We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Como - superb, but what about housekeeping?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #20 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Como - superb, but what about housekeeping?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Loved the ambience, room was immaculate, value for money, great location, not noisy at all. We loved it for a shopping weekend. Only thing was we never got house-keeping, and didn't think to ask them about it as we were so busy!!! Overall, a beautiful hotel x

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    190
    65
    20
    12
See reviews for
93
291
53
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Convenient location, comfortable bed, useful facilities. I also loved the Jacuzzi in my own room. Highly recommend if you are looking for travelers looking to explore the south side of Melbourne. You can also enjoy a nice morning running by the Yarra River.

Wi-Fi can be very expensive. No free Wi-Fi in the room.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The perfect place to get away from home right in the heart of South Yarra.
We stayed here while we went to see Lion King in the city. When we got back, our bags were in our room! A very nice touch rather than having to wait for our bags to be brought up. The room was spacious and so quiet even though we were right on Chapel St. Definitely looking forward to have more time to make use of the amazing roof top pool area on our next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor (level 6).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Director of Sales at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear lizm1962

Many thanks for your very positive review and 5 star rating.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to take full advantage of our great South Yarra location. We hope you will get a chance to use all our facilities on a relaxing future visit.

Kind Regards

John Korkou
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had hesitated between The Olsen and Como and decided to stay here due to ACCOR Platinum membership affiliation (+ no form of recognition as member were accorded). Requested via email before arrival date for one king/large bed but 2 twin bed (joint together) was assigned - worst, the mattress on one side sunk (should not happened in such hotel category). Apart from its well situated location on Chapel Street, nothing to shout about the hotel (decor, amenities etc).

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Director of Sales at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Bebe1969

As a Loyalty member, you are indeed our most valued guest and it is evident that we did not show this on your recent stay with us. Please accept my apology.

We certainly strive to provide the best quality service and experience and it is disappointing to read they were not up to standard. I appreciate all you have made mention of as it allows us to continually improve.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards

John Korkou
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I use to stay at The Como when it was minimalist and everything was either black or white. Since joining Accor it has had a style update. Still distinctly modern, but less austere. The rooms are large and well appointed. Staff are friendly and professional. Large indoor pool and reasonably euipped, but small gym. Hotel is $10 taxi from CBD, and $15? to St Kilda. There are also trams to both outside the hotel. Chapel St is famous for "high street" shopping. It gets funkier toward Commercial Rd and Prahran, and more conservative toward Toorak. E Cucina, one of Melbourne's best Italian restaurants, is <100m from Como. There are numerous good cafes in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for Japanese garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Director of Sales at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear JoanneSydney

Thank you for your great review! I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and like the changes we have made to the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

John Korkou
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coomera, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Maybe I've got used to poor service because the quality of service from the staff at The Como was truly outstanding that it really stood out. All of the reception staff were incredibly helpful, friendly, accommodating and above all professional. Quality staff of this calibre make The Como worth staying at just to experience their professionalism. Unfortunately like many Australian hotels their dining and bar options were limited and we did dine in the hotel at all. We did use the bar once which was okay but in all honesty with the proliferation of great restaurants in South Yarra we were spoilt for dining options anyhow. The room we had was spacious and perfectly furnished to the point we had enough seats to hold two business meetings in the room. Overall it was a perfect 3 nights here with the proximity to everything you can think of in regard to transport, restaurants, boutique shopping and the bike trails of the Yarra River. We will use this hotel when next in Melbourne as its a perfect location away from the city.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Director of Sales at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Gary M

Thank you for your fantastic review, we really appreciate the positive comments!
I am pleased your stay was perfect, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

John Korkou
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chapel St has lost its pizazzzz as has the Como. Its a good 4 star hotel experience.

It was blah blah blah blah.

Nothing stood out that is memorable. It wasn't great and wasn't bad.

Not what it used to be. I am even finding it hard to write the minimum 200 character review. Trip advisor needs.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Director of Sales at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Mike S
I was really sorry to read that overall you did not enjoy your visit to South Yarra.
We look forward to standing out for all the right reasons next time should you choose to visit us again.
We do hope to have the opportunity!
If I can assist with any future booking do not hesitate to contact me directly on H8801-sl@accor.com.

Regards

John Korkou
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Como Melbourne is located in the heart of vibrant South Yarra, Melbourne’s renowned dining, entertainment and fashion district.This stylish hotel combines up market chic with discreet charm, exemplary facilities and outstanding service.The Como Melbourne features contemporary minimalistic design and urban style. From the tranquil Japanese gardens to the lively ambience of SOBar, this distinctly boutique hotel offers discrete, suite accommodation that characterises this stylish area of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.