We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It'll do. Good no frills apartment in central location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Southbank

Save Saved
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Southbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
London UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“It'll do. Good no frills apartment in central location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

The rooms are large, our two-bedroom apartment had two good sized bathrooms, a dining table, room to move in the kitchen, a desk, and some lounge suites. Not bad at all.

The location is very convenient to southbank's restaurants, the casino, arts centre, St Kilda road, and just across the bridge to the CBD. Parking was not too difficult, although the spaces were very tight and I would not like to navigate a very large car through the car park.

Internet at $12.50 per day is not as bad as some, but was a bit slow and had a 50MB limit. Not a great deal.

The shower was poor! A poorly designed door that was hard to squeeze through (I'm not a bloater either!), which leaked water all over the bathroom floor, and a shower head which offered a fine spray in a wide arc, which made it hard to really get washed.

Our room had a view of the noisy hi-rise construction site next door, and I expect most rooms will not have any view to write home about. Being an apartment hotel, you're left to your own devices as there is limited front-desk assistance and nothing like a concierge.

All in all a good place for a family to stay in central Melbourne if you can look after yourself and don't need anything fancy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    53
    23
    9
    9
See reviews for
35
25
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
214 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

I stayed in a Quest Southbank serviced apartment on a recent business trip to Melbourne and found it to be good quality accommodation at a great location for a reasonable price.

The apartments are well located a few blocks back from the river in the Southbank area, across the river from the central city. There is easy access to the riverside promenades and walking/biking paths and also a stones throw to the city park and botanical gardens, both of which are great places to burn off some energy in the form of a run or walk. It takes about 5 minutes to walk to the river and about 10 minutes to walk across the river and into the city. There are multitudes of restaurants, shops, cafes, and things to do nearby.

The building is fairly secure, needing a swipe key to get into the building and again to use the elevators. There is a small reception desk on the ground floor with some helpful staff who can provide maps and assist you in finding nearby attractions. The apartments have high speed WiFi internet, however you have to pay extra for it, around $7 per hour

The 2-bedroom apartments are very nice – roomy, bright, quiet, and with great views over the city from the higher floors. Things were very clean on arrival, however not much got cleaned during my 4-day stay, though towels were changed and beds made up daily. The kitchen was nice and came complete with all the utensils and dishes needed for in-house cook-ups. The furnishings were relatively modern and comfortable, however the VHS player wasn’t really necessary. Fortunately there was a DVD player and stereo as well. I couldn’t get the heat to turn on, but as it wasn’t really all that cold I didn’t pursue it any farther.

I had planned on using the fitness center but found it to be a huge disappointment. The room was tiny, there were no free weights, only a rickety, low end multi-gym. The few pieces cardio gear were not up to scratch either - much preferable running/walking out along the river. I found another gym nearby and paid to use that instead.

Overall, I had a really nice stay here and felt that it was generally good value. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again and I highly recommend it to other travellers wanting a nice base for exploring Melbourne.

Likes: great location, expansive views, roominess.
Dislikes: horrible fitness center

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We found this place to be everything that we needed for our recent family holiday. The rooms were great and clean. As this property is made of apartments, the two bedroom one that we had allowed us to have plenty of room, unlike many hotels.
The kitchen was well stocked with appliances and utensils and allowed us to save money by self catering some daily meals. The location was great with only a 7 minute walk to Southgate promenade and another 2 minutes over the bridge to flinders street station. Very central.
The staff were friendly and always eager to help with any enquiries we had.
Over all a great place and would thoroughly recommend to anyone visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

we always stay at Quest Southbank when we come to melbourne (at least once a year) - we love the location, the staff and the rooms. Always have a great time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Stayed one night, twice during one week at Quest Southbank. We arrived very early on the first day, about 8.30am, there was still someone in our apartment at this stage, so we stored our luggage with the front reception (who was very helpful!), and went out for breakfast and some shopping. The receptionist rang about 11am to say we could come back and check in early - great! Our room was a 2 x 2 on the 9th floor and was lovely and clean. Linens were crisp and fresh. All in all was great! We went away the next day to Mount Buller for a few days, then returned to Melbourne for our final night. This time we were upgraded to a 3 x 2.5 on the 22nd floor, this was a nice surprice, and the view was beautiful! Once again apartment was great and reception staff very helpful. Casino is only a short stroll from the Quest Southbank. We found we were walking a few times a day into central Melbourne, which took about 10 minute stroll. There were plenty of restaurants etc. along the southbank, which was a very pretty area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Stayed in early January and had a great stay. Check in was a breeze and we headed up to our 2 bedroom executive apartment on the 18th floor. The room was huge, with kitchen, and a very comfortable living area. 2 bedrooms, one with a queen bed where my mother stayed, and my sister and I shared the room with 2 singles and ensuite. The balcony was a little bit daunting (if you are afraid of heights) but enjoyable with a glass of wine after a long day of shopping and sight seeing. Great views from the main bedroom, and the lounge, especially at night when the city comes to life.

The service was great, with the reception staff always pleasant and eager to assist you in fiinding your way around Melbourne. Location couldn't be better - it's a 5 minute walk to Southbank and Flinders St station. There is no need for a car in Melbourme, as the trams get you everywhere you need to go.

No on-site restaurant, but staff have plenty of options for guests, only 2 or 3 minutes walking distance. We had breakfast at a differerent restaurant each day and all were huge servings.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

whilst apartments represented good value with an early internet booking, the staff are not the most helpful. The worst part about it was a non functioning shower (all apartments had very ordinary water pressure though with cheap bathroom fittings) so we had to wash from the basin or borrow our friends' shower . Problems with taxi bookings too which the staff weren't too interested in. the worst pillows (hard) I have experienced and all our friends said the same.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino and Melbourne’s CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains & trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and Federation Square. Broadband internet access (cable & wireless), Digital TV and Foxtel (8 channels) is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.