We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges on Swanston Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges on Swanston Melbourne to your Saves list
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Pros: Meh maybe location if you're attending any conference in Melb Uni or RMIT. Easy walk to CBD.
Cons: Worst customer service. Especially the tall dude at the reception.

Unless you're on a business trip that's covered by your company, stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSFMel, General Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Youngpil

I am so sorry to hear your stay was not a pleasant one. I will definitely talking to the gentleman on reception about his attitude.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
.
Thank you

Grant Fleet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    113
    147
    105
    95
See reviews for
85
122
54
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Benalla Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed at the Rydges on Swanston with 4 work colleagues on Friday and Saturday last weekend and we all had a wonderful time.
Friendly and helpful Reception staff made checking-in and out quick and easy.
Rooms: We used a variety of rooms Deluxe Queen, Deluxe Queen Twin and Queen Spa, some refurbished and some un-refurbished, however, all rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. The curtains in one room were not completely attached at the top on one side, but housekeeping rectified this when the room was serviced the next day, without being asked.
The refurbished rooms were very nice with beautiful new bathrooms (no problems with leaking showers) and beds were very comfortable. The rooms were tastefully decorated with modern furnishings and everything was clean. The Queen Spa room was fabulous. The bathroom had a huge circular spa, hand-basin and separate shower with hand-held shower as well as a rain shower-head. There was a separate room for the toilet and second hand-basin.
Dinner: We all enjoyed dinner in Blues Restaurant on Friday night and the food and service was very good.
Breakfast: The buffet breakfast was great with plenty of variety.
Conference Facilities: We used the Queensberry Room which was perfect for our group. The room set-up was great, and the lunch and afternoon tea - excellent. The only problem was that the luncheon table was in the hallway outside our conference room, and although there was a sign indicating which event the food was for, delegates from a different event helped themselves to our lunch. Perhaps a more prominent sign would have helped; however, there was plenty of food.
A special thank-you to Anastasia Parashis for her assistance with organising this event.
Location: The hotel is well situated, close to Lygon Street and with regular trams into the City.
My colleagues and I all agree that we would happily stay here again, and would recommend it to our friends.
Hint: The rooms which look into the central courtyard are quieter than the ones which front Swanston Street.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are quieter than those facing Swanston Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSFMel, General Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Aussie56

Thank you for your great feedback & photos about the hotel. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Thanks

Grant Fleet
General Manager
.
Thank you

Grant Fleet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I don't usually write negative reviews - there is always usually something good to say. But not this time - way too expensive for such small rooms and extremely noisy stay. The noise in the corridor morning and night was awful! The staff tried hard to do a good job! And for the most part they did their bit - poor facilities

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSFMel, General Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Karenm

I can only apologise for the mouse in your room. Like all hotels we have an active pest control program in place.I can assure you this type of incident has never occurred in the past at the hotel.

If there is anyway I can make this up to you please let me know. Hope to hear from you soon

Thanks

Grant Fleet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Firstly the french guy on reception not nice,,,, secondly the shower has mould amongst all tiles... desperate need for renovation.... Customer service non existent. ah but lastly mouse in the room dead fresh not long after we were in there. offered to change room but we didnt as our last night in Melbourne so free breakfast was offered which was terrible... raw uncooked sausage served. Then on discharge was asked to pay for breakfast. Also trams that are at front door would need a myki card to use so read your brochures if you are a visitor to Melbourne .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSFMel, General Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Karenm

I can only apologise for the mouse in your room. Like all hotels we have an active pest control program in place.I can assure you this type of incident has never occurred in the past at the hotel.

If there is anyway I can make this up to you please let me know. Hope to hear from you soon

Thanks

Grant Fleet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Well located hotel, near to the eating precinct of Lygon Street, tram to the CBD at the front door, close to the University and only a short walk to the Victoria Markets. First impressions on appearance (hotel entry and lobby) were underwhelming and I was dismayed to find that I had to lug my heavy bag up five or six steps to a large lobby with the reception desk at the other end. (I have had spinal surgery). The staff member at the desk told me that I should have just left my bag on the street and come in to ask for assistance like other people did - not a practical option as bags would be well out of sight for minutes even if there was no "line-up" at reception. Later, a more helpful staff member gave me detailed and useful directions and a street map.

My initial impressions were quickly forgotten as my room was beautifully appointed with comfortable and tasteful furniture and a slick modern bathroom. There was a desk and lamp as well as a small dining table and a comfortable chair - all useful to me as a business traveller. Some funky touches (such as a set of dominoes and other small games, popcorn, aeroplane shaped chocolates) added interest. I didn't use the bath robe or the toiletries but they looked good. A larger waste bin would have been useful but I was happy to find a hook on the bathroom wall (to hang up my toiletries bag) and face washers provided. The king sized bed was a luxury and so were the king sized bath towels. The tv was easy to operate and so was the air con.

The sleep factor unfortunately was a problem. The check in staff had kindly upgraded me to a "park view" room on the third floor, which indeed did have a verdant leafy view towards the cbd. However the room was close to the clanking elevator and I heard the clunks and groans of every single trip up and down as I tried to sleep. I think it may be the only elevator so it is used a lot and also quite slow, so I additionally heard every conversation, giggle and cough of those waiting for the elevator or exiting it or using the stairs instead.

The other noise factor was the refrigerator, which was not enclosed in a cupboard. It was well stocked as a mini bar but I could not fit in my bottle of wine without unpacking and disassembling the whole thing.

Breakfast is served in the ground floor restaurant or via room service. I chose the restaurant where service was pleasant and efficient. Food on offer was nothing out of the ordinary but nonetheless fresh and adequate. The chef was quick to cook up some eggs how I like them, but the bacon was cold as it was simply put in an ordinary bowl on the servery. It was nice to find the morning newspaper available during breakfast.

Room Tip: Obviously stay away from the elevator, and probably also the Swanston Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSFMel, General Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Zappagirl

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Rydges on Swanston, it is always nice to receive positive feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to Rydges on Swanston soon!

Kind Regards

Grant Fleet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed in a refurbished room which is spacious and comfortable. As others have noted, the bathroom is not well designed and floods. I was dismayed by the view...nothing! More importantly there were no sheer curtains which made the room exposed and hot. The single lift is slow. There is an interesting collection of in room shopping including dominos, but there was no price list. The wine glasses were very dirty and dusty. My room, on the first floor and at the back was fairly quiet. The staff were pleasant and very knowledgable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSFMel, General Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Janeeh040

Thank you for your comments, in regards to the sheer curtain behind the black out blind there is a sheer pull down blind.

Thank you again for your thoughts, I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Grant Fleet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in an executive deluxe room. Beds were averagly comfortable but bathrooms are very small. Moved first night due to an off smell. Paint chipping in parts. Soft furnishings are a nice colour scheme Onsite parking $25 a night, room service up to 10pm which was quite good food. No views, our room overlooked a tin roof. Would stay here again but wouldnt pay more than AUD190 a night.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSFMel, General Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Cardyff H

Thank you for your comments., I am sorry you had to be moved. I will take this issue up with my housekeeping department.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Grant Fleet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges on Swanston Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges on Swanston Melbourne

Address: 701 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges on Swanston Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges on Swanston having undergone a multi-million dollar refurbishment both externally and internally has well and truly positioned itself as a hotel of choice within Melbourne. Blues Bar & Grill has a contemporary feel offering the very best food, service and presentation. The funky bar lounge and great outdoor terrace is very popular. Close to the airport and a short tram into the heart of Melbourne's CBD, makes us a great location for any traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rydges on Swanston Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges On Swanston Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Rydges On Swanston Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges On Swanston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.