We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Comfortable Apartment!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Southbank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Quest Southbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location, Comfortable Apartment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed over night.
Had booked a one bedroom apartment and a two bedroom apartment.

Service on arrival was adequate (someone was having a bad day but was okay)

Apartments were clean, little dated in need of a coat of paint.

Had all basic items available, roomy.

The location is the main reason we would stay again its obviously why you pay the amount you do.

Parking on site was okay very tight parking, extra cost but worth it for convenience.

Get charged an extra $300 per apartment for insurance but was back in my account two business days later.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear BellaalleB,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. I am glad to read that you feel our location is great and that our apartments were clean and roomy! We do take pride in the size and cleanliness of our apartments.

I am sorry that your experience of our customer service was not to our normal standards. We shall endeavour to improve this.

Hopefully you will stay with us again when you stay in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    61
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
40
28
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Beds with dodgy covers and old blankets and toilet bins that aren't emptied. Complained to no avail. Single apartments have bedrooms with no direct outside window access - so no natural light. Don't stay unless you're under budget constraints.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Mia L,

I am truly sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay! In regards to our beds, blankets and bedspreads you may be interested to hear that we have just finished replacing every bed in all of our Executive 1, 2 & 3 Bedroom apartments (which make up nearly half of all of our apartments), as well as updating them with donnas rather than blankets.

As for your comments regarding the lack of natural light into our internal bedrooms, many of our Corporate clients actually find this beneficial as it cuts down on the road noise from outside. This layout also means that our large living area and kitchen has plenty of natural light from the full floor to ceiling and wall to wall window.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed overnight with my partner. We were surprised to find our room unlocked on arrival - not particularly safe! The rooms although spacious were bare and dated. Everything look very tired and used. The toilet seat was covered with mould. Thankfully we only stayed for the one night - I wasn't going to dare using any of the cooking appliances considering what we'd seen in the bathroom.
We arrived at 11pm and when we called reception to ask if it's possible to check out a little later we were told 'we've had people arrive at 7am and they don't even get a later check out time so unless you would like to pay $30 per extra hour then no'.
Also still no sign on my bond being returned 2 business days after my stay. Should be no reason why it can't be returned first thing Monday morning.
All in all, wouldn't stay again or recommend unless you are looking for something cheap in the southbank area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear ao05,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is always disappointing to hear when a guest has experienced a less than enjoyable stay. I am genuinely sorry that you have had a few things wrong with the apartment and stay in general. We are in the process of doing substantial soft refurbishments at the moment, including a large percentage of the older toilet seats (it is not actually mould, but the top surface has decayed with time hence the replacements).

Hopefully if you are in Southbank in the future you may feel inclined to drop in and view the changes we are making to improve the guest experience.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this very, very average 'serviced apartment'.
From the fact that the lock on the apartment door was missing the cover plate gave us a little idea that the unit was needing attention.
With me there for business and my wife there for the shopping we spread out on our own each day. The fact that we could only have one key for the apartment was probably more than just inconvenient.
Clean? Well siliconing over mould in the shower/bath isn't my idea of clean, are they preserving the mould for prosperity? Don't expect regular servicing of the apartment....it doesn't happen. The last 2 days of the 4 day stay there was no dishcloth...it disappeared, and the tea towel had never been washed and hence you couldn't dry anything with it!!!
The carpets in the unit are showing just how cheap the developer was in furnishing the unit. They really need a good clean, I suggest that this has never been done.
The kitchen is atrocious. The sink fittings are about to fall over, and can't really be used without fear of that happening. Finding a used empty lolly bag in one of the serving bowls means that the place is paid little,if any attention for cleaning.
Like to watch TV? Great, the screen is about the size of a good computer monitor, and the furniture is poorly placed.
Internet @ $14-00 per night isn't good value, and if you want to park a car, it'll cost you an extra $20 as well.
All the 'add ons' make this sub standard accommodation even poorer value that it already is.
Take a tip........give this one a miss

Room Tip: Best to avoid all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear ColandLynne,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and please accept my apologies that you have not experienced a pleasant stay like the far majority of our guests.

It may be little consolation however that we in the midst of re-grouting a number of bathrooms to tackle the exact issue you mention. So far we have re-grouted approximately 50 bathrooms, and will continue this project until we have rectified this issue in every bathroom.

Additionally with regards to the TV's; in November last year (and again in August this year) we have replaced quite a few of the older (and smaller) flat screen TV's with new larger LCD TV's.

As for comments about the servicing on the apartment and the state of the carpet and kitchen, this is worrying as our standards are usually quite high in these areas.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies that you had a less than ideal stay.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Quest is in a good spot in that it is quiet enough to sleep, but close enough to the river that good restaurants are only a short walk away. The staff were helpful, the room was very comfortable, neat and tidy, with a full kitchen.I requested a room on an upper floor and the staff arranged for this request. (Stayed 2 nights)

Room Tip: Get an upper level room, away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear AlanCarver,

Thanks for writing your review. It is nice to read that you liked the location of our property and comfort level of our apartments!

Also great to hear that you found our apartments to be neat and tidy.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We only stayed the 1 night in a 2 beedroom apartment $269 including parking, with 2 comfy queen beds apartment was surprisingly large with 2 bathrooms 2 tv's cooking facilities,washing machine and dryer ,dishwasher.They even let us park our car in early (12 midday) great central location will definately try to stay here again hopefully for the F1 next year..Only complaint was the staff behind the counter didnt seem to be to happy had that bored wish i was somewhere else look.might of just been having a bad day...

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartments are large suitable for 2 couples bed rooms are a fair distance apart and when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Mike L,

Thanks for writing your review, it is alway good to hear feedback about our property and staff.

Great to see that you were pleasantly surprised by the size and appointments of our 2 Bedroom apartments! And as they all have the 2nd bathroom they are perfectly suited to 2 couples!

Not so great to hear that the staff appeared a little weary, we will have to make sure they are at the perky best at all times!

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you and your friends again next year for the F1!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed 5 nights at a cost of $200 per night for a 1 bed room modern, clean and quiet apartment, which was within walking distance of Albert Park or 1 street over from the tram stop.
An IGA with a bottle shop across road which was open 0700hrs until 2300hrs.
This Quest is just perfect and does not induge in the usual price gouging that normaly happens around Melbourne at F1 time.
Good sleep, very dark room, quiet and clean, with a full size, washing machine and dryer, which is a boost for flying light and not carrying a lot of clothes.
Couple of very good cafes downstairs for the breakfast munchies before the long day.
Will defo be back again for any more trips to Melbourne.
No complaints

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear ShaunScotland,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review, and we are especially happy to read that you were obviously very happy with the property.

Glad you liked the location and convenience offered by our property and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino and Melbourne’s CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains & trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and Federation Square. Broadband internet access (cable & wireless), Digital TV and Foxtel (8 channels) is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.