We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges on Swanston Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Rydges on Swanston Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed in a refurbished room which is spacious and comfortable. As others have noted, the bathroom is not well designed and floods. I was dismayed by the view...nothing! More importantly there were no sheer curtains which made the room exposed and hot. The single lift is slow. There is an interesting collection of in room shopping including dominos, but there was no price list. The wine glasses were very dirty and dusty. My room, on the first floor and at the back was fairly quiet. The staff were pleasant and very knowledgable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSFMel, General Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Janeeh040

Thank you for your comments, in regards to the sheer curtain behind the black out blind there is a sheer pull down blind.

Thank you again for your thoughts, I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Grant Fleet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    82
    113
    86
    83
See reviews for
64
102
42
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in an executive deluxe room. Beds were averagly comfortable but bathrooms are very small. Moved first night due to an off smell. Paint chipping in parts. Soft furnishings are a nice colour scheme Onsite parking $25 a night, room service up to 10pm which was quite good food. No views, our room overlooked a tin roof. Would stay here again but wouldnt pay more than AUD190 a night.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSFMel, General Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Cardyff H

Thank you for your comments., I am sorry you had to be moved. I will take this issue up with my housekeeping department.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Grant Fleet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed for three nights during a business trip. I was apprehensive about my stay due to the high number of negative reviews on TripAdvisor. My stay ended up with a rating of OK. Checkin went smoothly. They spelled my name wrong on my new privileges card. Room tidy, clean and well appointed. Free wifi that achieved a good download speed. Bathroom very modern in design, although also very smelly. Un-cleaned popcorn under the bed. Bed almost too short. Bit hard for my tastes. There were no night events in the halls above me so I did not suffer the reported noise. Gym small and badly equipped. Three cycles, a jogger and one weight machine is insufficient for a 4 start hotel. It also smelled of urine. Breakfasts in the hotel restaurant were uninspiring, that'd be ok for a suburban motel, but a four star place should really have a chef who can cook from a breakfast menu. Not just gloop mushrooms, sausages and etc into a bain marie. In summary. OK. Great location. Staff attentive and helpful. Public transport and the Italian restaurant area just out side a great positive.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSFMel, General Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear OverU

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Rydges on Swanston, I am pleased we exceeded your expectation.

I do hope to welcome you back to Rydges on Swanston soon!

Kind Regards

Grant Fleet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed at Rydges for a hotel located close to Fitzroy and the Melbourne Museum. For location it is superb as it is close to North Melbourne and Carlton attractions while still being in walking distance to central Swanston St and Mebourne Central.
The room was clean and tidy and well furnished. It was obvious it was an old hotel that they had revamped but a little bit more work was needed to bring it up to scratch such as updating the shower/bath as it leaked and was unreliable.
If you need a simple 1/2 night stay as a base for being in Melbourne, this is a good affordable choice. If you are looking for a quality night stay to spend a lot of time in, perhaps look at somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSFMel, General Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Stace K

Thanks Stace K for your encouraging feedback. My team is delighted you're stay was pleasant.

My team and I hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Grant Fleet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I was really disappointed by my recent stay at this hotel. Arriving late into Melbourne before an early meeting at Melbourne Uni, I thought I would forgo some of the CBD hotels with slightly better ratings for improved convenience. A great mistake.
The rooms are quite spacious, but all the furniture is old and worn, and there's a strange, musty/smoky smell. The bathroom was not cleaned to my expectations, and there is a good deal of mold and paint flaking off the walls.
The sound proofing is equally poor. While the sound of trams on Swanston Street is part of the Melbourne charm, I was disturbed all night by various unpleasant noises including a baby crying in the room next door, "doov doov" late into the night and again the next morning, and the most unbearable, the sound of the guests next door relieving themselves. And a warning...earplugs are not available at reception or the nearby 7/11.
Do not be fooled by the 4.5 star rating or the high price. You are paying for location, nothing more.
On the bright side, the staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for a few days in October. My view is its a good average. The location is good, next to the university and a short walk to the restaurants and cafes etc. Usefully, the Skybus will drop you outside the door from the airport. We were on the 4th floor, above which is the gym and swimming pool. This means that you get to hear the running machine in the mornings. Fortunately there were not too many gym users staying while we were there. Be warned that the pool area can be closed for private functions (and it was very cold when we were there). Can't comment on the restaurant.
It wasn't super-quiet, but wasn't noisy either, although this will depend on your fellow guests. Room was a good size, clean, and everything worked. It is advertised has having a refrigerator. This is true but it is stuffed with drinks and is more of a cooled minibar than a useable fridge. Still, you can always repack it!
I'd stay here again. Its not exceptional but depending in your deal, it is good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The room was dated but clean and the bed was very comfortable. Easy parking underneath ($25/ 24hrs). Free Wifi. Late check-out at 1pm if you are/become a Rydges member. Polite and friendly staff. Took a while for the shower to reach a stable temperature. No view but we didn't need one.

I would stay here again if I was wanting to be near Lygon St and got a good room rate.

No noise issues but we stayed on a Monday night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges on Swanston Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges on Swanston Melbourne

Address: 701 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges on Swanston Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges on Swanston having undergone a multi-million dollar refurbishment both externally and internally has well and truly positioned itself as a hotel of choice within Melbourne. Blues Bar & Grill has a contemporary feel offering the very best food, service and presentation. The funky bar lounge and great outdoor terrace is very popular. Close to the airport and a short tram into the heart of Melbourne's CBD, makes us a great location for any traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rydges on Swanston Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges On Swanston Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Rydges On Swanston Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges On Swanston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.