We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, newly renovated hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges on Swanston Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges on Swanston Melbourne to your Saves list
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, newly renovated hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I've stayed here for business many times. Recently the hotel has been renovated and the new carpet, fresh paint, modern decor and new bathrooms are all top quality. With trams at the front door, Lygon street a 5 minute walk away and friendly staff I always enjoy my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    113
    147
    105
    95
See reviews for
85
122
54
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had to make an urgent unexpected trip to Melbourne for family reasons arriving on a Friday evening. We selected Rydges on Swanston because of convenient location and availability. (Two interstate AFL clubs were playing in Melbourne on the weekend we needed to visit Melbourne. Accommodation at the late stage we had to book was extremely limited on the Friday and Saturday evenings).

We arrived at approximately 3.00 pm. Check-In was OK but the noise from renovations, that we were not warned about in advance, was incredible.

The noise was even worse when we reached our room, which was very dated, dirty and uninviting. The bathroom was from another era and it is doubtful whether one would have wanted to take a shower in such a facility.

We checked out again immediately, demanding, (and receiving), a full refund of the three nights accommodation we were required to pay in advance at check-in. We were able to secure alternative, and much better, accommodation at The Windsor for fairly comparable rates.

This hotel may be acceptable once renovations are completed, but it will be a long while before we are tempted to try a Rydges property again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good location with numerous trams stopping right outside - very old and dated room - bathroom light was behind the door so you had to go into a dark room, shut the door and switch the light on!! When will hotels learn that people need space to put toiletries in the bathroom and a decent light in the bathroom. I had a late checkout at 1pm and had the DND on the door - got the first knock at 10.30 and the second at 11.30 - even with the do not disturb sign sitting there
Still resent a 1.5% surcharge for credit cards - it's just a rip off

Room Tip: Ask for a reburb room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My travel agent booked a room for me at this hotel.

Make sure you book (and pay extra for) a renovated room, because the unrenovated rooms are not special. My room has grubby bathroom tiles, a view of an ugly concrete central well through the window (can't open my window shades because everyone else can see in), and no internet. Not even pay internet.

I had my smart phone with me so I could use mobile hotspot, but if you didn't have that and you were traveling for work, this would be pretty grim. Also, no information pack in the room and no offers of maps or anything.

Bed is OK, if a little hard. Hot water is good in the shower if you can control the speed of the water.

Very close to Uni Melbourne and tram stops and Lygon st, so very convenient.

I haven't tried the breakfast yet. I hope it's good.

Room Tip: The building operates around a grim central light well. Almost half the rooms face this space. Go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Disappointing stay at Rydges. Paid top dollar for a Saturday -Sunday night stay for a family of four. No information pack in room - including how to phone reception. Only provided with 3 towels (even after asking for another one), 2 water glasses. Hot water took ages to heat up (15minutes) on Sunday morning - we were told no maintenance person on duty to help. No room to put toiletries either. Executive Queen twin - 2 queen beds in the room close to each other, and only 2 seats, so it was very close living for 4 of us. And worst of all according to the kids - not many TV channels including ABC3 and movies not made available!
Hotel staff not friendly or helpful. Restaurant for light tapas dinner was good and wait staff very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

When checking in (at 6pm) there was no clean room availble, and I was given a lower quality room than my original booking (without being informed of this). I had a long long wait on check in with unfriendly staff on the desk.

After advising reception that I didn't have the room I paid for, I was moved. However the newer room didn't have a working TV, and despite a request, no one able to look at the TV for over 3 hours until I gave up and tried to get to sleep. This was hard, as the newer room also smelt strongly of fresh paint, and had noisy neighbours (i.e., very thin walls).

After all that I needed a drink. Unsurprisingly, The bar fridge was not turned on, and there was no bottle/wine opener in the room.

Beyond disappointing, beyond a joke.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Took a recent deal and stayed here - to be honest I rushed it and mistook this for the Rydges in town. Its not far from town - an easy tram ride, but its not central. I would think its great if you have business at Melbourne University. The hotel itself is reasonably modern, fairly clean and........OK. The rooms are small, the bathroom I had was a little weird - an ageing shower stall, and a toilet pan squeezed against a wall, and a tiny vanity - all in an otherwise large bathroom. The bed comfortable. Staff welcoming. Nice bistro downstairs. There is a room by room renovation going on - needed and quite well managed - but you will be awake at 0700 as the workers begin work. Like I said - OK....

Room Tip: Wait for the reno's to finish.......or check before hand
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges on Swanston Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges on Swanston Melbourne

Address: 701 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges on Swanston Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges on Swanston having undergone a multi-million dollar refurbishment both externally and internally has well and truly positioned itself as a hotel of choice within Melbourne. Blues Bar & Grill has a contemporary feel offering the very best food, service and presentation. The funky bar lounge and great outdoor terrace is very popular. Close to the airport and a short tram into the heart of Melbourne's CBD, makes us a great location for any traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rydges on Swanston Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges On Swanston Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Rydges On Swanston Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges On Swanston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.