We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Southbank

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Quest Southbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A week in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for a week in September 2013 and found the accommodation met the description. The price was competitive for that area of Melbourne, which was very convenient for our purposes. The staff was friendly and responsive when we hit a couple of snags. Snag one was a DVD player in the room that did not work. When the IT guy arrived he said someone had replaced the plugs in the wrong ports and fixed it in a trice. When the WiFi we were paying for played up and other ITer came and put it right in a few minutes.

The design of the room made it a proper one bedroom apartment, so I could stay up while my wife went to bed, and not disturb her. That design also met the room was dead-quiet for sleeping.

The location is perfect for the Arts District, for Southbank itself, and puts the city centre within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! I am happy to hear that our staff were able to quickly overcome the snags you experienced and that this did not detract from your enjoyment of our property.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    66
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
41
28
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed four nights in a one bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor facing Kavanagh Street; the apartment was very quiet and had a private balcony opening from the living area.

The apartment was very comfortable and well laid out with a fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom and living area, and a large bathroom that included washing m/c and dryer. Our apartment was serviced each day with clean towels and ample supplies of toiletries.

WiFi was optionally available in the room but it’s not cheap. No problem here though because there is lots of free WiFi down at Southbank Promenade and in the meantime use of a bit of 3g/4g gets you easily by.

Our stay was in winter (average day time temp 12C) and the apartment was so well insulated that we never had any heating on. A small note of caution though – the location of the dual heating/cooling unit on the wall in the living area indicates that in summer it may take some time for cool air to drift towards the bedroom.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and available 24/7. Entry to the building, which also houses permanent residents, is secured with swipe card access.

It is an easy/comfortable walk to Southbank Promenade and then on to the CBD, or along the Yarra to Rod Laver Arena . The Arts Centre, NGV, and Federation Square are all very close.

At the rear of the apartments (Fawkner Street) in a small shopping arcade is an ATM, IGA Express, a restaurant, a noodle bar. Out from the arcade into City Road is a 7-Eleven - which is just beyond the Aston Martin and Rolls Royce showrooms (worth a photo).

There was often a cab parked outside the front door of the apartments in Kavanagh Street, but in any case there is a large cab rank at Southbank Travelodge (about a 5 minute walk towards the river) and a 10 minute walk to, trams on St Kilda Road and to Flinders St station.

We enjoyed our stay at Quest Southbank, and would return here.

Room Tip: rooms facing Kavanagh Street will likely be quieter than the ones looking toward Southbank Boulevard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi Olijam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review! We are extremely glad you found our property very comfortable, very clean very convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back again one day!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights mid week. Hired a car and booked a space for $20 per day. 15 min walk to CBD. Close to a 7-eleven. Room is 2 bedroom apartment. Very clean and spacious. Best thing I liked is 24 hour reception desk. Not many serviced apartment has that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear simonto,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our property, I am glad that you found it clean and spacious. And thank you also for pointing out that we have a 24 hour reception desk, as we definitely feel this is a great service we provide.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I found our one bedroom apartment at the Quest Southbank to be very clean with spacious living areas. Our bathroom was large with a combo bath/shower and a small washer and dryer. The combined living/kitchen area was nicely appointed and comfortable. Overall we felt this was a good value.

The drawbacks are the lack of storage space. The bathroom has some counter space, but if you want to put things away there is an under-sink shelf that could hold a few things. The small towel rack was only meant to hold one towel. The closet space in the bedroom was extremely small and by no means sufficient for two people. There was one small closet door that opened into a few drawers and another small closet space which you could hang some clothing had there been ample clothes hangers available. So, basically we couldnt unpack nor put our suitcases anywhere out of the way.

The staff at the front desk were very professional, friendly and helpful and like I said before the apartment was very clean! The location is a short walk to the riverfront with restaurants everywhere and an IGA express grocery just around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear arubaseabreeze,

I am glad that you found the apartment to be spacious, nicely appointed, comfortable and also liked the location. It is also great to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thanks also for your feedback about our apartments and we will look at what options we can take to maximize the amout of storage space available for our guests comfort.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My 2 sisters, niece and I stayed here last weekend. I was responsible for organising the accommodation and was tasked with finding somewhere that was good value and within walking distance of Rod Laver Arena. We were all very happy with the Quest.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 14th floor (1407). It was large enough to easily accommodate the 4 of us (even with my younger sister & I having to share a queen bed). The two bathrooms were a huge bonus with 4 women sharing an apartment! It was also surprisingly quiet with all of us sleeping well over the 2 nights. It is also very convenient to the Crown Casino and the Rod Laver Area with it only taking us 15 mins to walk back to the hotel after the Pink concert.

Other pluses would be the friendly staff and the gym. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you didn't mind being a few extra minutes away from the CBD.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear EKDP0707,

I am delighted to read that you were very happy with your stay and the layout of the 2 Bedroom apartment. We are fortunate that all of our 2 Bedroom apartments have 2 bathrooms.

It is also great to read that you mentioned our convenient location, it is handy being close to the CBD, Rod Laver, and the Casino complex.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment with the kids. Have stayed in many places in Melbourne, but Quest Southbank was a first. It really is a hidden gem. Staff were friendly and the room was excellent for 3 kids.
Location is a little further out than other places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Daniel B,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review! I am delighted to read that you think our property is a "hidden gem" and that the staff were friendly. We certainly do pride ourselves on the service that we provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very welcoming staff and thrilled when they offered us early access to our apartment after an early flight arrival....a very pleasant surprise. Great location....easy walk to Southbank and a pleasant stroll to the MCG. Nice balcony with a view over to the MCG and Tennis Centre. Roomy apartment, very clean and quiet. Highly recommend this to anyone.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear JoanneKay04,

It is fantastic to read such positive comments about your stay. Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I am especially glad that our staff were able to make your stay memorable, and that you enjoyed the size and features of our apartment.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino and Melbourne’s CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains & trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and Federation Square. Broadband internet access (cable & wireless), Digital TV and Foxtel (8 channels) is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.