We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and stylish.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and stylish.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Big rooms, clean well appointed Great location. Close to trams and CBD. Movie theatre very close if you have time to kill. Big bathrooms with big fluffy towels. Many excellent restaurants close by. Try the Greek restaurant about 500 metres from the Como. Five mins to train station but you need to purchase an oyster card.

Room Tip: A twenty minute walk to Melb CBD. But can takes up to 45 mins in a taxi during peak hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear mmperthWA
Many thanks for your review of The Como Melbourne. We are delighted you enjoyed our large suites and the great location we are in. We hope you had enough time to explore…

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    174
    60
    19
    11
See reviews for
80
265
49
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great location in south Yarra near lots of shopping, cares and so forth. Staff very friendly and professional. Rooms very big with little kitchen, coffee and tea making facilities and good size bathroom. Not sure about morrissey bathroom products but they were there so shampoo etc provided if required. Breakfast area is a bit soulless and as usual my complaint with hotel breakfasts is that the range of commercial cereals is poor and unhealthy and I hate toasted muesli- ha!

Room Tip: All rooms seem pretty good mine was 316 very quiet even though has window on to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear suezzerk
Many thanks for your review of The Como Melbourne. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us however I am disappointed to see we did not exceed your expectations in regards to breakfast. I appreciate your commentary and have passed this on to the relevant department.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very hard to complain as the online deal we obtained was terrific, so felt like we stole a few nights at the Como. Enjoy the extra space in the rooms, my only criticisms are related to the the usual, why o why cannot internet be included, and here we are in melbourne and the hotel has not chosen to have the FoxFooty channel - which means had to duck off to the pub to watch the AFL.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear drsmiparso
Many thanks for your review of The Como Melbourne. I am extremely sorry we did not meet all your expectations but appreciate the time you have taken to let us know so we are able to make improvements in the future.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our first experience of the The Como Hotel and we were certainly not disappointed. Checkin was efficient and friendly, made better by the complememtary coffee we were offered while our luggage was taken to our suite. The hotel is of a different shape so you don't get the long sterile corridors of big chain hotels and the decore is bright and interesting. Big bowls of apples and pears were available at the desk at all times.
Our suite was large, bright and clean with windows overlooking Chapel St on one side and a park on the other. The suite was well appointed but definitely for two people only, ie 2 cups, 2 plates etc.
Lovely bedroom with a big comfortable bed, TV set, big fluffy robes and slippers. Nice living area with table and chairs apart from a comfortable settee and a good sized desk if you need to work in the suite..
Nice bathroom with separate bath and shower, good quality toileteries and nice fluffy towels.
Sobar is a great place for after work drinks while The Brasseire is a great place for breakfast. Dinner is only available in room, but this is no problem with the multitude of restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: I doubt that there are any substandard rooms in this hotel but certainly the suites with windows on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Schlepper1939

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our little touches like the apples and pears and complimentary coffee at reception on check in too. We hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Excellent service from the get-go. Loved every part of the experience. The rooms are really spacious and the location is a winner - in close proximity to some great Melbourne restaurants. I'd definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Sydneyph

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy more of this great location.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've been staying at the Como for about 12 years now, and the place is still rocking. The rooms are very funky, dark carpets, fluffy bathrobes and a nice felt-covered lounge. Bowl of fruit, with apples and pears greets you at the reception desk, nice touch. About half an hour of free WiFi in lobby per day, or if you need more Internet time, you can use the business centre. Nice and quiet . Fab location, close to tram stop and South Yarra train stop. Great shopping and eateries at your doorstep, as well as the Palace Cinema within spitting distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Lou665

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Como Melbourne. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We love our new cosy bathrobes too. We hope we can welcome you back soon to enjoy more of what is to offer in our great location.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Even though this was a freebie from Advantage Plus, we were treated with complete courtesy from the hotel staff from the front desk staff to the guys looking after your car in valet parking. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. Breakfast was served in a delightful little room overlooking a pleasant courtyard and was very good value for the price charged. The final pleasing gesture from the hotel was after making our way to our car, carefully parked outside the entrance in a position that was ready to drive away, the hotel staff had put two bottles of ice water in the front of the car for our drive that day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Kcfall

Thank you for taking the time to review The Como Melbourne. As a part of Accor Hotels, we are delighted to welcome all of our Advantage Plus Members, we do hope that you had a chance to sample our Harvest menu in The Brasserie for breakfast. We are so pleased that your stay was memorable and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Como Melbourne is located in the heart of vibrant South Yarra, Melbourne’s renowned dining, entertainment and fashion district.This stylish hotel combines up market chic with discreet charm, exemplary facilities and outstanding service.The Como Melbourne features contemporary minimalistic design and urban style. From the tranquil Japanese gardens to the lively ambience of SOBar, this distinctly boutique hotel offers discrete, suite accommodation that characterises this stylish area of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.