We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. The ultra modern style wasn't completely my thing, but the suite was very big and worked well for couple plus child. I particularly wanted to mention the staff. Every interaction was pleasant, and without exception they were smiling and helpful. It really makes a difference!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear MarinaCanberra

Thank you for taking the time to review The Como Melbourne. We are delighted that you loved our service and large suites – they are so roomy and just perfect for families. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    159
    53
    17
    10
See reviews for
73
240
47
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Currently sat in my hotel room on my last nights stay in this hotel, everything has been to the highest quality and as others have already mentioned the suites are excellent, with beds that you need a map for to navigate across as they are huge.

The staff are very accommodating and friendly from reception to room service.

A particular mention to Rebecca (Bec) who has got to be the happiest person I have ever met. Nothing seems to phase her, I contacted the hotel a week before my arrival and Bec dealt with my call, during my stay I happened to mentioned to her that I had spoken to her two weeks earlier from the UK and she even referred to me by name. Great customer service!

The hotel is a 9.8 out of 10 for cleanliness, the only criticism I can have would lie around the mould/mildew behind the glass in the shower cubicle but other than removing that glass panel there is no way to clean that.

The food is of a high quality, fresh produce, it is a little on the expensive side but that is expected in a 4+ star hotel in a lucrative area of the city.

I did look at various hotels prior to this visit but I am glad a ended up here and would I highly recommend to anyone.

The gym/pool facilities do exist but to be honest I only made it there a couple of times and it isn't the biggest, that said on the first occasion I was there on my own and the second only one other.

**Warning** If you close the blackout curtains SET an ALARM, I failed to do this and lost several hours of my day as these blackout curtains really do the job and for someone that is a very light sleeper that is an achievement.

Room Tip: If not bothered about the view then room 614 looks onto a small garden area. Quite frankly, the blac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Neil C

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are so privileged to work with such a fantastic and enthusiastic team that thrive on providing the service that you received. We have noted your comments with regards to the shower and have escalated this to our maintenance department. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Melbourne and have passed on your praise to the team. Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review, we greatly appreciate it.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Couldn't fault any aspect of our stay, many thanks to the staff for going out of their way assist us-especially with my wife's dietary requirements. Will (and have) recommend this property to friends.
Jase and Jane

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Meester-Holmez

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your needs. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was disappointed as the cleanliness of the room was poor and as soon as we entered the hotel there was someone's underwear (men's jockey) lying near the mattress.Also the dustbin in the bathroom was full of dirt and looks like haven't cleaned at all.Expected a lot more for the price I paid!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Christopher_tomichen

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I sincerely apologise that the cleanliness of your room was not as it should be. We have escalated this to our housekeeping department and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused and assure you that this is not our normal standard. We do hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future and ensure that you receive our usual service and standards.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

In Melbourne for a week and stayed at the Como in a one bedroom suite. Fantastic rooms. The bed and pillows were soooo comfortable.
Loved having the extra space with the lounge room and balcony.
Staff are professional and friendly, nothing was a problem to them.
Great to have valet parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sharonjoymc

Thank you for your review, we love our fantastic oversized One Bedroom Suites too. We do take a great deal of care in the warm and hospitable service we provide so I am delighted to read you felt that from our team. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was my 2nd time staying at the Como, it was even better than my first time there.
From the moment you walk in you know you're staying somewhere special. The staff a just wonderful, friendly and extremely attentive. After hello you are offered an espresso ... Fantastic.
The hotel is exceptionally clean and bright. It doesn't compare to any other 5 star hotel I've been to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Kylie D

We are so pleased to have had the opportunity to welcome you back. It is the little touches like the complimentary espresso on check-in that we pride ourselves on along with the fantastic work our team do to ensure every guest is made to feel at home. Thank you for your lovely review.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived it was plain to see this would be a great place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff, who when told on check-in that it was our wedding anniversary, immediately organised a complmentary bottle of sparkling to be sent to our room arriving just minutes after we first entered it. On entering the large room we were immediately struck by its spaciousness and quality fittings and made to feel at home with a welcoming note, drink voucher and chocolates. Being right on Chapel St (which our room overlooked) and all it has to offer, we had immediate access to restaurants, shopping and public transport so didn't need the car.
It was a terrific few days, accentuated by the quality of the room and the excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Peterandanne56

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful wedding anniversary stay with us and we were able to spoil you little with a bottle of sparkling. As you know, we are located in such a fantastic position on Chapel Street, we do hope to be able to welcome you back soon to discover more of what the local area has to offer.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Como Melbourne is located in the heart of vibrant South Yarra, Melbourne’s renowned dining, entertainment and fashion district.This stylish hotel combines up market chic with discreet charm, exemplary facilities and outstanding service.The Como Melbourne features contemporary minimalistic design and urban style. From the tranquil Japanese gardens to the lively ambience of SOBar, this distinctly boutique hotel offers discrete, suite accommodation that characterises this stylish area of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.