We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy part of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    159
    53
    17
    10
See reviews for
73
240
47
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Checkout couldn't have come quick enough . Rooms sub-par, housekeeping disgusting and breakfast un eatable . Staff looked unhappy and over worked, management a joke when trying to address my issues. Next time I'll be staying at the Olsen .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Apurcey
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sincerely apologetic that we did not meet expectations; I do appreciate all you have made mention of and have shared your review with the team. I am sure it will serve as a reminder to us all and allow us to continue to improve our services to our guests.

I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in relation to your stay should you wish to.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
main beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Como is in the ideal location for a night out in the Chapel street precinct-walking distance to some fabulous restaurants and The Jam Factory ( for movie lovers )...
Arrival greetings always set the tone for our stay so we were totally bewildered by the arrogant attitude of the front desk clerk Mitchell,who frankly gave us the impression that we were annoying his daily routine of rudeness whilst checking in...!!!
We had several problems with our room...mirrors covered in dust and an air-conditioning breakdown but thankfully we had "the" most professional ,courteous and humorous supervisor on our checkout...
Christopher couldn't apologize enough re our complaints ( including Mitchell's attitude ) and adjusted our bill generously...We were very impressed with his show of care re our stay and will definitely be returning regardless of our hiccups...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear estwayne
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sincerely apologetic that your impression of our hotel is not to the standard we expect.

I do appreciate all you have made mention of and have shared your review with the team. I am sure it will serve as a reminder to us all and allow us to continue to improve our services to our guests.

I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in relation to your stay should you wish to and I do hope we have are afforded the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely stay, the front desk staff (Dianna) couldn't be more helpful. We were lucky to be upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite wow a very stylish apartment, everything that a 5 star hotel should have, spotlessly clean and modern. I agree with other review the smell in the foyer is pretty rank, i feel so sorry for the front desk staff they must go home each night with headaches. We enjoyed cocktails in the bar which was comfortable but the smell from the foyer was there. A great location, looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear deb255100
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us and that you felt well looked after – Diana is such a lovely person and she is thrilled to read your review also.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights a few weeks ago. I ordered a spa room, that had had a resent renovation. The room was clean and comfortable, but a little uninspiring. This hotel was not built for a person with disabilities, or for even those with luggage, very difficult to negotiate the stairs. The smell in the foyer is very overpowering and awful!

The staff although very polite were undertrained and inexperienced. The car was not brought up when ordered, the taxi did not arrive when promised and to stand in the foyer for 30 minutes trying to check out was highly irritating. There is not the possibility for express even though I paid in advance.

I was also disappointed in the breakfast bar. The cold buffet adequate and quite nice, the hot food I found inedible.

I found this hotel very expensive and could have got a special at the Park Hyatt for a similar amount, there is no comparison in the quality.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Marlzi
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sincerely apologetic that we did not meet expectations; I do appreciate all you have made mention of and have shared your review with the team. I am sure it will serve as a reminder to us all and allow us to continue to improve our services to all our guests.

In relation to the stairs from the lobby, we do have a limited mobility lift to the side of the stairs to assist with luggage and also anyone who may require. I am sincerely sorry that this was not offered to help you.

I do hope we have are afforded the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards


Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our suite at the Como was very large and overlooked a lovely little park. The location of the hotel is fantastic. And I'm sorry to say that's about the extent of the positives.
The lobby is hard to navigate with bags (stairs) and has an unpleasant odor from the water fountain. The construction in front of the hotel is a drag.
The service by the afternoon/evening staff was a bit of a mess. Checkin was efficient and friendly but then things went downhill. We asked how long it would take to get to a certain restaurant, and they nicely suggested they'd call us a taxi for the appointed time. But then they didn't call one for us. Not a big deal to walk to the nearby cab rank but wish they'd told us to do so before we waited for 10mins for a cab that was not coming.
We asked if someone could grab our laundry from the dryer while we were at dinner. We know this is not in the normal line of duty and were very appreciative when they said they would. When we got back 3hrs later the laundry was still in the dryer. Another request ignored. If you're not going to do something just say so. Strange to smile and say "no problem" and then not do it.
I will say that the two men on duty at 5:30am were great - efficient, helpful and responsive. They should be promoted to prime time.
Our TVs all went off at 3:15am for no reason, which was a particular drag ahead of our 5am wakeup.
The gym was small, smelly and filled with old rusty equipment. Very disappointing.
Wifi is $24 a day and calls to the States are almost $7/minute - what?!
We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear eh555
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I sincerely apologise that it was not up to standard and that you experienced a number of issues during your time with us. It is certainly not the way that we would like to be remembered.

I have shared your review with the team to provide them with clear examples of how we have not succeeded in our delivery of service.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Como Melbourne is located in the heart of vibrant South Yarra, Melbourne’s renowned dining, entertainment and fashion district.This stylish hotel combines up market chic with discreet charm, exemplary facilities and outstanding service.The Como Melbourne features contemporary minimalistic design and urban style. From the tranquil Japanese gardens to the lively ambience of SOBar, this distinctly boutique hotel offers discrete, suite accommodation that characterises this stylish area of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.