We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family wedding preparations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Family wedding preparations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

In Melbourne for a week and stayed at the Como in a one bedroom suite. Fantastic rooms. The bed and pillows were soooo comfortable.
Loved having the extra space with the lounge room and balcony.
Staff are professional and friendly, nothing was a problem to them.
Great to have valet parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sharonjoymc

Thank you for your review, we love our fantastic oversized One Bedroom Suites too. We do take a great deal of care in the warm and hospitable service we provide so I am delighted to read you felt that from our team. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    167
    55
    17
    10
See reviews for
78
252
49
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was my 2nd time staying at the Como, it was even better than my first time there.
From the moment you walk in you know you're staying somewhere special. The staff a just wonderful, friendly and extremely attentive. After hello you are offered an espresso ... Fantastic.
The hotel is exceptionally clean and bright. It doesn't compare to any other 5 star hotel I've been to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Kylie D

We are so pleased to have had the opportunity to welcome you back. It is the little touches like the complimentary espresso on check-in that we pride ourselves on along with the fantastic work our team do to ensure every guest is made to feel at home. Thank you for your lovely review.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived it was plain to see this would be a great place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff, who when told on check-in that it was our wedding anniversary, immediately organised a complmentary bottle of sparkling to be sent to our room arriving just minutes after we first entered it. On entering the large room we were immediately struck by its spaciousness and quality fittings and made to feel at home with a welcoming note, drink voucher and chocolates. Being right on Chapel St (which our room overlooked) and all it has to offer, we had immediate access to restaurants, shopping and public transport so didn't need the car.
It was a terrific few days, accentuated by the quality of the room and the excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Peterandanne56

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful wedding anniversary stay with us and we were able to spoil you little with a bottle of sparkling. As you know, we are located in such a fantastic position on Chapel Street, we do hope to be able to welcome you back soon to discover more of what the local area has to offer.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed after not been to Melbourne for some time. The staff were amazing and so accommodating, nothing was too much for them. I stayed in an open plan suite and it was just so spacious. The hotel had a theme running with lots of local harvest items, the corn fritters were divine and I just loved the beetroot, carrot and ginger juice that was a part of their Harvest Special menu. I previously stayed at another hotel on Chapel Street but the size of the rooms and service leave them for dead. Will be back- thanks so much!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear ScouseSA

Thank you for your lovely review of The Como Melbourne. We are very proud of our Harvest installation and are thrilled you enjoyed your breakfast with us. One of our greatest assets, along with our fantastic staff, is the size of our suites, so we are pleased that you loved our Open Plan Suite. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent 7 nights here from 31/3/13 in Room 525, a one bedroom suite. The room was well laid out and a good rate. The kitchen was more a kitchenette with a sink and microwave only – not what I expected. The bathroom was wonderful and the bath amazing. The bed although a tad hard was very comfortable and the pillows were very good.
There were a few downs, the shelves in the bathroom were very dusty and I cleaned these myself, we had no milk in the fridge on arrival and it was not replaced each day and the glass ware was not washed twice, I would be happy to do it – but I use a dishwasher at home and expect the same if I am to be self-sufficient in a hotel. The main issue I had was with the advantage plus card not been accepted on Easter Monday as I was told it was a public holiday and not accepted – there are several days each year where the card is not accepted – none of these are aver Easter so I had to point out the terms and conditions to the staff – educating Accor staff is not what I do, although if Accor want to give me a job doing tis I am open to offers 
The staff were excellent and the valet parking was easy and fast. The hotel is in a great location and easy to get to on public transport and so much shopping close by along with some great restaurants – and best of all Burch & Purchase is across the road.
The pool area looked very nice but I didn’t use the pool – very nice setup though. The elevators and room keys fail a lot - the Hotel is in the process of upgrading the cards and card readers so this issue should dissapear soom - we changed keys several times durign our stay,
Rooms need better coffee or a Nespresso machine – I do expect more from this level of establishment – but will happily stay there again.

Room Tip: THe bath is amazing - pay the extra and get a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Drew Jones

Thank you for taking the time to review The Como Melbourne. I am sorry that your One Bedroom Suite was not exactly as you had expected with regards to the kitchen. We do have One Bedroom Suites with full kitchen facilities that we would be delighted to offer you on your next stay when staying with us in a One Bedroom Suite. With regards to your other concerns, thank you for letting us know, these have escalated to each department concerned. With regards to Nespresso machines, these are available in our Penthouse Suites but it is a great suggestion for some of our other room types which we are investigating further. Once again thank you for your time and should you wish to discuss further, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Generally, our stay at The Como was good. It had a good location and the service was fair. The room was a good size, but for the price the cleanliness should have been better. I also am not sure that the price is reasonable for the inclusions. Having paid a lower price for rooms with included services (e.g. wi-fi, in-room movies, gourmet tea and chocolate, etc.) at hotels nearby I am not sure I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear JoshUR

Thank you for taking the time to review The Como Melbourne. We are pleased that you generally enjoyed your stay and hope that you enjoyed our large suites. We have certainly taken on board your comments and escalated these to each department concerned and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

What could have been a disaster, turned to the most wonderful stay. I arrived at Reception to check in to find that I had arrived a day early. Yes, I should have double checked my confirmation as it was a celebration. This is where there is a HUGE thank you to Bec who calmly went about trying to get a room for us. It's the little things that add up to making it a place to remember for the right resons. Bec made me a coffee while waiting for a confirmation if a room was available. We were in luck as we were upgraded as well due to guests leaving early. The room was WOW..like a 5 star apartment. Within a few mins, room service arrived with a bottle of complimentary sparkling to help celebrate! There were bottles of complimentary water left in our valet parked car. We will definitely return because of the fantastic staff we met, the great location and the well appointed room. Oh, and breakfast was great too...

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Julie M

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to have such a friendly and passionate team in each of our departments and are pleased that we could assist in making your stay with us so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Como Melbourne is located in the heart of vibrant South Yarra, Melbourne’s renowned dining, entertainment and fashion district.This stylish hotel combines up market chic with discreet charm, exemplary facilities and outstanding service.The Como Melbourne features contemporary minimalistic design and urban style. From the tranquil Japanese gardens to the lively ambience of SOBar, this distinctly boutique hotel offers discrete, suite accommodation that characterises this stylish area of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.