We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“F1 weekender” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Southbank

Save Saved
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quest Southbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“F1 weekender”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Rooms book ...... 3 bed and a 2 bed appartments .... 4 couples & 1 single 3 bed was on the top floor (22) 2 bed on 9 th flloor could not travel between floors had to travel down and get reception to swipe us up to top floor swap keys to get past this problem ,

3 bedroom good views and updated decor made the cost ok , 2 bed no views very very avg deco could have been in a 2 star motel
A lot better value in Melbourne

For the cost would not stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear F1 weekender,

We are sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced by the rooms being on separate floors, but for security reasons our elevator fobs will only allow you access to the floor that your particular room is on as well as the fact we only have limited numbers of keys for each room.

We do have a continual improvement program running, with a view to maintaining all apartments fixtures and fittings up to a 4 1/2 star standard. Our 3 Bedroom apartments have recently been through this process, with other rooms being scheduled for June/July this year.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
33
20
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in an executive one bedroom apartment on a Saturday night. On arrival we found the girl at reception very nice and helpful. The apartment we had consisted of a lounge / kitchen, a seperate bedroom and seperate bathroom / laundry. Whilst the decor is not fantastic, the place was reasonably large, clean and comfortable. It had a shower into the bath which I'm not a great fan of, but there was plenty of hot water to use. It was quiet at night and is just off the main roads so you dont get the traffic noise. There is no buffet breakfast although you can get a 'breakfast pack' if you want to.
Although the location is pretty central to southbank, South Melbourne, St Kilda Rd and close to the city, it is just out a bit further than other hotels so if you want to walk to places it can take a bit longer. Parking is available, however it is a tight squeeze for a family size car to get around in the multi storey carpark and park.
Overall, it is a nice place to stay if you dont need a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you for submitting your review of our property. It is always great to read such positive comments about our staff!

Hopefully next time you will be able to stay more than one night and can really enjoy the view of the city.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean apartment with all amenities and built in wifi (chargeable).
Need to be wary of the 2 pm check in time as I did not have an apartment available when I landed up at 1 pm.

Was there for only 1 night but was very comfortable and could easily stay there longer if needed. It's close to the Yarra river and easy enough to walk into CBD.

I had a problem with my wifi but the team there were quick to get it sorted even though the complaint was made at 9:30 at night. I was happy with their service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Gaurav,

Thank you for your lovely review and it is nice to hear that you appreciated the location.

Sorry to hear that you had an issue with the WiFi - but great that our team were able to quickly rectify it even though it was late into the evening.

We look forward to you staying with us again in the future!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

While thwir mother worked we hosted our grand nephew (9) and and grand niece (7) in a 2 bedroom Quest Southbank apartment. While the decor and fittings are not ultra luxurious, the apartment is generous in size and in a quiet central location. We took the children to the National Gallery of Victoria and Federation Square as well as shopping in the central city - an easy walk from the Quest. The staff were friendly and helpful so no complaints there.
The apartment was well appointed with good kitchen and laundry facilities. It also had two bathrooms which is plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Rob,

It is always great to hear that our guests have really enjoyed themselves whilst staying at Quest Souhtbank. We are very fortunate that our apartments have plenty of space and in particular that our 2 and 3 Bedroom apartments all have 2 bathrooms.

We look forward to you all returning again in the future and hopefully your niece will be able to take a break from work next time!

Sincere regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We (2 adults and a teenage daughter) stayed here over 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment.
The room was very spacious with fantastic views from level 17. We had friends staying on the other side of the building and their view across the city was even better.
The apartment had a modern feel and was fitted out with modern appliances - all in working order.
As far as location goes, the Quest is set back slightly from the Southbank river front so it's a 5 minute walk to get down there but certainly not inconvenient. Just next to the Quest is an IGA mini mart which provides a handy place to buy your groceries and stock your fridge.
Room service is available although we never used it (this is a serviced apartment after all).
We found the staff here to be very helpful which always makes for a pleasant stay.
The Quest is definitely worth considering if you're staying in Melbourne.l

Room Tip: Ask for a view across Fitzroy Gardens to the MCG
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear MaxsterPerth,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and for commenting on the spaciousness of our rooms.

I am also very glad that you and your friends enjoyed the different views we have available!

We look forward to you staying again with us in the furutre.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked a high floor apartment for 4 girls weekend away. Close to local spot tourist spots. Easy walking distance to local attractions including markets, casino and nice dinners. Loses points for previous departing guests hair and stained bath towel in bathroom so housekeeping should be fine tuned as we spent a lot of money on this accommodation. Tip: have breakfast in one of the little cafes along the Yarra.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear 1travel24,

Thank you for your review of our property. I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping department.

I hope you had a lovely girl’s weekend away and once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in two bedroom apartment. The room was spacious, clean and modern. Service was friendly, professional and helpful, even on a very busy weekend. The front desk staff offered help with a smile when we were faced with problems due to cancelled flights and did all they could to assist. It is in a great location and the rooms were very quiet considering it is in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Leonie O,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We strive to offer a great product and fantastic services and I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay here.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Hotel
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino and Melbourne’s CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains & trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and Federation Square. Broadband internet access (cable & wireless), Digital TV and Foxtel (8 channels) is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.