the inconsistencies relating to housekeeping and these have been addressed with the Executive Housekeeper to review.
I accept your comments relating to porterage, however this is not a service that we provide and unfortunately we would not have had a person available upon checkin to assist, we do however provide trolleys and this could have been communicated better.
I thank you for your comments and we continue to review all feedback with a view to improve all areas of our property.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in one of the two bedroom apartments with our 2 adult daughters. It was well appointed and of a very good size. Cant recommend it highly enough for an MCG excursion. There was a complete kitchen with all the required cutlery and crockery also.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for offering your feedback on your recent stay with us at Mantra on Jolimont. I was delighted to read that the two bedroom apartment suited your needs for the weekend, we agree that it is perfect for such a visit.
We hope to welcome you again when you are next in Melbourne.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Jolimont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Jolimont

Address: 133 Jolimont Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Jolimont 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra on Jolimont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Jolimont Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Jolimont East Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Jolimont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.