We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Coffs Harbour
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Generally, our stay at The Como was good. It had a good location and the service was fair. The room was a good size, but for the price the cleanliness should have been better. I also am not sure that the price is reasonable for the inclusions. Having paid a lower price for rooms with included services (e.g. wi-fi, in-room movies, gourmet tea and chocolate, etc.) at hotels nearby I am not sure I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear JoshUR

Thank you for taking the time to review The Como Melbourne. We are pleased that you generally enjoyed your stay and hope that you enjoyed our large suites. We have certainly taken on board your comments and escalated these to each department concerned and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    178
    60
    19
    12
See reviews for
82
271
49
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

What could have been a disaster, turned to the most wonderful stay. I arrived at Reception to check in to find that I had arrived a day early. Yes, I should have double checked my confirmation as it was a celebration. This is where there is a HUGE thank you to Bec who calmly went about trying to get a room for us. It's the little things that add up to making it a place to remember for the right resons. Bec made me a coffee while waiting for a confirmation if a room was available. We were in luck as we were upgraded as well due to guests leaving early. The room was WOW..like a 5 star apartment. Within a few mins, room service arrived with a bottle of complimentary sparkling to help celebrate! There were bottles of complimentary water left in our valet parked car. We will definitely return because of the fantastic staff we met, the great location and the well appointed room. Oh, and breakfast was great too...

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Julie M

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to have such a friendly and passionate team in each of our departments and are pleased that we could assist in making your stay with us so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Como on the Easter Long weekend. As a family of four (one toddler and an infant) we occupied the two bedroom suite. First impressions - excellent. Wonderful friendly service during check in, including valet service and bags delivered to our room.

Only downsides I can think of, and this is really scraping the bowl, is the stairs to the lifts. It's only about 10 steps but still a little difficult to navigate with the pram. However this isn't even a negative because there is a lift for those less mobile and the staff offered to open it for us (key locked) every single time we walked through. When we declined, they helped us carry the pram up/down the stairs. Again, fantastic service.

The other negative was the room service, and this is the only reason I give this hotel a 4 rather than a 5. It was at you'd expect from room service really, a bit disappointing. Caesar salad was basically all iceberg lettuce, maybe 3-4 small pieces of chicken. Pizza had tasty cheese rather than mozarella, not very nice. The kids sausage and mash was just the adult serve. So a giant (dry,overcooked) sausage with a single peeled carrot, mash, and a jus. This wouldn't affect most people, as you're right on Chapel St with some amazing restaurants. Unfortunately most of these restaurants aren't really suited for prams/kids so we missed out there. We did visit 2 Birds 1 Stone for breakfast and it was incredible. Best Eggs Benedict I have ever had. I'm told that Cafe Cucina and Cosi are the places to dine.

Breakfast buffet was small but good, and the hot dishes we ordered were great. Rooms were always very clean and tidy. The kitchen has everything you'd need. There is a Woollies about 100m down Chapel St so you can stock up.

Room Tip: We had the two bedroom suite (508). Can't fault it. Lovely view over the park too. It is right n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear YoungOzCouple

Thank you for taking the time to review The Como Melbourne. We are delighted to hear that you loved our Two Bedroom Suites – we love them too! We are pleased that you received our exceptional service and we were able to assist with the pram when not using our lift from reception to the lower lobby. Thank you for your feedback with regards to our Food and Beverage specifically Room Service. We have taken this on board and greatly appreciate your thoughts on this area of the hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A very enjoyable stay, we would definitely return. A nice change to stay out of the CBD. Close to shopping and restaurants. Staff friendly and helpful. Great location with plenty to see and do. Rooms well appointed, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Nimnim_13

Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the wonders of the Chapel Street’s shopping and restaurant precinct. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I booked last minute and got an open plan suite and WOW! 5 star and 55sq metres for this room for such a reasonable price. The service was unbelievable, special shout out to Fiona who was sooo lovely during my stay there. The pool was great temperature, the bed was unbelievably comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. The bath robes deserve their own sentence because they were just that amazingly soft and warm. The staff were so accommodating, I ordered breakfast at 12 30 even though it was meant to stop at 12 and they were able to let me order from the breakfast menu. The interior was fantastic with complimentary apples, coffees, and easter chocolate made on site. They have a great selection of in house movies and were able to set up a DVD player in the room on request without a fuss. I usually like to try different places when I go away but this place was fantastic, would definitely return!!

Room Tip: Open plan suite room was perfect for a couples getaway. No matter which room u get the walls are bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear TinaS415

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your feedback on. We do pride ourselves on our exception team and just love our new fluffy bathrobes too - if only we could wear them everyday! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have when ever in Melbourne tried to stay in a variety of places to feel what Melbourne has to offer from different angles. I had never stayed in South Yarra perviously and I was pleasantly surprised. Not only was the hotel absolutely lovely but so was the venue.
The hotel is only 5 - 10 minutes walk away from the train station. Trams pass by regular. Ten's minutes on a train to the city centre. As you walk up Chapel Street you pass not only many great shopping spots but also great places to wine and dine all at a reasonable cost. I was also delighted to know that there was a palace Cinema next door.
The staff where very friendly polite and professional which can be unusual to find. They went out of they way to answer some of my questions.
The room was spotless. Bedding out standing I even slept in! Which was a shock. It was so delicious and comfortable. The only let done was the coffee in the room. However you only had to venture out side the room to find great coffee.. I would highly recommend to any one passing through Melbourne to enjoy a stay at the Como you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a large room over looking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Ningaloo2006

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Como Melbourne and had the opportunity to enjoy some of what is to offer at our doorstep in the heart of Chapel Street’s shopping and dining precinct. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I personally prefer Chapel St because it is 10 minutes from the city & a 1 minute walk to amazing food & amazing shopping (chapel st) whenever you want it! (This hotel is a 1 minute walk from the major part of Chapel St full of shopping & restaurants). The staff were so polite & attentive! And there is free nespresso coffee, chocolate & apples on the front desk! We had a 1 room studio and it was perfect for my partner & i. It had a great jacoozi which was a bonus! It's a decent size, and just what you want. I would definitely refer this hotel to anyone! thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Como Melbourne is located in the heart of vibrant South Yarra, Melbourne’s renowned dining, entertainment and fashion district.This stylish hotel combines up market chic with discreet charm, exemplary facilities and outstanding service.The Como Melbourne features contemporary minimalistic design and urban style. From the tranquil Japanese gardens to the lively ambience of SOBar, this distinctly boutique hotel offers discrete, suite accommodation that characterises this stylish area of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.