We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Booked for 1 night midweek (after a dreadful stay at a Southbank 4 star the 4 nights prior). The outside of the building is undergoing some renovation but there was a helpful lot attendant to direct us (valet or self park within the building). We were surprised with an upgrade to a 2 room suite at check in (and that was on top of an already great deal from Agoda). It was large, modern, spotlessly clean, and well appointed. Bed and pillows were comfortable and room was dead quiet. Dual temperature controls ensures each room maintained comfortable temperature. Large soaker spa tub with plenty of hot water to fill it (bath menu was a little pricey so I just made bubble with shower gel). Toiletries smelled lovely and were a generous size. Staff were professional and room service was delivered promptly. Shopping, cafes & transport on doorstep. On departure I left some items in the closet. When I realized 2 days later and called for them housekeeping had them waiting for pick up. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    145
    49
    16
    10
See reviews for
63
216
44
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We are at the end of a week long stay at the Como. The rooms themselves are large and nicely decorated. The studio suites are good for a couple with one child as the hotel will set up a roll away bed in the separate office area, thus allowing the adults to stay up later and watch tv without keeping a child awake. The hotel is blissfully quiet, with no traffic noise during any of our stays.

The staff are terrifically friendly, and the hotel location is great for shopping and a range of restaurants and cafés.

There are a few things that are inconsistent, particularly with housekeeping. Because we had a toaster in the room, we used it each morning to feed our daughter. This meant we washed dishes and used the detergent provided. House keeping did not always replace the detergent. They also didn't check how low the tissues were, and we ran out. Towel numbers varied. The bins were not always emptied. Tea bags weren't always replenished.

Instant coffee - in such a nice hotel - why? Nespresso machines are cheap, and a selection of pods could be provided. Similar hotels in Melbourne do this - think Sofitel. T2 tea bags should be matched with quality coffee not Nescafé!

We were disappointed in the hotel breakfast. Particularly for the price. The scrambled eggs, bacon and hash browns could have been served in a downmarket cafe. Asked on the presentation and huge size. It could feed two people easily but wasn't very nice. Without the option of just toast and coffee, we ended up paying over $50 for a continental breakfast and the egg disaster for two of us, and neither of us really enjoyed it. Hence we started doing cereal and toast in the room (there's a Woolworths just down the road), and going to the Laurent bakery next door in the Como centre for a croissant and coffee. There are quite a few cafés nearby who would do a cooked breakfast if that's what you're after.

I think the hotel is quite good value for money - though be aware valet parking is $35. We love valet, and the price is consistent with US valet parking, but if you're not so lazy there's self parking, for a price, next door.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Well done Como. Its been many years since I've stayed with you and after our Melbourne 4 night stay last week, we'll be back. Staff are so friendly and accommodating and we love the large rooms.

We didn't get an opportunity to try the bar etc, but next time.

One suggestion please: the water features in the foyer give the hotel a bit of a damp smell. Other than that, well done.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My stay at the Como hotel was fantastic from the start. I managed to secure an awesome deal through Agoda.com saving me valuable shopping money although the hotel it's self is worth it's rack rate and I would of happily paid this had I have not found the special. I arrived in Melbourne on a dreaded red eye flight at 6am so by the time I reached the hotel at 7am I was shattered. The hotel staff assisted me with my booking and checked me into the room early so that I could rest. When I reached my room I was shocked at the size, fantastic sized room with plenty of space funky/elegant room designs with view of outside gardens and a massive spa bath. Would definitely stay here time and time again! Thanks for a wonderful stay team!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had my second stay at the Como in early September and was, again, very happy with the property. This stay I was given a significant upgrade and had a very large suite with both a lounge room and a bedroom. Really comfortable bed and really nice bathroom - even a complimentary rubber duck that I took home for my son. The shower head unfortunately is not the best, which is the only downside in a great bathroom. Also, still a little surprised that in room wifi is not included and charged extra, although I've now read that as an Accor LeClub Gold member, this will now be included at no charge in all Accor properties - great!. All in all, a great stay for business and I'll be coming back again soon.
Side note - stayed for a third time late September and took home another duck for my son!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Como Melbourne Hotel
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Como Melbourne is located in the heart of vibrant South Yarra, Melbourne’s renowned dining, entertainment and fashion district.This stylish hotel combines up market chic with discreet charm, exemplary facilities and outstanding service.The Como Melbourne features contemporary minimalistic design and urban style. From the tranquil Japanese gardens to the lively ambience of SOBar, this distinctly boutique hotel offers discrete, suite accommodation that characterises this stylish area of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.