We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel with great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel itself was nice enough but for me the staff were the standout who were welcoming and helpful throughout.
I think that there are 2 types of 5 star hotel the 'yeah its a decent hotel kind' and the 'wow totally amazing' kind of which this is the former. Small things like being to faintly hear the tv in the adjacent room stop it from being great.
For those visiting melbourne who wonder about the location I would say that it's good. Close to the CBD, rod laver and aami park (all within 15 mins) there is plenty about to do. There are also a number of shops, cafes and restaurants a short walk from the hotel so you need not venture into the CBD for a decent meal or some shopping unless you want to.
Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    206
    68
    21
    13
See reviews for
99
316
57
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swan Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed here and I booked an open plan spa suite. This room is definetly reccommended rather then the Queen room. It's much much larger and felt like my own little apartment! 5 star quality and definetly worth the money. The gym and pool facilties are in perfect condition and well looked after. Staff are fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time I stayed outside the city and I must say that it is a nice change. The staff is friendly and attentive offering coffee upon early check in Nd pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a suite. The location is also very convenient, close to trams and trains with loads of shopping around. The only reason I haven't rated 5 stars is that there were several incidents of very noisy plumbing noises through the night.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I went to Melbourne for the weekend to celebrate his birthday and from the moment we stepped into this hotel we were impressed. Greeted warmly, immediately offered coffee, room ready at10 am and then upgraded to a one bed suite. The suite was roomy, stylishly furnished and quiet with a lovely view over the park from the balcony. The staff were very attentive and respectful and went out of their way to assist. They even put some birthday balloons and a birthday card for my husband in the room. We didn't eat at the restaurant but had a snack at the bar and breakfast on one morning. Both were fine. The location of the hotel is convenient being close to the train and trams with great shops close by. So much better than staying in the city. We loved the Como and it is now 'our' hotel when we visit Melbourne.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the park are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The room we stayed in was a deluxe twin room for $230 a night. We stayed 2 nights a Thurs and Fri. The bed and bathroom were clean and tidy. Staff were efficient and polite.

Watch out for the mini bar items. Don't consume ANYTHING until u read the mini bar items on the list. If you do consume, you will pay a small fortune eg $7.50 for 50g nuts! I could get the same brand at Woollies down the road for $3.50 but 375g! Breakfast was more economical at a place outside the Woollies entrance, it was $11 for eggs bacon and tomato. They also sell nice chocolates. To get to Woolworths and big W turn right as you exit the main hotel entrance. If you want to shop turn left to Chapel St, it has good restaurants, pubs and shops.
It was a long way to the airport taxis cost $63 one way. It was also a little trip to the city. Trams cannot be used unless you are a local and can get tram tickets from a railway station. So if you heard that they are free, like we did, not true.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

From check in, with a really special upgrade, to check out, this was a wonderful stay. Courteous friendly staff, clean room and bathroom with ultra deep spa bath, gorgeous Japanese-inspired courtyard, and yummy breakfast. I will definitely stay at the Como again, next time for a night or 2 longer, use the pool and gym, and spend some time shopping in this great retail district!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,342 reviews
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
Oaks On William
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Como Melbourne is located in the heart of vibrant South Yarra, Melbourne’s renowned dining, entertainment and fashion district.This stylish hotel combines up market chic with discreet charm, exemplary facilities and outstanding service.The Como Melbourne features contemporary minimalistic design and urban style. From the tranquil Japanese gardens to the lively ambience of SOBar, this distinctly boutique hotel offers discrete, suite accommodation that characterises this stylish area of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.