We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in South Yarra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice stay in South Yarra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time I stayed outside the city and I must say that it is a nice change. The staff is friendly and attentive offering coffee upon early check in Nd pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a suite. The location is also very convenient, close to trams and trains with loads of shopping around. The only reason I haven't rated 5 stars is that there were several incidents of very noisy plumbing noises through the night.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    145
    49
    16
    10
See reviews for
63
216
44
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I went to Melbourne for the weekend to celebrate his birthday and from the moment we stepped into this hotel we were impressed. Greeted warmly, immediately offered coffee, room ready at10 am and then upgraded to a one bed suite. The suite was roomy, stylishly furnished and quiet with a lovely view over the park from the balcony. The staff were very attentive and respectful and went out of their way to assist. They even put some birthday balloons and a birthday card for my husband in the room. We didn't eat at the restaurant but had a snack at the bar and breakfast on one morning. Both were fine. The location of the hotel is convenient being close to the train and trams with great shops close by. So much better than staying in the city. We loved the Como and it is now 'our' hotel when we visit Melbourne.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the park are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The room we stayed in was a deluxe twin room for $230 a night. We stayed 2 nights a Thurs and Fri. The bed and bathroom were clean and tidy. Staff were efficient and polite.

Watch out for the mini bar items. Don't consume ANYTHING until u read the mini bar items on the list. If you do consume, you will pay a small fortune eg $7.50 for 50g nuts! I could get the same brand at Woollies down the road for $3.50 but 375g! Breakfast was more economical at a place outside the Woollies entrance, it was $11 for eggs bacon and tomato. They also sell nice chocolates. To get to Woolworths and big W turn right as you exit the main hotel entrance. If you want to shop turn left to Chapel St, it has good restaurants, pubs and shops.
It was a long way to the airport taxis cost $63 one way. It was also a little trip to the city. Trams cannot be used unless you are a local and can get tram tickets from a railway station. So if you heard that they are free, like we did, not true.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

From check in, with a really special upgrade, to check out, this was a wonderful stay. Courteous friendly staff, clean room and bathroom with ultra deep spa bath, gorgeous Japanese-inspired courtyard, and yummy breakfast. I will definitely stay at the Como again, next time for a night or 2 longer, use the pool and gym, and spend some time shopping in this great retail district!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was amazing. My boyfriend and I stayed for one night in an open plan studio and the room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Como Melbourne Hotel
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Como Melbourne is located in the heart of vibrant South Yarra, Melbourne’s renowned dining, entertainment and fashion district.This stylish hotel combines up market chic with discreet charm, exemplary facilities and outstanding service.The Como Melbourne features contemporary minimalistic design and urban style. From the tranquil Japanese gardens to the lively ambience of SOBar, this distinctly boutique hotel offers discrete, suite accommodation that characterises this stylish area of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.