We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly staff and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really friendly staff and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The first night was the Pullman in Albert Park (refer review) and then I moved across to the Como. The hotel was upgrading the exterior but the staff were very helpful letting me unload in the small space - I had my bike and gear to get to the room. Again the valet is a good option for only a small amount more and is a fixed charge rather than the fee in self parking which is per entry. Room was much nicer the bed more comfortable and the pillows soft. The halls have a sort of retro Art deco thing happening but the room décor was very nice even if erring on the functional side. Location is great in south Yarra close to restaurants etc and good shopping at the boutique sort of shops so much better for a couple or family than for business. Would love to spend more time here but needed to get back to the real world after my ride around the bay.
The breakfast in the café was very nice - I had the big breakfast which was just ideal for the road trip - eggs and bacon perfectly cooked with home made hash browns, sautéed mushrooms and grilled tomato.

Room Tip: The suites are very large and close to elevators if available are a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    145
    49
    16
    10
See reviews for
63
216
44
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Arrived at 2am due to a late flight, staff couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating. Thank you to the lovely Canadian/Australian who checked us in. We were both exhausted and the free upgrade and the late check out was very much appreciated. After 8 weeks in SE Asia the uber comfortable bed and a deep bath were utter luxury. Very quiet considering the location. Within walking distance to some great eateries for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed on a Tuesday night during renovations to the façade and other exterior areas making access by my shuttle bus impossible during pouring rain. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Access to the lifts is ridiculous (down a set of marble/travertine stairs alongside a very wet and sloppy fountain which spills onto the stairs). The room was great, really. No view but a great room with separate lounge. No pillow options which was disappointing as the pillows on offer were not the best. No in-room directory was anywhere to be found and the modern 'luxury' was lacking a personal touch. Maybe some chocolates on the bed/fresh flowers on the bed and some pizzazz or something a little different to the little blue duck would make a big difference. Overall, quite comfortable but not amazing. I am sure there are many better for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Auckland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for three nights recently on business. As the title suggests, the bedrooms are huge, with probably the largest wall mirror I've seen in a hotel room ( so big it was propped against the wall, no nails big enough to hold it!), great bathroom and all very clean. Very soft and comortable bed and thats the first time I've seen a bath menu...you can book a butler to come and run you a luxury bath with super special products which make you look twenty years younger and are the answer to eternal youthfulness etc etc...at a price of course.
However this places just lacked something, the buffet breakfast area was cramped and all hot breakfasts had to be ordered instead of buffet ( good on one hand because its cooked fresh, but it took a while to get to my table and that ain't great when you have limited time available). Hats off to the restaurant staff, very pleasant and helpful, especially the Chinese and Scottish ladies, well done you two! The main entrance was under refurbishment which detracted slightly from first mpressions, but the big let down was the constant smell in the lobby reception area, almost sewage like. I suspect the indoor water fountain might have been due a clean out, but that area had a whiff about it throughout my whole stay, not overbearing but not pleasant either. Handy location for shopping if that's your thing. I know a lot of celebs stay there, but for me, it was nice enough but nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great big rooms, hip, trendy and ultra modern, perfect location for shopping in Chapel st. You will like this hotel if you like ultra modern, sleek furnishings. Highly recommended for the fashionistas out there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

had an overnight stay on the 9th of Oct.. Excellent place to stay if your doing business in Melb.. easy to get in and out of than most hotels in the city.. Staff were lovely, especially the ladies in reception.. Room service is the fastest i've ever experienced and the pasta and prawn dish i ordered one of the best i've ever tasted.. my compliments to the chef!.. of course, you have a great selection of cafe's and restaurants in the area.(shout out to Frozen around the corner- great place for a quick extraordinary ice cream treat!).... Great size and quiet rooms, especially the ones that face the internal park.. only suggestion to the hotel would be to have a pillow menu (please!) as this would then make it the only place i would ever check in to when visiting melb..

Room Tip: choose one facing internal park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Como Melbourne Hotel
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Como Melbourne is located in the heart of vibrant South Yarra, Melbourne’s renowned dining, entertainment and fashion district.This stylish hotel combines up market chic with discreet charm, exemplary facilities and outstanding service.The Como Melbourne features contemporary minimalistic design and urban style. From the tranquil Japanese gardens to the lively ambience of SOBar, this distinctly boutique hotel offers discrete, suite accommodation that characterises this stylish area of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.