We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive friendly staff, overall an ok hotel in a great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Attentive friendly staff, overall an ok hotel in a great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned from one night at The Como in Melbourne. Upon check in greeted by a friendly knowledgable young gent who was happy to help with local info and create a good feel from the start.

The hotel is located in South Yarra, the tram stop is 50 m away and this can get you into the centre of Melbourne in approx 15 mins (#8) or to the beaches of St Kilda in similar time. Close to the hotel are an abundance of caves, restaurants and designer shops. The hotel itself is fresh, modern and in good order.

Our room I believe was an accessible room which wasn't the best, large yes however no bath tub and annoying elements like low mirrors and hand rails. All unnecessary for me personally. I found the room not to be overly clean, there appeared to be some hair in the bed, behind the taps in the bathroom was left over shaving hairs from a previous guest, not a great impression. I didn't complain as we were literally using the place to sleep for a couple of hours and didn't have time to move or wait for a housekeeper to rectify. At around 5am we were awoken by the adjoining room, not a pleasant wake up call at that time of the day, very loud and enthusiastic sounds coming through the wafer thin walls. I called reception twice who did try to react to the problem however the culprits paid no attention. We checked out and the manager automatically apologised to us and removed a small room service charge from our bill and offered an upgrade should we stay again, a very pleasant surprise and i was impressed with the response and empathy shown towards our experience. We stored our bags and went exploring for the day

Overall I would say fantastic location, friendly helpful staff, however little things like poor sound proofing and slack cleaning let down a potentially very good hotel. I would stay again because I know things do go wrong and I am a firm believer of its how problems are dealt with and not actually the occurrence that makes the issue.

Room Tip: Use the tram network, purchas a myki card and use on all public transport. Cabs are reasonable but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    177
    60
    19
    12
See reviews for
82
269
49
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bundanoon, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

What a fabulous suite! the spa was lovely and the view with the trees below was great ! I only wished we were staying longer to make use of the amazingly well set out kitchen...did have to complain about the toilet seat which was broken and wobbly though..not a problem for us but the heavy guy coming in next...whoops!
Have to say the staff were so helpful and amazing...Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We booked the hotel as a package with room, breakfast and valet parking and found this a good deal.
It is situated outside downtown Melbourne in the lively and interesting neighbourhood of South Yarra with lots of small shops and restaurants, but close to the tram station. The tram ride to the city takes approx. 15 minutes.

The rooms are modern, quite big, nice bathroom with all amenities. Friedly reception statt and a really great breakfast with a splendid offer of many different dishes in an excellent fresh food quality. The buffet alone has a huge choice and the cooked breakfast is made to order - the Eggs Benedict are lovely.

Valet parking was a plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at Como recently and then also a few years back. I loved it then, and love it still - its got a nice chic vibe, great location in the cosmo South Yarra. Found all the staff to be very friendly at every interaction . Housekeeping was great! The hotel was in the process of a refurb, the refurbed rooms are gorgeous and love the new colours and styling - very contemporary. The bathroom - you can tell it's an older hotel by the oversized bathroom and black marble all of which ties in nicely still. The huge spa bath was wonderfully deep and relaxing but the shower head was a water-saving one (yeah, I know thats a good thing!) but not my liking. Bathroom amenities - Morrissey branded, very nice! They also have a pillow menu, which I took advantage of as I dislike feather/down pillows, they quickly provided a foam one.

Rooftop pool was easy to get to - walk along a corridor and then up a set of stairs to the gym & pool area - its not nearly as difficult as some make it sound! Breakfast experience was good as was room service - but I preferred to explore and experience the local scene, after all, you're in Melbourne.

Definitely will keep staying. My final advice - if you plan on heading into the city/CBD everyday you might find this a bit out of the way - its a simple 20-30 min tram ride. But aside from that, nothing to fault with the location and area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just become an Accor hotel recently, and is undergoing some changes. Concierge was bit rough - it was obvious we needed a hand with our luggage, but I guess he was busy... Rooms were very nice - lots of space and comforts. No printed compendium in room - all on the TV, just don't try and read the text that's there. Blurry and low pixel quality, makes you give up reading the room information ( and there wasn't much information there anyway.!) Then there was the room air conditioning - it was a hot day/night and the room system was hotter inside than out. To the staff's credit they provided a fan for the night to keep us cool, but it made the stay quite unpleasant. On checking out, I again said how it ruined our stay, and the staff member said they would look into it... once upon a time they would have bent over backwards to look after the customer - doesn't make me want to go back in a hurry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was a surprise stay for my birthday, and the hotel was really lovely. I really liked the modern decor throughout the hotel, and staff were super helpful and friendly.

We stayed in one of the suites, which was huge and had lots of attention to detail. The bathroom, too, was great, and was complete with bath spa. It felt like a very luxuirous room. As we had a few nights here, we also utilised the swimming pool- we had it to ourselves- and the gym looked adequate as well.

The one main drawback of the hotel was that it lacked free wifi; as a 5 star hotel, with many business clients, we would have thought that this would have been included, as it has been at the other hotels of similar calibre that we have stayed in. This might seem like a small hitch to moan about, but I feel that a luxury hotel should have such amenties included within the price, especially as it represents itself in a modern fashion. Additionally, buying the wifi is fairly pricey, and yet necessary for the modern traveller, who wants to see the events on in the area and to book tickets etc.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay. I would recommend for definite that you stay here, now you are armed with the above information, as it is luxurious and we would return ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Como Melbourne is located in the heart of vibrant South Yarra, Melbourne’s renowned dining, entertainment and fashion district.This stylish hotel combines up market chic with discreet charm, exemplary facilities and outstanding service.The Como Melbourne features contemporary minimalistic design and urban style. From the tranquil Japanese gardens to the lively ambience of SOBar, this distinctly boutique hotel offers discrete, suite accommodation that characterises this stylish area of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.