We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a bit noisy and outdated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albert Heights Serviced Apartments

Save Saved
You added Albert Heights Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Albert Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia (Formerly Albert Heights Executive Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great location but a bit noisy and outdated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed in Albert Heights for 3 nights in a premier one-bed on the 2nd floor. Staff was welcoming and pleasant and the location is great; The unit is a decent size and the queen bed comfortable. Overall, the place could do with redecoration (especially the bathroom) and the furniture look cheap and tired. Traffic noise comes through unless you shut all the windows and since the air-con is in the lounge (but not in the bedroom) the bedroom gets hot and stifling very quickly. The price we paid ($141 per night with the place not overly busy) seems adequate rather than a bargain.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    22
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
14
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here overnight on Melbourne cup eve . We booked in person at reception before hand . Like all Melb accommodation on cup eve we found this a bit expensive for what you get but i guess any other night it may be reasonable . Reception .. check in and check out was easy quick and very friendly and helpful .The lounge / kitchen and bedroom was big enough and clean with plenty of natural light . The bath / shower and toilet was only just ok . Again it was clean but really needs renovating .
Our room was on the ground next to the car park which became a bit noisy early morning but again another night it might be fine but if i stay again i would request a higher room on the western side maybe .
The location is close to hospitals , gardens and not to far to the city ...cost $10 for a cab ride to Southern Cross Rail station so the top of the city would be a pleasant walk through the gardens and park .
We eat out in Smith St and was an easy walk .... there is a convenice store , liquor store , pizza and fish & chips shops directly opposite as you walk through to Victoria pde.
Its no 5 star but next time i am in Melbourne i will definitely stay here or at least consider the Albert Heights Apartments

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

These apartments are located in a very central part of Melbourne, just off the CBD and walking distance to many major attractions and health services. However, there is certainly nothing luxury about this hotel. While it is mostly clean and functional, the one bedroom apartment we stayed in is was only just above basic with very dated furniture, cheap bathroom and kitchen fit outs, and a kitchen that only just met the needs of myself and young family (no oven or dishwasher, minimal cooking utensils and only a two element stove top and microwave). The front room with sofa bed was fitted with blinds that barely kept out the light from the street and needs block out blinds installed. Their policy of classing adults as anyone over 1 year of age and the extra charge applied made the tariff expensive for the type of apartment on offer.

Overall it was ok, but don't expect much except a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma_AlbertHeights, General Manager at Albert Heights Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sicklizards

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am truly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. I have passed on your comments about the in-room facilities to the owner. We will definitely take it into consideration when refurbishment takes place.

Once again, thank you for sharing. Your feedback is very important to us. It is our hope that we can have another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards

Samuel Sun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with hubby and 2 kids. Was great and very close to city - just a short walk through Fitzroy gardens which are great for kids.

Being so close I thought it would be noisier at night but no, was great. Slept well - kitchen was great...all facilities well kept.

Not a lot of parking but its free and sufficient. Was a busy weekend but still managed a spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma_AlbertHeights, General Manager at Albert Heights Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Dyza72

Thank you for sharing the pleasant experience you have had recently at the Albert Heights Serviced Apartment.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am glade that you have enjoyed everything we can offer, and the location has also assisted in making your stay more convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. I trust that your next stay will be as pleasant as this one.

Kind regards

Samuel Sun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights recently. The rooms are great and the kitchenette facility very handy. It was nice and quiet.
The car park is a little squeezy, my car mirror got scratched by another car during my visit.
My only negative is that the maid did a shocking job of cleaning our rooms. The bed wasn't made and the floors weren't vacuumed. Wouldn't bother me so much except we were paying for a serviced apartment.
That being my only negative, I would stay here again considering the great location and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I should have read a few reviews on here before booking this apartment as I booked it based solely on the website photos which look a lot nicer than the apartments do in reality.
We stayed her for one night, which happened to be a Friday with both rugby and AFL on, so the the rate for the room was rather high.
The place was clean and warm but a bit run down and a bit noisy, you could hear street noise and people walking around in the upper level rooms.
If I was going over for a mid week stay in a more off peak time I would stay here again as the rate is much lower.
A few things I'd like to see would be hand towels and face washers.

Room Tip: a room on the top level would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We always stay here in Melbourne and have done for more than 20 years. The apartments are quite well designed and situated around a leafy courtyard. Traffic noise can be a problem in the front area. Staff are friendly and helpful. Off street parking and convenient food shops and public transport make this a really good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back on an upper floor to minimise street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albert Heights Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Heights Serviced Apartments

Also Known As:
Albert Heights Executive Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Albert Heights Executive Apartments Hotel
Address: 83 Albert Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia (Formerly Albert Heights Executive Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert Heights Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Albert Heights Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert Heights Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.