We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Southbank overlooking the Yarra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Southbank

Save Saved
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Southbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Southbank overlooking the Yarra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at fully serviced Southbank Quest Apartments for 5 nights and couldn’t have been happier. The whole apartment was elegantly furbished and very spacious. The hotel readily provided a comfortable porta cot with linen for my 11 month old baby and the bathroom had both a shower cubicle and bathtub. The open planned kitchen was well applianced and dining/living areas had ample space. The view over the Yarra was breathtakingly beautiful at night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room service staff took on board our request to vacuum daily (due to having a toddler in residence) without any fuss and left us loads of washing detergent and bin liner bags as anyone having a baby would appreciate. It was the little things really that made our stay here memorable and I genuinely cannot wait to return to these lovely apartments. While you are there don't miss the best coffee in Southbank- little cafe located at the entrance of the mall next to Quest.

Only con; Had some trouble getting the dryer to work and hotel staff readily organised a technician visit. However, after several unsuccessful attempts gave up on the dryer and reverted to old fashioned hang and dry technique:-)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a premium river view room with a balcony. Night views of Southbank by the Yarra is just b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear travellingjolly,

What a great review and thank you for sharing it! I am especially happy to read that all the staff did all the could to ensure you stay was enjoyable. Sorry to hear that the dryer did not function properly, I am sure we could have dried these items for you in our housekeeping clothes dryer.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    57
    28
    10
    9
See reviews for
38
26
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Clean, convenient and roomy. For anyone wanting or needing amenities typical of a full service hotel, this is likely to fall short. But this serviced apartment complex was adequate for a week at work whereby I hardly spent any time in the room. I think the internet charge was pricey $14 a day, but no other complaints. I'd stay here again, but not if I stated over a weekend (whereby I'd like some amenities).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Tony,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Great to read that you found the apartment to be convenient, spacious and importantly clean.

Hopefully we will see you back again for another stay in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My partner and I; plus two friends stayed here for our annual trip away. We have previously visited Melbourne with our small group before; and Quest's 2 bedroom apartment was leaps and bounds better than anything we have previously experienced.

Receptionist was lovely, handled a flood of people all at once really well. They still use a proper key system for the rooms which is a bit dated but still fine.

The apartment was so spacious - which needless to say for the price and location of it was a very welcome surprise. It was a bit odd that the ensuit was in the room with the two single beds - but this was fine by us as the two friends which travel with us often miss out on having an ensuit.

Location - amazing. While here we walked to Flinders Station, Swanston Street, Lygon Street, Crown Casino (probably a few too many times), Southbank DFOs plus there is an IGA less than one minute away.

The only thing that prevented this stay from being perfect was the house keeping. When we first checked in there was left over food from previous guests in the cupboards; probably from a hens party as we found all writing about them in the compendium along with a few other unpleasant things. Plus bits and pieces of rubbish like bottle tops around the place - but the important areas like bathroom and beds were fine. The daily service was not done daily; We received a note that service would not be done on the cup day which is fair enough, however after having not received a service on the other days made it hard;especially seeing as when it was done it was a to a fairly unpredictable standard. However we made the most of it and washed our own towels as needed and bagged up our rubbish ourselves and eventually it was collected.

Overall if you are planning any longer term stay, with friends or with family definitely give these guys a try. The housekeeping problems were totally forgivable and the great location with the room set up is just too good to pass up!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Rhyanna,

I am glad to hear that you loved the spaciousness and the location. I am not happy to hear that the housekeeping was below standard. Please accept my apologies that the initial and daily servicing did not meet either you expectations nor our usual standards.

We have brought on a number of new staff recently so hopefully as they become more experienced this situation will not happen again.

Sincere regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Staff was friendly, and location is good. Everything else is absolutely mediocre.

Room had a musty smell and was very average. Several of the channels didn't work on the TV.

Cleanliness? Not so much. There was a hair in the bathtub on the first day - definitely not mine. Their idea of servicing the apartments basically just means coming in and doing a lousy job at making the bed.

Location was fantastic, and if you don't plan on spending too much time in the room then the price might be right. If you like amenities and luxury, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Bean_Burrito,

I am very sorry to hear that your experience with our housekeeping was mediocre at best by the sounds of it. I will definitely try to contact you directly so that I can gave our Housekeeping staff detailed feedback on exactly what is was that you feel was not up to standard.

I am reassured that you mention that our staff were friendly and location was fantastic!

Hopefully if you make the long journey across from USA again, we may get the chance to redeem our housekeeping efforts!

Sincere regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

a well planned,
well maintained,
well prepared guest house.
The Hotel is easily approachable.
the reception personnel are good, helping, energetic.
registering work done fast.
rooms are relaxing.
walkable distance to Flinders Station

suggest-- not to use WIFI in the Hotel.
buy a Telestra Card for AUD2 and topup for AUD15. this gives a weeks connectivity with 30GB down load.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Chinnasamianbumalar,

Thank you for writing such a positive review! It is great to read so many positive reviews about our staff and their customer service!

Hopefully we get to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here for a week while doing business in the wonderful city of Melbourne. I would not stay again and instead, will choose to pay the extra fee for a true hotel with amenities. The staff was pleasant and friendly and the bedrooms quiet and comfortable. But I must note several concerns that made my stay less than ideal: 1) the shower floods the bathroom floor every morning. It is only a partial shower door and the shower heads sprays water everywhere. I had to request many extra towels every day. I elevated my concerns to the front desk about the shower door being inadequate and the floor flooding. They said not to worry, "that is why there is a drain in the center of the floor". 2) after a 28 hour flight from the states, I hoped our room would be ready upon arrival. It was 1:00 pm and it was not, but the staff was nice enough to show us to the gym showers and stow our bags, not ideal but accommodating. 3) The apartment itself had a terrible, musty odor. This likely emanated from the stained and worn carpet throughout. Frankly, I was reluctant to walk around the apartment without my socks for fear of what might be lurking in the carpet.
Overall, I'd say price was fair.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Maxwellpants,

We appreciate all feedback, as we do strive to continually improve our product and services. I do apologise that you feel your stay was less than ideal. We do stream clean our carpets regularly - as we have the equipment and trained staff internally - so our carpets are normally in very good condition, I will try to contact you directly to find out which apartment you stayed in so we can action this ASAP.

It is good to hear that even though you arrived before our stated check-in time of 2pm, that the staff were able to suggest that you could use the gym showers to freshen up and we could store your luggage.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again one day if you make the long trip over from the USA!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Four of us shared a 2 bedroom apartment, location was good, beds comfortable, apartment was quiet, bathroom clean, reception staff helpful, good security. Not the most luxurious, few stains on the carpet & bed cover, but a good place to stay if you are planning to be out and about during your visit.

Note, in the 2 bed apartments only 1 bedroom has an ensuite, the other bedroom has to use a bathroom which is on the other side of the kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Tracy & Paul,

Thank you for posting your review and I am glad to hear you found our apartments to be comfortable, quiet and clean. You are correct that all of our 2 Bedroom apartments have only one ensuite, but they all do have a proper second bathroom.

Hopefully we see you again in the future when you need an apartment in a great location!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino and Melbourne’s CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains & trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and Federation Square. Broadband internet access (cable & wireless), Digital TV and Foxtel (8 channels) is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.