We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Southbank

Save Saved
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quest Southbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Geelong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Happy to return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed for 1 night and chose for the ease to get to Southbank, which is just a short, easy walk. The check in was smooth, car parking required a few instructions, but definitely needed when you actually do it. Room was clean and well appointed, though a full length mirror somewhere would have been good (all ladies like to check out their outfit before they leave for dinner). Very warm during our stay, and fortunately aircon worked a treat. Had coffee on the balcony, which was enjoyable. Security is good with key swipe to get in,for the lifts and for the carpark. Quiet area that feels safe and loved the tree lined streets on the walk to Southbank. Had a breakfast voucher for LeftBank Restaurant which provided us with orange juice, tea and a choice from a Quest menu. Hubby had poached eggs on toast and I had granola with yoghurt. Yum from both of us. Ordered extra toast for $8.50 to extend out enjoyment of reading the papers and sipping our pots of tea. No complaints as enjoyed the whole experience. We intend to revisit.

Room Tip: Take note of what level your car is parked on as we "misplaced" ours. The level you park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Anne,

Yet another great review and a pleasure to read that you found us to be clean and well appointed.

Also nice to read to you mentioned liking our location and the ease of getting to Southbank!

We can't wait to welcome yourself and your hubby back next time you need a night away from home!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
33
20
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Quiet location, only few minutes walk to Southbank promenade. This hotel was very comfortable and good value for money. Main points: conveniently located in the city but slightly away from the noise, Very handy if you are going to the theatre and museums on St Kilda Road or to the Casino. Also easy access to the freeways if you are driving plus a short walk to the free red bus which takes you to the main tourist attractions. Good kitchen facilities and air con.
There is a convenience store located half block away as well as couple of cafes and restaurants. It is on quiet side of town at night but it felt very safe and short walks required until you reach busy roads. Very good find!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Snitcorby,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review!

It is fantastic to read that you felt the location was great for so many different reason - we do feel we are well placed for people who want to be extremely close, but not actually in the CBD itself.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights. The beds were comfortable, linen and towels ok. The quality of the furniture was poor and some of the curtains were ripped.
The single chairs in the lounge room were filthy and we ended up covering them with blankets when we sat in them. The ensuite shower walls had mildew in the grouting.The kitchen was clean and had a full size dishwasher and stove/oven.
The reception staff were professional and helpful. Parking was $20 for 24 hour period. On Sunday's parking is free on surrounding streets. Great location for sightseeing. Short walk through the Arts Centre to access trams on St Kilda Rd. There are a few restaurants within walking distance and an IGA for milk etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear welldone99,

Thank you for writing your review and the feedback it provides us - important for us to hear so we can improve!

We are aware of the grout being an issue in some rooms and have in fact re-grouted approximately 20 out of 88 rooms in the past 18 months, and have a plan to continue this to eliminate this issue.

I am happy to read that you thought that the kitchen, staff and location were good!

Hopefully we will see you back for another stay next time you come down to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas so we paid the top rate. The lay out of the room was great for our needs with lots of space. Dissapointly the carpets were terribly stained and just let the whole room down. This has been commented on by many other reviewers so I think its time its replaced. The rooms do have a musty smell and the ashtray on the balconey was not emptied from the previous guests and as non smokers we were not impressed by the smell.
The room has 2 bathrooms but the main bedroom with ensuite was set up as the childrens room. They didnt find the extra bathroom until the next day as it was hidden behind the door which they did not close. Strange that this room would have been given to the children.
There is nowhere at all to put luggage so we had to have suitcases on the lounge room floor.
The service was mainly to make the beds and change the towels. No amenties were replaced.
The clothes dryer didnt work in our room which wasnt too bad as it was holidays and who was doing washing anyway.
Location was good for our needs, in room dining was reasonable and restaurants galore along the river.
Our room which was on the 9th floor was very noisy with a busy road just below. Ask for a room on Kavanagh as it may be quieter.

Room Tip: Watch out for the noisy road, ask for rooms on Kavanagh Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Mcreadytogo,

We feel all feedback is important so that we can improve our service and presentation. I have noted your comments, and those of others, regarding our carpet. We do have a program of continuous improvement here, as evidenced by the fact your 9th floor apartment received a new kitchen and bathrooms in July last year.

I am glad that you wrote how spacious our apartments our and that all of our 2 Bedrooms apartments have 2 bathrooms, even if the children didn't find out behind the bedroom door for the first few days.

Hopefully we will see you and your family back for another visit in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at fully serviced Southbank Quest Apartments for 5 nights and couldn’t have been happier. The whole apartment was elegantly furbished and very spacious. The hotel readily provided a comfortable porta cot with linen for my 11 month old baby and the bathroom had both a shower cubicle and bathtub. The open planned kitchen was well applianced and dining/living areas had ample space. The view over the Yarra was breathtakingly beautiful at night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room service staff took on board our request to vacuum daily (due to having a toddler in residence) without any fuss and left us loads of washing detergent and bin liner bags as anyone having a baby would appreciate. It was the little things really that made our stay here memorable and I genuinely cannot wait to return to these lovely apartments. While you are there don't miss the best coffee in Southbank- little cafe located at the entrance of the mall next to Quest.

Only con; Had some trouble getting the dryer to work and hotel staff readily organised a technician visit. However, after several unsuccessful attempts gave up on the dryer and reverted to old fashioned hang and dry technique:-)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a premium river view room with a balcony. Night views of Southbank by the Yarra is just b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear travellingjolly,

What a great review and thank you for sharing it! I am especially happy to read that all the staff did all the could to ensure you stay was enjoyable. Sorry to hear that the dryer did not function properly, I am sure we could have dried these items for you in our housekeeping clothes dryer.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Clean, convenient and roomy. For anyone wanting or needing amenities typical of a full service hotel, this is likely to fall short. But this serviced apartment complex was adequate for a week at work whereby I hardly spent any time in the room. I think the internet charge was pricey $14 a day, but no other complaints. I'd stay here again, but not if I stated over a weekend (whereby I'd like some amenities).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Tony,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Great to read that you found the apartment to be convenient, spacious and importantly clean.

Hopefully we will see you back again for another stay in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My partner and I; plus two friends stayed here for our annual trip away. We have previously visited Melbourne with our small group before; and Quest's 2 bedroom apartment was leaps and bounds better than anything we have previously experienced.

Receptionist was lovely, handled a flood of people all at once really well. They still use a proper key system for the rooms which is a bit dated but still fine.

The apartment was so spacious - which needless to say for the price and location of it was a very welcome surprise. It was a bit odd that the ensuit was in the room with the two single beds - but this was fine by us as the two friends which travel with us often miss out on having an ensuit.

Location - amazing. While here we walked to Flinders Station, Swanston Street, Lygon Street, Crown Casino (probably a few too many times), Southbank DFOs plus there is an IGA less than one minute away.

The only thing that prevented this stay from being perfect was the house keeping. When we first checked in there was left over food from previous guests in the cupboards; probably from a hens party as we found all writing about them in the compendium along with a few other unpleasant things. Plus bits and pieces of rubbish like bottle tops around the place - but the important areas like bathroom and beds were fine. The daily service was not done daily; We received a note that service would not be done on the cup day which is fair enough, however after having not received a service on the other days made it hard;especially seeing as when it was done it was a to a fairly unpredictable standard. However we made the most of it and washed our own towels as needed and bagged up our rubbish ourselves and eventually it was collected.

Overall if you are planning any longer term stay, with friends or with family definitely give these guys a try. The housekeeping problems were totally forgivable and the great location with the room set up is just too good to pass up!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Rhyanna,

I am glad to hear that you loved the spaciousness and the location. I am not happy to hear that the housekeeping was below standard. Please accept my apologies that the initial and daily servicing did not meet either you expectations nor our usual standards.

We have brought on a number of new staff recently so hopefully as they become more experienced this situation will not happen again.

Sincere regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Hotel
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino and Melbourne’s CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains & trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and Federation Square. Broadband internet access (cable & wireless), Digital TV and Foxtel (8 channels) is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.