We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges on Swanston Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges on Swanston Melbourne to your Saves list
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here on a mid week work visit. The location was close to where I needed to be and the rate was reasonable for Melbourne. Or so I thought till I got into the room.

I stayed in a Queen room on the second level, there we renovations going on - although no mention was made of this when I checked in but I was well aware of it the minute I stepped off the elevator with the symphony of drilling. I figured it would stop around 5pm, so that was fine and given the state of the room, they definitely need to renovate the property.

The room itself looked as though it has been repainted recently, but it made no real impact. The room was lifeless and devoid of character or appeal. The mattress on the bed sagged badly and if that weren't bad enough for a room that cost over $160 a night, there were even visible stains on the sheets to top it all off.

The bathroom was also a state. It was mouldy, smelled of stale sweat, had cracked paint on the walls, the towels and face washers were so threadbare there were holes in ALL OF THEM.

This place is not even a shadow of what a Rydges property used to be. It was tired and very dated and not worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    99
    131
    97
    93
See reviews for
74
115
47
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We arrived and we had to use the stairs(whole time we were there). Never worked fast...or was held up with event people for church event. We arrived and we noticed the damage and no skirtings around walls. Service desk was always busy and we were served by a bar staff member, because were so busy. We had a room on third floor, we entered and noticed mould in the corners of the roof growing spurs, around ceilings, mould on sheer curtains and the bathroom was disgusting. brown hair everywhere( us were three blonde ladies so was not ours). Mould all over the bathroom shower grout, hole behind shower tap, Toilet had a broken piece dangling at the bottom. Pink easy mould was still around.....which is very easy ton clean. We were shocked and brought an on duty manager up to see it all, he appoliguised but gave a discount of 25% off our $330 room...what@#%@! Could not swap rooms, they had none fully booked. For the Rydges Hotels, I never stayed in such an unclean, unhealthy room in my life. Run down in sections and our furniture look so tatered, with chips off the sides. Broken lamp shades, dust really thick on lamp shade globes...etc. This had not had a monthly routine inspection in a long time. I use to be a cleaner at a five star hotel....and this was so bad I wandered why cleaning staff had not notified management regading mould properly to start with. Please stay somewhere else for the money. It was our get away for three years....and it really placed a dampner on our stay there;(

Room Tip: Do you not stay on the third floor...between events upstairs we had no elevator working, wait for ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Rydges on Swanston for two nights. It's a smaller hotel, but we got a great deal on wotif that we couldn't pass up, $99 a night with a free bottle of wine and 1pm checkout. The hotel is not in the absolute centre of the city but is still 'in the city'. The hotel is on the university tram line so trams are constant - we never waited more than five minutes for a tram. It really is only a short walk into the city, but if you're catching trains etc, it costs u no more to catch the tram in really. There r free movies to hire at reception. The room needed a good dust and the noise from the hallway could annoy some people, but other than that, we had no complaints. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you are needing to visit the Melbourne Uni area, this is a great location, but if you want to be close to the main Melbourne city attractions, then it is a bit of a walk. However, the tram stop is outside the hotel, and one goes past every minute (six different tram numbers) to Federation Square.

The hotel is quite noisy, not from the road, but from the lift. We were in a 'quiet' room and could easily hear the lift every time it operated. Although from about 10:00pm to 06:00am there was not too much lift use, so it was not too bad.

The room we had was a good size, the down side was that the bathroom was very 'tired' and small, but it was clean. The bed was very comfortable, and after a long day walking around the shops, this was really welcome.

The restaurant was reasonable, the food was okay, nothing to rave about. The staff were very pleasant, but not attentive enough, and the food delivery was quite slow, even though there was hardly anyone in the restaurant.

Overall, I doubt that I would stay here again, due to its location for where I want to be near. But, I would recommend it if you want to be in the Melb Uni area.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for a room well away from the lifts and not facing Swanston Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I agree with the other recent reviews of this hotel. It's in a great location, we had a lovely room, the bed was very comfortable - but the room was 'tired' (bathroom, walls, etc) and - worst of all - the bed linen was stained. We even asked for a fresh duvet after discovering that the spare duvet had coffee and blood stains - and after a 2nd phone request, we returned to our room to find the same dirty duvet nicely folded on our bed!! Appalling. FURTHER - the hotel was hosting a function on the top floor (4th of 4 floors) on Friday night, which kept us awake until midnight, despite our being 2 floors down. Finally, reception staff varied in quality and service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It is a shame that the location was great, as I would have to say this was the worst hotel I have stayed at in Melbourne. We arrived and could check in at 10.30, great! No other part of our experience would be so positive. The sheets were clearly dirty. There was make up and what we guess was drool, on the pillowcase and sheets... it looked as though the sheets were just flipped up instead of washed! and there was also blood on the doona cover. We informed reception, they changed the sheets, but left the pillow cases and doona. Twice. They also didn't replenish toilet paper, tissues or return face cloths. It was no point complaining as reception was unhelpful.There was also some kind of a night club above us. Not mentioned when we booked. I will never stay there again, and I would not recommend it. There are much better hotels for the same value.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spent five nights here, the king size bed was very comfortable, room size was adequate, bathroom the same. Aircondi worked well. Reception staff was OK. Breakfast was good. The most positive for this hotel is it's location. Just 1km walk from QV market, Lygon street is just around the corner, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges on Swanston Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges on Swanston Melbourne

Address: 701 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges on Swanston Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges on Swanston having undergone a multi-million dollar refurbishment both externally and internally has well and truly positioned itself as a hotel of choice within Melbourne. Blues Bar & Grill has a contemporary feel offering the very best food, service and presentation. The funky bar lounge and great outdoor terrace is very popular. Close to the airport and a short tram into the heart of Melbourne's CBD, makes us a great location for any traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges on Swanston Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges On Swanston Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Rydges On Swanston Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges On Swanston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.